If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
As a DM, I extrapolate "not including potions or scrolls" as actually meaning "not including consumables".
For roleplay, you would make your infusions 1 at a time, but mechanically, you get them all at the same time.
You can't make 4 beads of nourishment and 3 other infusions with just 3 infusion limit.
But that distinction is never explicitly made. according to the rules, you make your infusions one after the other, not all at once. the wording that indicates the oldest one ending when you make another that exceeds your limit supports this. otherwise why include that sort of wording? why not just say "you can only make X infusions per long rest"? they went out of their way to say you have X infusions slots, and if you exceed that, the oldest one stops? it almost makes what I was saying sound like RAI, not just RAW because there was a much simpler way to write that if thats what they meant.
If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
As a DM, I extrapolate "not including potions or scrolls" as actually meaning "not including consumables".
Then why not just say, no consumables instead of stipulating only potions and scrolls? If they meant no consumables, say no consumables, right? doesn't seem like a complex solution and the fact that they didn't is either a HUGE oversight on their part, or perhaps it was intended for a reason?
If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
As a DM, I extrapolate "not including potions or scrolls" as actually meaning "not including consumables".
But they specifically made the tables to include those things. If they didn't want consumables, why are consumables on the tables of items artificers can specifically replicate?
They aren't. No consumables are explicitly listed, it's just that there happen to be some consumables from XGTE and TCOE fitting into the category of "Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls." This is probably because the people who did the artificer didn't notice the few consumables in XGTE and didn't have access to the final draft of TCOE.
If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
As a DM, I extrapolate "not including potions or scrolls" as actually meaning "not including consumables".
But they specifically made the tables to include those things. If they didn't want consumables, why are consumables on the tables of items artificers can specifically replicate?
They aren't. No consumables are explicitly listed, it's just that there happen to be some consumables from XGTE and TCOE fitting into the category of "Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls." This is probably because the people who did the artificer didn't notice the few consumables in XGTE and didn't have access to the final draft of TCOE.
Well if this is the case, I hope they clarify in the future. If there are criteria for determining an item's eligibility for being made as part of an infusion, I'd rather they just spell them out for us rather than leaving it vague. also seeing as how Artificer came out way after XGtE and there being many consumables in it, you'd think would be another reason to further specify "no consumables" if that was the intent.
Well if this is the case, I hope they clarify in the future. If there are criteria for determining an item's eligibility for being made as part of an infusion, I'd rather they just spell them out for us rather than leaving it vague. also seeing as how Artificer came out way after XGtE and there being many consumables in it, you'd think would be another reason to further specify "no consumables" if that was the intent.
I wouldn't say there's a lot of common consumables in XGtE, I only count 4 (bead of refreshment, bead of nourishment, perfume of bewitching, walloping ammunition). In any case, on the original question, "infuse item" is only usable once per day at the end of a long rest and cannot affect more items than the max infusions you have, less any previous infusions you want to keep.
For roleplay, you would make your infusions 1 at a time, but mechanically, you get them all at the same time.
You can't make 4 beads of nourishment and 3 other infusions with just 3 infusion limit.
But that distinction is never explicitly made. according to the rules, you make your infusions one after the other, not all at once. the wording that indicates the oldest one ending when you make another that exceeds your limit supports this. otherwise why include that sort of wording? why not just say "you can only make X infusions per long rest"? they went out of their way to say you have X infusions slots, and if you exceed that, the oldest one stops? it almost makes what I was saying sound like RAI, not just RAW because there was a much simpler way to write that if thats what they meant.
The mentioning of there being an oldest does not mean they dint happen at the same time. Spells that hit multiple targets get rolled 1 at a time, but there is still nothing that can happen in between because it is 1 instance. The same applies here.
The reason it isn't worded differently (in addition to the current wording being fine) is because that would suggest that making an infusion can be done at the beginning of a rest, which causes all kinds of problems since a rest can be interrupted. That is why all rest dependant features happen at the end.
The limit is set per long rest, in the following sentence:
"You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table."
Grammatically, the semicolon tells you the that the two independent clauses are closely related. It is a more elegant way of connecting two lengthier clauses that might read awkwardly if connected with the conjunction ‘and.’
So once you hit that limit, you must finish another long rest to regain the ability to infuse more items.
Oh, and the wording re new ones replacing old ones is therefore most likely meant to tell you what happens after that next long rest, when you infuse an item beyond your limit.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If an artificer ends their long rest by infusing a bead of nourishment, eats the bead, then proceeds to infuse other items after, lets say they then exceed their max infusions. RAW, the oldest infusion ceases functioning, but In this case, I've already gained it's benefit. there is no described limit to how many items an artificer can infuse at the end of a long rest, just that if they exceed their max slots, the oldest one stops. rules being stated like that tells me that if I fill some of my known infusions with consumables, I can buff myself or others at the end of each long rest as long as my first infusions are consumables and are immediately used, and still get my usual infusions that I want to last all day like a magic weapon or increased armor. Is this a reasonable interpretation?
I do the same with spellwrought tattoo and Find Familiar.
For roleplay, you would make your infusions 1 at a time, but mechanically, you get them all at the same time.
You can't make 4 beads of nourishment and 3 other infusions with just 3 infusion limit.
As a DM, I extrapolate "not including potions or scrolls" as actually meaning "not including consumables".
But that distinction is never explicitly made. according to the rules, you make your infusions one after the other, not all at once. the wording that indicates the oldest one ending when you make another that exceeds your limit supports this. otherwise why include that sort of wording? why not just say "you can only make X infusions per long rest"? they went out of their way to say you have X infusions slots, and if you exceed that, the oldest one stops? it almost makes what I was saying sound like RAI, not just RAW because there was a much simpler way to write that if thats what they meant.
Then why not just say, no consumables instead of stipulating only potions and scrolls? If they meant no consumables, say no consumables, right? doesn't seem like a complex solution and the fact that they didn't is either a HUGE oversight on their part, or perhaps it was intended for a reason?
They aren't. No consumables are explicitly listed, it's just that there happen to be some consumables from XGTE and TCOE fitting into the category of "Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls." This is probably because the people who did the artificer didn't notice the few consumables in XGTE and didn't have access to the final draft of TCOE.
Well if this is the case, I hope they clarify in the future. If there are criteria for determining an item's eligibility for being made as part of an infusion, I'd rather they just spell them out for us rather than leaving it vague. also seeing as how Artificer came out way after XGtE and there being many consumables in it, you'd think would be another reason to further specify "no consumables" if that was the intent.
I wouldn't say there's a lot of common consumables in XGtE, I only count 4 (bead of refreshment, bead of nourishment, perfume of bewitching, walloping ammunition). In any case, on the original question, "infuse item" is only usable once per day at the end of a long rest and cannot affect more items than the max infusions you have, less any previous infusions you want to keep.
The mentioning of there being an oldest does not mean they dint happen at the same time. Spells that hit multiple targets get rolled 1 at a time, but there is still nothing that can happen in between because it is 1 instance. The same applies here.
The reason it isn't worded differently (in addition to the current wording being fine) is because that would suggest that making an infusion can be done at the beginning of a rest, which causes all kinds of problems since a rest can be interrupted. That is why all rest dependant features happen at the end.
The limit is set per long rest, in the following sentence:
"You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table."
Grammatically, the semicolon tells you the that the two independent clauses are closely related. It is a more elegant way of connecting two lengthier clauses that might read awkwardly if connected with the conjunction ‘and.’
So once you hit that limit, you must finish another long rest to regain the ability to infuse more items.
Oh, and the wording re new ones replacing old ones is therefore most likely meant to tell you what happens after that next long rest, when you infuse an item beyond your limit.