Mighty Impel (10th-Level Path of the Giant Feature)
Your connection to giant strength allows you to hurl both allies and enemies on the battlefield. As a bonus action while raging, you can choose one Medium or smaller creature within your reach and move it to an unoccupied space you can see within 30 feet of yourself. An unwilling creature must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier) to avoid the effect.
If, at the end of this movement, the thrown creature isn’t on a surface or liquid that can support it, the creature falls, taking damage as normal and landing prone.
There is a lot of debate as to whether you can use to to throw a creature up, causing them to take falling damage and landing prone. Is there an official ruling on this? Or a defendable one that is based on more than just opinion?
Mighty Impel (10th-Level Path of the Giant Feature)
Your connection to giant strength allows you to hurl both allies and enemies on the battlefield. As a bonus action while raging, you can choose one Medium or smaller creature within your reach and move it to an unoccupied space you can see within 30 feet of yourself. An unwilling creature must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier) to avoid the effect.
If, at the end of this movement, the thrown creature isn’t on a surface or liquid that can support it, the creature falls, taking damage as normal and landing prone.
There is a lot of debate as to whether you can use to to throw a creature up, causing them to take falling damage and landing prone. Is there an official ruling on this? Or a defendable one that is based on more than just opinion?
The second paragraph seems to make it pretty clear you don't have to just move them along the ground.
pronouns: he/she/they
IMO, the description ("hurl both allies and enemies on the battlefield") also leads to that interpretation.