Your game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the chosen form, but you retain your creature type; alignment; personality; Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; Hit Points; Hit Point Dice; proficiencies; and ability to communicate. If you have the Spellcasting feature, you retain it too.
Does "you retain it too" mean:
You retain your original Spellcasting feature (thus not gaining the monster’s Spellcasting feature), OR
You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster’s Spellcasting feature?
It's the first option. "You retain it too" is adding to the list of things that you retain from your original form instead of being "replaced by the stat block of the chosen form".
I think that's not right, because Spellcasting, for monsters, isn't a feature or a trait. It's just an action they can take.
In fact, when I said "You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster's Spellcasting feature", that's technically not true. It should be "You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster's Spellcasting action" (all their actions from the stat block, really)
I shared the evolution of Spellcasting for the new monsters a while ago:
Since 2014, spellcasting creatures have tended to have the Spellcasting trait, the Innate Spellcasting Trait, or both. Starting in 2021, we have merged those two traits into an action called Spellcasting. That action now appears in the “Actions” section of a stat block, and it has a few important qualities:
The Spellcasting action doesn’t use spell slots. A creature can cast the action’s spells a certain number of times per day.
The only spells that appear in the Spellcasting action are ones that take an action to cast. If a spell requires a bonus action, a reaction, or a minute or more to cast, that spell must appear elsewhere in the stat block. This change ensures that bonus actions and reactions—such as misty step and shield—aren’t hiding out in a list of spells.
We’re more selective about which spells appear in a stat block, focusing on spells that have noncombat utility. A magic-using monster’s most potent firepower is now usually represented by a special magical action, rather than relying on spells.
If instead we want to know the end result of what happens when you Shapechange, then it's as you are describing:
If you have the Spellcasting feature, you retain it. You also retain a few other things (too). The rest of your game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the chosen form.
I cannot read Chinese :D, but I can try using a translator, which says this "这是否意味着施放 Shapechange 的怪物不会保留其自己的施法动作?" means: "Does this mean that a monster that casts Shapechange doesn't retain its own casting action?"
I think so, because the spell states "Your game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the chosen form, but you retain your creature type; alignment; personality; Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; Hit Points; Hit Point Dice; proficiencies; and ability to communicate. If you have the Spellcasting feature, you retain it too"
- Based on my previous replies, I consider that "Spellcasting feature" something related to player characters, not the action of the same name found in the stat blocks.
As a side note, the 2024 Shapechange doesn't have the following line from the 2014 Shapechange: "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them, provided that your new form is physically capable of doing so."
One other thing to think about is that the rules don't specify what happens when a creature casts a Concentration spell but then loses its Spellcasting feature before the spell is over. Can it keep concentrating on that spell? Who the hell knows. So ruling that the creature doesn't lose its Spellcasting feature in that situation will lead to fewer headaches.
One other thing to think about is that the rules don't specify what happens when a creature casts a Concentration spell but then loses its Spellcasting feature before the spell is over. Can it keep concentrating on that spell? Who the hell knows. So ruling that the creature doesn't lose its Spellcasting feature in that situation will lead to fewer headaches.
I got your point, and it could be ruled that way, although I don't see why Concentration or the spell's effect should be lost:
Shape-Shifting
If an effect, such as Wild Shape or the Polymorph spell, lets you shape-shift, its description specifies what happens to you. Unless that description says otherwise, any ongoing effects on you—conditions, spells, curses, and the like—carry over from one form to the other. You revert to your true form if you die.
After a little research in the 2024 MM, I found that monsters with the Spellcasting action able to cast Shapechange are not an extensive list: Brass, Bronze, Copper, Gold, and Silver Adult/Ancient Dragons, Couatl, and Deva.
You don't necessarily need the Spellcasting feature to cast spells or concentrate on them to remain active, as evidenced by feats, features and traits letting you do so in spite of it.
A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists after it is cast and loosing the Spellcasting feature isn't a factor breaking Concentration neither.
Using the 2024 Shapechange spell, you could transform into a Mage, and you'd keep both your spell and the Mage's, am I right?
Yeah, I'm not sure that really makes sense thematically, but it does seem to be what it's saying. Unless there's some general rule that you can't have two of the same feature or something like that?
It's a good question. The Combining Game Effects rule from the 2014 DMG isn't in the 2024 DMG. If that could be one of the rules to take into account.
RAW i believe you should. I don't know if it really changes anything for the purposes of Combining Game Effects but one you'd have one Spellcasting has an Action and the other a Class Feature.
While the rule didn't appear to be revised in 2024 Dungeon Master Guide, the Player's Handbook & Basic Rules have Combining Spell Effects a revision though.
(EDIT: my comment about Combining Spell Effects didn’t make sense at the time, nor does it now :D)
Yeah its possible i did :) I don't know if you're supposed to keep statistics from both your character sheet and the monster statblock when they overlap so for example if an LG Elf Wizard Shapechange into a Dryad some statistics are retained so it would instead remain a Humanoid, lauful good, with its own INT/WIS/CHA and HP/HD as well as the proficiencies and languages known but Its Spellcasting ability would remain those of a Wizard going with the same logic. I really don't know how it's intended to be ruled though.
Of course, depending on the creature you Shapechange into, it may be difficult to use your spells with material compents, especially if you melded your equipment into your form. Otherwise, you are going to have to figure out how you are carrying and using them in particular forms. Verbal and somatic components may also be difficult for some forms. I don't assume shapechagning gives a creature that does not have hands or cannot speak a verbal language suddenly has the ability just because you Shapechanged into it. Wildshape has different rules, and they do not carry over into Shapechange.
Of course, depending on the creature you Shapechange into, it may be difficult to use your spells with material compents, especially if you melded your equipment into your form. Otherwise, you are going to have to figure out how you are carrying and using them in particular forms. Verbal and somatic components may also be difficult for some forms. I don't assume shapechagning gives a creature that does not have hands or cannot speak a verbal language suddenly has the ability just because you Shapechanged into it. Wildshape has different rules, and they do not carry over into Shapechange.
Well Shapechange does say that you retain your ability to communicate so the verbal component should be OK.
Yeah its possible i did :) I don't know if you're supposed to keep statistics from both your character sheet and the monster statblock when they overlap so for example if an LG Elf Wizard Shapechange into a Dryad some statistics are retained so it would instead remain a Humanoid, lauful good, with its own INT/WIS/CHA and HP/HD as well as the proficiencies and languages known but Its Spellcasting ability would remain those of a Wizard going with the same logic. I really don't know how it's intended to be ruled though.
I see.
I think one of the drawbacks with this ruling is that your spellcaster character doesn't get any benefit while shape-shifted into a monster with spells, even though that might be the interesting part of that creature.
Anyway, I really appreciate the feedback and different POVs in the thread. Without errata or clarification, I'll stick with my conclusion for now, based on the wording ("you retain it [the Spellcasting feature] too") and the previous reasoning around the stat block / actions.
Yeah keeping both Spellcasting would definitly give more options but would also create issues in that you potentially have two spellcasting ability, attack & spell save DC etc...
I would also welcome a Sage Advice Q&A on this topic.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
After the PHB 2024 errata, Shapechange states:
Does "you retain it too" mean:
You retain your original Spellcasting feature (thus not gaining the monster’s Spellcasting feature), OR
You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster’s Spellcasting feature?
This topic was also mentioned here: Shapechange (spell) clarification
It's the first option. "You retain it too" is adding to the list of things that you retain from your original form instead of being "replaced by the stat block of the chosen form".
I think that's not right, because Spellcasting, for monsters, isn't a feature or a trait. It's just an action they can take.
In fact, when I said "You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster's Spellcasting feature", that's technically not true. It should be "You retain your Spellcasting feature while also gaining the monster's Spellcasting action" (all their actions from the stat block, really)
I shared the evolution of Spellcasting for the new monsters a while ago:
It looks like we're talking past each other on this one. If we want to know the answer to OP's question, which was:
Then the answer is what I said in my above post.
If instead we want to know the end result of what happens when you Shapechange, then it's as you are describing:
If you have the Spellcasting feature, you retain it. You also retain a few other things (too). The rest of your game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the chosen form.
这是否意味着施放 Shapechange 的怪物不会保留其自己的施法动作?
I cannot read Chinese :D, but I can try using a translator, which says this "这是否意味着施放 Shapechange 的怪物不会保留其自己的施法动作?" means: "Does this mean that a monster that casts Shapechange doesn't retain its own casting action?"
I think so, because the spell states "Your game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the chosen form, but you retain your creature type; alignment; personality; Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; Hit Points; Hit Point Dice; proficiencies; and ability to communicate. If you have the Spellcasting feature, you retain it too"
- "Casting" actions for monsters are just melee or ranged attacks in the MM, so they are replaced. Related: 2024 counterspell v 2025 monster manual stat blocks?
- Based on my previous replies, I consider that "Spellcasting feature" something related to player characters, not the action of the same name found in the stat blocks.
As a side note, the 2024 Shapechange doesn't have the following line from the 2014 Shapechange: "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them, provided that your new form is physically capable of doing so."
EDIT: for clarity.
One other thing to think about is that the rules don't specify what happens when a creature casts a Concentration spell but then loses its Spellcasting feature before the spell is over. Can it keep concentrating on that spell? Who the hell knows. So ruling that the creature doesn't lose its Spellcasting feature in that situation will lead to fewer headaches.
pronouns: he/she/they
I got your point, and it could be ruled that way, although I don't see why Concentration or the spell's effect should be lost:
After a little research in the 2024 MM, I found that monsters with the Spellcasting action able to cast Shapechange are not an extensive list: Brass, Bronze, Copper, Gold, and Silver Adult/Ancient Dragons, Couatl, and Deva.
For those monsters, the stat block says:
So in reality, Concentration isn't needed. At least currently with the monsters in that book.
You don't necessarily need the Spellcasting feature to cast spells or concentrate on them to remain active, as evidenced by feats, features and traits letting you do so in spite of it.
A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists after it is cast and loosing the Spellcasting feature isn't a factor breaking Concentration neither.
I believe it means the first bullet.
So, you "shapechanged" your mind :'(
(EDIT: my comment about Combining Spell Effects didn’t make sense at the time, nor does it now :D)
Yeah its possible i did :) I don't know if you're supposed to keep statistics from both your character sheet and the monster statblock when they overlap so for example if an LG Elf Wizard Shapechange into a Dryad some statistics are retained so it would instead remain a Humanoid, lauful good, with its own INT/WIS/CHA and HP/HD as well as the proficiencies and languages known but Its Spellcasting ability would remain those of a Wizard going with the same logic. I really don't know how it's intended to be ruled though.
Of course, depending on the creature you Shapechange into, it may be difficult to use your spells with material compents, especially if you melded your equipment into your form. Otherwise, you are going to have to figure out how you are carrying and using them in particular forms. Verbal and somatic components may also be difficult for some forms. I don't assume shapechagning gives a creature that does not have hands or cannot speak a verbal language suddenly has the ability just because you Shapechanged into it. Wildshape has different rules, and they do not carry over into Shapechange.
Well Shapechange does say that you retain your ability to communicate so the verbal component should be OK.
I see.
I think one of the drawbacks with this ruling is that your spellcaster character doesn't get any benefit while shape-shifted into a monster with spells, even though that might be the interesting part of that creature.
Anyway, I really appreciate the feedback and different POVs in the thread. Without errata or clarification, I'll stick with my conclusion for now, based on the wording ("you retain it [the Spellcasting feature] too") and the previous reasoning around the stat block / actions.
Yeah keeping both Spellcasting would definitly give more options but would also create issues in that you potentially have two spellcasting ability, attack & spell save DC etc...
I would also welcome a Sage Advice Q&A on this topic.