As part of Invoke Duplicity, the description of the Move Bonus Action states:
Move. As a Bonus Action, you can move the illusion up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is within 120 feet of yourself.
But how the illusion moves during these 30 feet isn't defined. Do I get 30 feet of movement for my duplicate that I can use as I see fit during my turn? Does the duplicate simply teleport to a single location that I can choose once (or does it move there)? Can I move the duplicate 15 feet, perform and action, then move the duplicate again for 15 feet?
As part of Invoke Duplicity, the description of the Move Bonus Action states:
Move. As a Bonus Action, you can move the illusion up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is within 120 feet of yourself.
But how the illusion moves during these 30 feet isn't defined. Do I get 30 feet of movement for my duplicate that I can use as I see fit during my turn? Does the duplicate simply teleport to a single location that I can choose once (or does it move there)? Can I move the duplicate 15 feet, perform and action, then move the duplicate again for 15 feet?
It's a bit unclear.
Some of these questions are clearly answered just by other rules that exist separately.
Do I get 30 feet of movement for my duplicate that I can use as I see fit during my turn? No, because the duplicate isn't a creature, so it doesn't have a movement speed, and this feature doesn't say anything that would override that.
Does the duplicate simply teleport to a single location that I can choose once (or does it move there)? This part is a little vague, but since it's an illusion that's under your control, I'd probably rule you can either have it teleport or seem to move through the intervening space.
Can I move the duplicate 15 feet, perform an action, then move the duplicate again for 15 feet? No, because you can't take an action in the middle of taking a bonus action.
Some of these questions are clearly answered just by other rules that exist separately.
Sorry I'm trying to look things up to the best of my abilities but I don't have enough experience to know all of them. Or even most of them, for that matter.
Some of these questions are clearly answered just by other rules that exist separately.
Sorry I'm trying to look things up to the best of my abilities but I don't have enough experience to know all of them. Or even most of them, for that matter.
Sorry, I didn't mean to suggest that you should've known this already. I just meant that I don't think there's any ambiguity in the rules about these particular things.
As part of Invoke Duplicity, the description of the Move Bonus Action states:
But how the illusion moves during these 30 feet isn't defined.
Do I get 30 feet of movement for my duplicate that I can use as I see fit during my turn?
Does the duplicate simply teleport to a single location that I can choose once (or does it move there)?
Can I move the duplicate 15 feet, perform and action, then move the duplicate again for 15 feet?
It's a bit unclear.
Some of these questions are clearly answered just by other rules that exist separately.
Do I get 30 feet of movement for my duplicate that I can use as I see fit during my turn? No, because the duplicate isn't a creature, so it doesn't have a movement speed, and this feature doesn't say anything that would override that.
Does the duplicate simply teleport to a single location that I can choose once (or does it move there)? This part is a little vague, but since it's an illusion that's under your control, I'd probably rule you can either have it teleport or seem to move through the intervening space.
Can I move the duplicate 15 feet, perform an action, then move the duplicate again for 15 feet? No, because you can't take an action in the middle of taking a bonus action.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thank you.
Sorry I'm trying to look things up to the best of my abilities but I don't have enough experience to know all of them. Or even most of them, for that matter.
Sorry, I didn't mean to suggest that you should've known this already. I just meant that I don't think there's any ambiguity in the rules about these particular things.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'd say the illusion moves rather than teleports, based on the wording of some spells, for example:
Moonbeam says "move the Cylinder":
For comparison, Cloud of Daggers says "teleport the Cube":