Right I'm wondering how this works and whether or not I'm able to do this
For context: My character has multiclassed into druid from barbarian
I hold a shield and a sword when in battle. Could I use a free action to sheath/drop my sword/shield then use my action to cast a spell and still have my bonus action.
I'm asking can I sheath my sword, cast a spell, then use my bonus all in one turn?
Because It's not said that you need to hold your druidic focus just have one.
If yes you do need to have out your focus, another question. with the attack action your weapon is drawn regardless if you had it out or not and is used, would it not be the same for casting a spell then so in theory I could cast the spell after providing some way of having a hand free to cast the spell?
Right I'm wondering how this works and whether or not I'm able to do this
For context: My character has multiclassed into druid from barbarian
I hold a shield and a sword when in battle. Could I use a free action to sheath/drop my sword/shield then use my action to cast a spell and still have my bonus action.
I'm asking can I sheath my sword, cast a spell, then use my bonus all in one turn?
Because It's not said that you need to hold your druidic focus just have one.
If yes you do need to have out your focus, another question. with the attack action your weapon is drawn regardless if you had it out or not and is used, would it not be the same for casting a spell then so in theory I could cast the spell after providing some way of having a hand free to cast the spell?
No on the shield.
You can drop your sword as a nonaction and draw it, sheathe it, or pick it up using your free once-per-turn Use Item action, giving you a free hand for S and M components, including your focus.
Yes, there is a rule that you have to touch your focus to cast. There's a tweet confirming that the RAI is that this does not apply to divine foci, but there is no such rule RAW, and no one knows the RAI on druidic foci.
There's no interaction here with bonus actions unless/until you pick up an ability to draw your sword as a bonus action (e.g. Rogues[Thieves] get this).
Your weapon is not autodrawn with the attack action. You're referring to the same once per turn Use Item I listed above.
I generally agree with quindraco, but on No . 2, I’d clarify. As they say, you get one free item interaction. If you drop the Weapon to the ground as a free action, then you still have your interaction to grab your spell focus. But it you sheath your weapon, that takes your interaction, so you are unable to grab your spell focus for free. Is my understanding, at least, that might be one of those things I’ve been doing so long it’s actually a house rule I thought was RAW.
You can pick up your dropped weapon for free on your next turn, but there’s always the risk someone else will do it first, or you’ll forget and move away from it, or be moved away from it.
I generally agree with quindraco, but on No . 2, I’d clarify. As they say, you get one free item interaction. If you drop the Weapon to the ground as a free action, then you still have your interaction to grab your spell focus. But it you sheath your weapon, that takes your interaction, so you are unable to grab your spell focus for free. Is my understanding, at least, that might be one of those things I’ve been doing so long it’s actually a house rule I thought was RAW.
You can pick up your dropped weapon for free on your next turn, but there’s always the risk someone else will do it first, or you’ll forget and move away from it, or be moved away from it.
Xalthu is correct, did I mistype my post? Dropping is a free, and touching your focus is also free as part of casting. Sheathing is a problem for action economy - you'll want to drop, cast, and ready, not sheathe, cast, and ready.
Worth pointing out that you don’t always need to touch your focus, only for spells with Material components. You’ll also need that hand free for Somatic components.
But you could limit yourself to Verbal only spells and not have to worry.
Yes, there is a rule that you have to touch your focus to cast. There's a tweet confirming that the RAI is that this does not apply to divine foci, but there is no such rule RAW, and no one knows the RAI on druidic foci.
There is no rule that says you need to touch your focus to cast. The rule is that you need a free hand to hold the focus. This is relevant because, if your wand is sheathed, you can't draw it as part of the spellcasting action, except as your one free object interaction. If you've already used that to sheathe your sword, you're out of luck until next turn.
There is rules text that says clerics and paladins do not need to hold their spellcasting foci. It's right in the description of holy symbols: "To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield."
Yes, there is a rule that you have to touch your focus to cast. There's a tweet confirming that the RAI is that this does not apply to divine foci, but there is no such rule RAW, and no one knows the RAI on druidic foci.
There is no rule that says you need to touch your focus to cast. The rule is that you need a free hand to hold the focus. This is relevant because, if your wand is sheathed, you can't draw it as part of the spellcasting action, except as your one free object interaction. If you've already used that to sheathe your sword, you're out of luck until next turn.
There is rules text that says clerics and paladins do not need to hold their spellcasting foci. It's right in the description of holy symbols: "To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield."
If you've stuck your focus in a sheathe such that you can't hold it without drawing it, you deserve what you get.
The rule you're quoting doesn't do what you think it does: it says you can validly use a holy symbol while it's shield-mounted. That doesn't exempt you from the need to touch your focus, which would mean touching the symbol, not the shield itself:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s ma-terial components—or to hold a spell-casting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
So yes, of course a divine focus user can use the symbol as a focus while it's borne on a shield,but they're still subject to the rule they hold the focus, not just the shield itself. As I mentioned, the RAI is perfectly clear that the shield suffices, though.
This is the shortcoming of gish characters (melee weapon spellcasters). I suggest getting war caster feat and a ruby of the war mage.
Or... you could wear a belt with a focus in it. War Caster's benefits are improved concentration saves and AoO spells, since the drop - cast - pickup action chain doesn't work for AoOs.
This is the shortcoming of gish characters (melee weapon spellcasters). I suggest getting war caster feat and a ruby of the war mage.
Or... you could wear a belt with a focus in it. War Caster's benefits are improved concentration saves and AoO spells, since the drop - cast - pickup action chain doesn't work for AoOs.
That doesn't solve the problem of requiring your object interaction (or the Use an Object action, if you've already used your free one) to draw the focus.
Hi guys awesome feedback for a guy like me new to DND, forgot to mention this but whole point of this Is im wondering is there a way, as long as I drop/sheath/ eat my sword/shield I don't mind to then cast a druid spell on the same turn. In this situation war caster is completely off the table and can not be taken. Why Im going to these lengths to drop/sheath/whatever to cast a spell.
Still kinda lacking an answer here as this is all greek to me.
Just want to know is there a way to 1. from the position of holding a sword and shield go to having a hand free to cast a spell 2. cast a spell 3. have a bonus action to do whatever
This is the shortcoming of gish characters (melee weapon spellcasters). I suggest getting war caster feat and a ruby of the war mage.
Or... you could wear a belt with a focus in it. War Caster's benefits are improved concentration saves and AoO spells, since the drop - cast - pickup action chain doesn't work for AoOs.
That doesn't solve the problem of requiring your object interaction (or the Use an Object action, if you've already used your free one) to draw the focus.
So don't draw the focus. Why are you drawing it, anyway? Are you trying to make it easy for your enemies to make off with it?
Purely as an example, if your focus is a Moon Sickle, buy a frog for it, mount it to your belt, and reach down to grab the handle when you cast so it's never not strapped to you.
As a general rule, deliberately making your position in battle weaker when no rule in the game forces you to and there's no actual benefit is a poor choice.
This is the shortcoming of gish characters (melee weapon spellcasters). I suggest getting war caster feat and a ruby of the war mage.
Or... you could wear a belt with a focus in it. War Caster's benefits are improved concentration saves and AoO spells, since the drop - cast - pickup action chain doesn't work for AoOs.
That doesn't solve the problem of requiring your object interaction (or the Use an Object action, if you've already used your free one) to draw the focus.
So don't draw the focus. Why are you drawing it, anyway? Are you trying to make it easy for your enemies to make off with it?
Purely as an example, if your focus is a Moon Sickle, buy a frog for it, mount it to your belt, and reach down to grab the handle when you cast so it's never not strapped to you.
As a general rule, deliberately making your position in battle weaker when no rule in the game forces you to and there's no actual benefit is a poor choice.
I can’t tell if you’re being deliberately obtuse or just communicating your point incredibly poorly. Nothing you’ve written addresses the actual problem: requiring your object interaction or the Use an Object action.
Hi guys awesome feedback for a guy like me new to DND, forgot to mention this but whole point of this Is im wondering is there a way, as long as I drop/sheath/ eat my sword/shield I don't mind to then cast a druid spell on the same turn. In this situation war caster is completely off the table and can not be taken. Why Im going to these lengths to drop/sheath/whatever to cast a spell.
Still kinda lacking an answer here as this is all greek to me.
Just want to know is there a way to 1. from the position of holding a sword and shield go to having a hand free to cast a spell 2. cast a spell 3. have a bonus action to do whatever
ALL in 1 turn?
Yes:
1. Drop (not sheathe) the sword. This is usually considered a non-action, but if your DM requires your free object interaction for this part, everything becomes more problematic.
2. If the spell you want to cast doesn’t have material components, you’re good to go at this point. Just cast your spell. If it does require material components, proceed to 3.
3. Grab your spellcasting focus or component pouch. This requires your free object interaction and is why you have you drop the sword to the ground instead of sheathing it securely. Some people suggest that you don’t actually need the object interaction if you’re using a component pouch and that this is the one benefit of a component pouch over a focus. Ask your DM how they feel about it if you’re using a pouch; you may be able to get away with sheathing the sword and using the pouch in the same turn if your DM agrees with this interpretation. If you’re using a focus, it’s a no-go; you’ll have to drop the sword.
4. Cast the spell with your action or bonus action.
Hi guys awesome feedback for a guy like me new to DND, forgot to mention this but whole point of this Is im wondering is there a way, as long as I drop/sheath/ eat my sword/shield I don't mind to then cast a druid spell on the same turn. In this situation war caster is completely off the table and can not be taken. Why Im going to these lengths to drop/sheath/whatever to cast a spell.
Still kinda lacking an answer here as this is all greek to me.
Just want to know is there a way to 1. from the position of holding a sword and shield go to having a hand free to cast a spell 2. cast a spell 3. have a bonus action to do whatever
ALL in 1 turn?
First, lets make clear that there is no quick way to drop/re-equip a shield, so might as well just remove that from the question.
Second, you can drop your weapon completely for free. It is a flourish and does not count against your 1 free object interaction (sheathing does).
So as long as your spell didn't require you to interact with an object (read:hold a focus), you can pick the weapon back up after.
Hi guys awesome feedback for a guy like me new to DND, forgot to mention this but whole point of this Is im wondering is there a way, as long as I drop/sheath/ eat my sword/shield I don't mind to then cast a druid spell on the same turn. In this situation war caster is completely off the table and can not be taken. Why Im going to these lengths to drop/sheath/whatever to cast a spell.
Still kinda lacking an answer here as this is all greek to me.
Just want to know is there a way to 1. from the position of holding a sword and shield go to having a hand free to cast a spell 2. cast a spell 3. have a bonus action to do whatever
ALL in 1 turn?
First, lets make clear that there is no quick way to drop/re-equip a shield, so might as well just remove that from the question.
Second, you can drop your weapon completely for free. It is a flourish and does not count against your 1 free object interaction (sheathing does).
So as long as your spell didn't require you to interact with an object (read:hold a focus), you can pick the weapon back up after.
Pick up as long as your DM hasn't decided that dropping the weapon caused it to skid along the ground, or slide into some lava ;-)
You can pick the weapon back up after even if you need to hold a focus because you can hold a focus as part of the Cast a Spell action provided you have a free hand:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spell-casting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a spell-casting focus? Does it have to be included in the somatic component?
If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell (PH, 203). The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component. If a spell has a somatic component, you can use the hand that performs the somatic component to also handle the material component. For example, a wizard who uses an orb as a spellcasting focus could hold a quarterstaff in one hand and the orb in the other, and he could cast lightning bolt by using the orb as the spell’s material component and the orb hand to perform the spell’s somatic component. Another example: a cleric’s holy symbol is emblazoned on her shield. She likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other. She uses the holy symbol as her spellcasting focus, so she needs to have the shield in hand when she casts a cleric spell that has a material component. If the spell, such as aid, also has a so-matic component, she can perform that component with the shield hand and keep holding the mace in the other. If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction.
That is, just belt-mount your focus and have a free hand, and when you take the Cast a Spell action, without touching your action economy, you can reach down and hold it as part of the S component, and if there is no S component, it's even easier since your arm isn't busy.
You can pick the weapon back up after even if you need to hold a focus because you can hold a focus as part of the Cast a Spell action provided you have a free hand:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spell-casting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a spell-casting focus? Does it have to be included in the somatic component?
If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell (PH, 203). The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component. If a spell has a somatic component, you can use the hand that performs the somatic component to also handle the material component. For example, a wizard who uses an orb as a spellcasting focus could hold a quarterstaff in one hand and the orb in the other, and he could cast lightning bolt by using the orb as the spell’s material component and the orb hand to perform the spell’s somatic component. Another example: a cleric’s holy symbol is emblazoned on her shield. She likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other. She uses the holy symbol as her spellcasting focus, so she needs to have the shield in hand when she casts a cleric spell that has a material component. If the spell, such as aid, also has a so-matic component, she can perform that component with the shield hand and keep holding the mace in the other. If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction.
That is, just belt-mount your focus and have a free hand, and when you take the Cast a Spell action, without touching your action economy, you can reach down and hold it as part of the S component, and if there is no S component, it's even easier since your arm isn't busy.
Which part of what you quoted supports your "belt focus that doesn't need an object interaction" idea? Because all I see is multiple examples of spellcasters having a focus fully drawn and in their hands.
The support for that concept, such as it is, is that the rules don't say "you must be holding/wielding your focus" to cast M spells. They say you "must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spell-casting focus", or shortened to "you must have a hand free to hold your focus". If your component pouch was strapped to your belt and one hand was empty then you have met the requirements of "having a hand free to access components". Likewise if you were wearing a crystal amulet focus and had a hand free to touch it then you are meeting the "having a hand free to hold your focus" requirement.
The rules for how components and focuses work are a hot mess. It's really best not to waste much time reading opinions on this forum, just ask your DM for how they want you to handle it. My personal ruling is that an empty hand and a focus about your person is enough to cast an M spell without any further object interactions (I also don't allow dropping then picking up one object in the same turn because I think it's stupid), so my gish players will sheathe a weapon, cast their spell, spend a round unable to use the weapon for an AoO, then draw the weapon next turn if they want.
Right I'm wondering how this works and whether or not I'm able to do this
For context:
My character has multiclassed into druid from barbarian
I hold a shield and a sword when in battle. Could I use a free action to sheath/drop my sword/shield then use my action to cast a spell and still have my bonus action.
I'm asking can I sheath my sword, cast a spell, then use my bonus all in one turn?
Because It's not said that you need to hold your druidic focus just have one.
If yes you do need to have out your focus, another question. with the attack action your weapon is drawn regardless if you had it out or not and is used, would it not be the same for casting a spell then so in theory I could cast the spell after providing some way of having a hand free to cast the spell?
I generally agree with quindraco, but on No . 2, I’d clarify. As they say, you get one free item interaction. If you drop the Weapon to the ground as a free action, then you still have your interaction to grab your spell focus. But it you sheath your weapon, that takes your interaction, so you are unable to grab your spell focus for free. Is my understanding, at least, that might be one of those things I’ve been doing so long it’s actually a house rule I thought was RAW.
You can pick up your dropped weapon for free on your next turn, but there’s always the risk someone else will do it first, or you’ll forget and move away from it, or be moved away from it.
Xalthu is correct, did I mistype my post? Dropping is a free, and touching your focus is also free as part of casting. Sheathing is a problem for action economy - you'll want to drop, cast, and ready, not sheathe, cast, and ready.
Worth pointing out that you don’t always need to touch your focus, only for spells with Material components. You’ll also need that hand free for Somatic components.
But you could limit yourself to Verbal only spells and not have to worry.
There is no rule that says you need to touch your focus to cast. The rule is that you need a free hand to hold the focus. This is relevant because, if your wand is sheathed, you can't draw it as part of the spellcasting action, except as your one free object interaction. If you've already used that to sheathe your sword, you're out of luck until next turn.
There is rules text that says clerics and paladins do not need to hold their spellcasting foci. It's right in the description of holy symbols: "To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield."
If you've stuck your focus in a sheathe such that you can't hold it without drawing it, you deserve what you get.
The rule you're quoting doesn't do what you think it does: it says you can validly use a holy symbol while it's shield-mounted. That doesn't exempt you from the need to touch your focus, which would mean touching the symbol, not the shield itself:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s ma-terial components—or to hold a spell-casting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
So yes, of course a divine focus user can use the symbol as a focus while it's borne on a shield,but they're still subject to the rule they hold the focus, not just the shield itself. As I mentioned, the RAI is perfectly clear that the shield suffices, though.
This is the shortcoming of gish characters (melee weapon spellcasters). I suggest getting war caster feat and a ruby of the war mage.
Or... you could wear a belt with a focus in it. War Caster's benefits are improved concentration saves and AoO spells, since the drop - cast - pickup action chain doesn't work for AoOs.
That doesn't solve the problem of requiring your object interaction (or the Use an Object action, if you've already used your free one) to draw the focus.
Hi guys awesome feedback for a guy like me new to DND, forgot to mention this but whole point of this Is im wondering is there a way, as long as I drop/sheath/ eat my sword/shield I don't mind to then cast a druid spell on the same turn. In this situation war caster is completely off the table and can not be taken. Why Im going to these lengths to drop/sheath/whatever to cast a spell.
Still kinda lacking an answer here as this is all greek to me.
Just want to know is there a way to 1. from the position of holding a sword and shield go to having a hand free to cast a spell 2. cast a spell 3. have a bonus action to do whatever
ALL in 1 turn?
So don't draw the focus. Why are you drawing it, anyway? Are you trying to make it easy for your enemies to make off with it?
Purely as an example, if your focus is a Moon Sickle, buy a frog for it, mount it to your belt, and reach down to grab the handle when you cast so it's never not strapped to you.
As a general rule, deliberately making your position in battle weaker when no rule in the game forces you to and there's no actual benefit is a poor choice.
I can’t tell if you’re being deliberately obtuse or just communicating your point incredibly poorly. Nothing you’ve written addresses the actual problem: requiring your object interaction or the Use an Object action.
Yes:
1. Drop (not sheathe) the sword. This is usually considered a non-action, but if your DM requires your free object interaction for this part, everything becomes more problematic.
2. If the spell you want to cast doesn’t have material components, you’re good to go at this point. Just cast your spell. If it does require material components, proceed to 3.
3. Grab your spellcasting focus or component pouch. This requires your free object interaction and is why you have you drop the sword to the ground instead of sheathing it securely. Some people suggest that you don’t actually need the object interaction if you’re using a component pouch and that this is the one benefit of a component pouch over a focus. Ask your DM how they feel about it if you’re using a pouch; you may be able to get away with sheathing the sword and using the pouch in the same turn if your DM agrees with this interpretation. If you’re using a focus, it’s a no-go; you’ll have to drop the sword.
4. Cast the spell with your action or bonus action.
First, lets make clear that there is no quick way to drop/re-equip a shield, so might as well just remove that from the question.
Second, you can drop your weapon completely for free. It is a flourish and does not count against your 1 free object interaction (sheathing does).
So as long as your spell didn't require you to interact with an object (read:hold a focus), you can pick the weapon back up after.
Pick up as long as your DM hasn't decided that dropping the weapon caused it to skid along the ground, or slide into some lava ;-)
You can pick the weapon back up after even if you need to hold a focus because you can hold a focus as part of the Cast a Spell action provided you have a free hand:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spell-casting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a spell-casting focus? Does it have to be included in the somatic component?
If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell (PH, 203). The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component. If a spell has a somatic component, you can use the hand that performs the somatic component to also handle the material component. For example, a wizard who uses an orb as a spellcasting focus could hold a quarterstaff in one hand and the orb in the other, and he could cast lightning bolt by using the orb as the spell’s material component and the orb hand to perform the spell’s somatic component. Another example: a cleric’s holy symbol is emblazoned on her shield. She likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other. She uses the holy symbol as her spellcasting focus, so she needs to have the shield in hand when she casts a cleric spell that has a material component. If the spell, such as aid, also has a so-matic component, she can perform that component with the shield hand and keep holding the mace in the other. If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction.
That is, just belt-mount your focus and have a free hand, and when you take the Cast a Spell action, without touching your action economy, you can reach down and hold it as part of the S component, and if there is no S component, it's even easier since your arm isn't busy.
Which part of what you quoted supports your "belt focus that doesn't need an object interaction" idea? Because all I see is multiple examples of spellcasters having a focus fully drawn and in their hands.
[Repling to DxJxC above]
The support for that concept, such as it is, is that the rules don't say "you must be holding/wielding your focus" to cast M spells. They say you "must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spell-casting focus", or shortened to "you must have a hand free to hold your focus". If your component pouch was strapped to your belt and one hand was empty then you have met the requirements of "having a hand free to access components". Likewise if you were wearing a crystal amulet focus and had a hand free to touch it then you are meeting the "having a hand free to hold your focus" requirement.
The rules for how components and focuses work are a hot mess. It's really best not to waste much time reading opinions on this forum, just ask your DM for how they want you to handle it. My personal ruling is that an empty hand and a focus about your person is enough to cast an M spell without any further object interactions (I also don't allow dropping then picking up one object in the same turn because I think it's stupid), so my gish players will sheathe a weapon, cast their spell, spend a round unable to use the weapon for an AoO, then draw the weapon next turn if they want.