I am a level 5 Warforged Monk. Enemy is a level 5 Arcane Archer goblin with Sharpshooter. He uses Banishing Arrow on me, and I catch it. Now, question:
1. If I were to fling it back on the same turn, would it banish him if it hit?
2.If I were to fling it back on the same turn, would it keep the extra damage/less accuracy?
3/4. Same as 1 and 2, but would it work on a different turn?
He only used Sharpshooter on his first shot second turn, which I also caught with some extreme luck.
Now, may you tell me why you would rule that way?
Because, this line of text (The creature hit by the arrow must also succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.) seems to say (at least in my opinion) that if I were to throw it back and hit him, he would be banished.
He only used Sharpshooter on his first shot second turn, which I also caught with some extreme luck.
Now, may you tell me why you would rule that way?
Because, this line of text (The creature hit by the arrow must also succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.) seems to say (at least in my opinion) that if I were to throw it back and hit him, he would be banished.
The problem is not only what Banishing arrow does, it's what Deflect Missile does to the ammunition being caught.
Deflect missiles effectively makes the return attack a Monk attack, for which you have to roll to hit and for which you treat the missile as a monk weapon, therefore disregard whatever "improvement" that the missile might have had put on it (+1 ammunition and such still count, though, as they are part of item itself).
Furthermore, the ammunition you hold in your hand does not have banishing on it anymore, and you would still need to roll the save against Banishing, as even though the arrow did not cause damage, it most definitely hit you. Deflect Missile does not make a hit into a miss, it just lowers the damage of a ranged attack that already hit you, so any effect triggering on hit (not on damage) still affects you as normal.
Furthermore, the ammunition you hold in your hand does not have banishing on it anymore, and you would still need to roll the save against Banishing, as even though the arrow did not cause damage, it most definitely hit you. Deflect Missile does not make a hit into a miss, it just lowers the damage of a ranged attack that already hit you, so any effect triggering on hit (not on damage) still affects you as normal.
I didn't think of that, but after rereading the two class features in question, that does seem to be the case.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Alright, quick rules question for ya.
I am a level 5 Warforged Monk. Enemy is a level 5 Arcane Archer goblin with Sharpshooter. He uses Banishing Arrow on me, and I catch it. Now, question:
1. If I were to fling it back on the same turn, would it banish him if it hit?
2.If I were to fling it back on the same turn, would it keep the extra damage/less accuracy?
3/4. Same as 1 and 2, but would it work on a different turn?
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
I would say: 1 No. 2 No. 3/4 N/A, you can't throw it except as part of the same reaction, otherwise it is an improvised weapon.
I'm also surprised you were able to catch it at all. Considering you had to beat 1d8+DEX+10 with 1d10+DEX+5.
He only used Sharpshooter on his first shot second turn, which I also caught with some extreme luck.
Now, may you tell me why you would rule that way?
Because, this line of text (The creature hit by the arrow must also succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.) seems to say (at least in my opinion) that if I were to throw it back and hit him, he would be banished.
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
The problem is not only what Banishing arrow does, it's what Deflect Missile does to the ammunition being caught.
Deflect missiles effectively makes the return attack a Monk attack, for which you have to roll to hit and for which you treat the missile as a monk weapon, therefore disregard whatever "improvement" that the missile might have had put on it (+1 ammunition and such still count, though, as they are part of item itself).
Furthermore, the ammunition you hold in your hand does not have banishing on it anymore, and you would still need to roll the save against Banishing, as even though the arrow did not cause damage, it most definitely hit you. Deflect Missile does not make a hit into a miss, it just lowers the damage of a ranged attack that already hit you, so any effect triggering on hit (not on damage) still affects you as normal.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I didn't think of that, but after rereading the two class features in question, that does seem to be the case.