Is a 20 foot square, 25, or 30 foot square. show your work. Thanks.
You conjure nature spirits that appear as a large pack of spectral, intangible animals in an unoccupied space you can see within range. The pack lasts for the duration, and you choose the spirits’ animal form, such as wolves, serpents, or birds.
You have Advantage on Strength saving throws while you’re within 5 feet of the pack, and when you move on your turn, you can also move the pack up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see.
Whenever the pack moves within 10 feet of a creature you can see and whenever a creature you can see enters a space within 10 feet of the pack or ends its turn there, you can force that creature to make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 3d10 Slashing damage. A creature makes this save only once per turn.
It's a "Large pack of spectral, intangible animals". That means it occupies a 10 by 10 space and other creatures can be in the same space. conjure animals
Assuming that the reference to a "Large pack" with a capital "L" refers to a phenomenon which takes up the same amount of space as a Large creature (10 x 10), then the AoE for having to make the Dex save will likely be approximated by a DM as a 30-foot square. When playing on a grid of 5-foot squares, "within 5 feet" of an object refers to the grid square adjacent to that object. When the text says "within 10 feet" of that object, it will also include one additional grid square next to that.
It could be argued that a more accurate shape for this AoE is a square with rounded corners. When translating this shape onto a grid, the far corners of the 30 x 30 "square" would not be included.
The rule that existed in the 2014 DMG which would support this interpretation is:
If an area of effect is circular and covers at least half a square, it affects that square.
Conceptually, this aligns with an optional rule in the 2014 DMG regarding diagonals when determining ranges or movement on a grid:
This optional rule provides more realism, but it requires more effort during combat.
When measuring range or moving diagonally on a grid, the first diagonal square counts as 5 feet, but the second diagonal square counts as 10 feet. This pattern of 5 feet and then 10 feet continues whenever you're counting diagonally, even if you move horizontally or vertically between different bits of diagonal movement.
Thus, if a phenomenon takes up a 10 x 10 area and then we look at the square that's diagonally adjacent to the corner and then the square that is diagonally adjacent to that, then this second square would not be "within 10 feet" of that initial 10 x 10 phenomenon according to the above two rules.
For now, I will have to leave it up to others to confirm whether or not this above language still exists within the 2024 DMG.
Assuming that the reference to a "Large pack" with a capital "L" refers to a phenomenon which takes up the same amount of space as a Large creature (10 x 10), then the AoE for having to make the Dex save will likely be approximated by a DM as a 30-foot square. When playing on a grid of 5-foot squares, "within 5 feet" of an object refers to the grid square adjacent to that object. When the text says "within 10 feet" of that object, it will also include one additional grid square next to that.
It could be argued that a more accurate shape for this AoE is a square with rounded corners. When translating this shape onto a grid, the far corners of the 30 x 30 "square" would not be included.
The rule that existed in the 2014 DMG which would support this interpretation is:
If an area of effect is circular and covers at least half a square, it affects that square.
Conceptually, this aligns with an optional rule in the 2014 DMG regarding diagonals when determining ranges or movement on a grid:
This optional rule provides more realism, but it requires more effort during combat.
When measuring range or moving diagonally on a grid, the first diagonal square counts as 5 feet, but the second diagonal square counts as 10 feet. This pattern of 5 feet and then 10 feet continues whenever you're counting diagonally, even if you move horizontally or vertically between different bits of diagonal movement.
Thus, if a phenomenon takes up a 10 x 10 area and then we look at the square that's diagonally adjacent to the corner and then the square that is diagonally adjacent to that, then this second square would not be "within 10 feet" of that initial 10 x 10 phenomenon according to the above two rules.
For now, I will have to leave it up to others to confirm whether or not this above language still exists within the 2024 DMG.
In the 2024 DMG, it says an aoe must cover the majority of a space to affect that space.
Thanks. that what is was getting from other people. What threw me during the game was the player insisting it started at a point. And we both focused as a point. But they murdered over 57 poor monsters with the spell. Well that is the druid story.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
No Gaming is Better than Bad Gaming.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Is a 20 foot square, 25, or 30 foot square. show your work. Thanks.
You conjure nature spirits that appear as a large pack of spectral, intangible animals in an unoccupied space you can see within range. The pack lasts for the duration, and you choose the spirits’ animal form, such as wolves, serpents, or birds.
You have Advantage on Strength saving throws while you’re within 5 feet of the pack, and when you move on your turn, you can also move the pack up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see.
Whenever the pack moves within 10 feet of a creature you can see and whenever a creature you can see enters a space within 10 feet of the pack or ends its turn there, you can force that creature to make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 3d10 Slashing damage. A creature makes this save only once per turn.
No Gaming is Better than Bad Gaming.
Let me use this reply:
Assuming that the reference to a "Large pack" with a capital "L" refers to a phenomenon which takes up the same amount of space as a Large creature (10 x 10), then the AoE for having to make the Dex save will likely be approximated by a DM as a 30-foot square. When playing on a grid of 5-foot squares, "within 5 feet" of an object refers to the grid square adjacent to that object. When the text says "within 10 feet" of that object, it will also include one additional grid square next to that.
It could be argued that a more accurate shape for this AoE is a square with rounded corners. When translating this shape onto a grid, the far corners of the 30 x 30 "square" would not be included.
The rule that existed in the 2014 DMG which would support this interpretation is:
Conceptually, this aligns with an optional rule in the 2014 DMG regarding diagonals when determining ranges or movement on a grid:
Thus, if a phenomenon takes up a 10 x 10 area and then we look at the square that's diagonally adjacent to the corner and then the square that is diagonally adjacent to that, then this second square would not be "within 10 feet" of that initial 10 x 10 phenomenon according to the above two rules.
For now, I will have to leave it up to others to confirm whether or not this above language still exists within the 2024 DMG.
In the 2024 DMG, it says an aoe must cover the majority of a space to affect that space.
Thanks. that what is was getting from other people. What threw me during the game was the player insisting it started at a point. And we both focused as a point. But they murdered over 57 poor monsters with the spell. Well that is the druid story.
No Gaming is Better than Bad Gaming.