If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
Without something like devil's sight either would attack the other normally. This is because they both benefit from unseen attack but can't see their opponent. The person in darkness can't see but can hear/smell someone 5ft away, the person out of darkness is in exactly the same situation; cancelling each other out.
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
The creature is in darkness and has blindsight. It also has 15 foot reach (tentacles) so can attack targets outside the darkness without exposing itself. I made the call that the PC outside couldn't see it so could not cast a "creature you can see" spell at it even if they could see the tentacles attack. Was curious what other GMs would do or if I made an error in judgement.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
You did the right call if you cant ses a creature because its in a Darkness AoE you shouldn't be able to target it with effect targeting creatures you can see even if you see some of if its appendage that may extend out of its space unless you're using some sort of hit location rules.
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
The creature is in darkness and has blindsight. It also has 15 foot reach (tentacles) so can attack targets outside the darkness without exposing itself. I made the call that the PC outside couldn't see it so could not cast a "creature you can see" spell at it even if they could see the tentacles attack. Was curious what other GMs would do or if I made an error in judgement.
They could Ready a spell attack with "creature you can see" as the target to be triggered by seeing the creature, for what that's worth. Tentacle comes out of the darkness, zap. They couldn't attack it on their turn though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I feel like they need to be able to see the bulk of the creature to be able to hit it with spells that require you to see the creature. Just an appendage wouldn't be enough for me.
That's just my opinion though. I haven't bothered to check if that's backed up by any rules (mostly because I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't any).
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
Depends if you have an ability that allows you to see through the magical darkness. No matter what weapon you use, your view is blocked by the darkness. Even if you attack a monster that's outside of the darkness, you won't be able to see them, and therefore has disadvantage. If you have Devil's Sight or Blind Fighting, then you can attack the enemy with advantage, because the enemy is essentially blinded when trying to percieve you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Brains over brawn? Mind over matter? These canny warriors rightly answer, "Why not both?" - Tasha
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
The creature is in darkness and has blindsight. It also has 15 foot reach (tentacles) so can attack targets outside the darkness without exposing itself. I made the call that the PC outside couldn't see it so could not cast a "creature you can see" spell at it even if they could see the tentacles attack. Was curious what other GMs would do or if I made an error in judgement.
In that case they could attack it with disadvantage or put an AOE over it, but can't select it with effects that require you to see the target.
They can move out of its reach and ready the action for when it comes out for hit and run attacks.
"I ready an action to cast a "see" spell on the target when it attacks"
This is a huge risk, as when you ready a spell, you lose the slot even if you never cast it.
In the short amount of time that the tentacle is outside of the darkness, you might start casting the spell but wouldn't finish before the tentacle disappears into the darkness again.
"I ready an action to cast a "see" spell on the target when it attacks"
This is a huge risk, as when you ready a spell, you lose the slot even if you never cast it.
In the short amount of time that the tentacle is outside of the darkness, you might start casting the spell but wouldn't finish before the tentacle disappears into the darkness again.
Readying means you start casting on your turn and hold the arcane energy or however you view spells ready to be released. That's why you lose the spell slot even if you don't actually get to finish casting.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
"I ready an action to cast a "see" spell on the target when it attacks"
This is a huge risk, as when you ready a spell, you lose the slot even if you never cast it.
In the short amount of time that the tentacle is outside of the darkness, you might start casting the spell but wouldn't finish before the tentacle disappears into the darkness again.
Readying means you start casting on your turn and hold the arcane energy or however you view spells ready to be released. That's why you lose the spell slot even if you don't actually get to finish casting.
That is true. I forgot that when posting. :)
I guess it is up to the DM to adjudicate in this situation, since it isn't covered by the rules.
Also, you are only seeing a tentacle, rather than the actual creature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If there is a creature inside darkness and it has reach to attack a target outside of the darkness, can a PC target the creature with "a creature that you can see within range"?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Darkness? Or darkness?
Which creature is the PC (the one in darkness?)?
Without something like devil's sight either would attack the other normally. This is because they both benefit from unseen attack but can't see their opponent. The person in darkness can't see but can hear/smell someone 5ft away, the person out of darkness is in exactly the same situation; cancelling each other out.
The creature is in darkness and has blindsight. It also has 15 foot reach (tentacles) so can attack targets outside the darkness without exposing itself. I made the call that the PC outside couldn't see it so could not cast a "creature you can see" spell at it even if they could see the tentacles attack. Was curious what other GMs would do or if I made an error in judgement.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
You did the right call if you cant ses a creature because its in a Darkness AoE you shouldn't be able to target it with effect targeting creatures you can see even if you see some of if its appendage that may extend out of its space unless you're using some sort of hit location rules.
They could Ready a spell attack with "creature you can see" as the target to be triggered by seeing the creature, for what that's worth. Tentacle comes out of the darkness, zap. They couldn't attack it on their turn though.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I feel like they need to be able to see the bulk of the creature to be able to hit it with spells that require you to see the creature. Just an appendage wouldn't be enough for me.
That's just my opinion though. I haven't bothered to check if that's backed up by any rules (mostly because I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't any).
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
As a DM I would allow doing the following:
"I ready an action to cast a "see" spell on the target when it attacks"
This is a huge risk, as when you ready a spell, you lose the slot even if you never cast it.
Depends if you have an ability that allows you to see through the magical darkness. No matter what weapon you use, your view is blocked by the darkness. Even if you attack a monster that's outside of the darkness, you won't be able to see them, and therefore has disadvantage. If you have Devil's Sight or Blind Fighting, then you can attack the enemy with advantage, because the enemy is essentially blinded when trying to percieve you.
Brains over brawn? Mind over matter? These canny warriors rightly answer, "Why not both?" - Tasha
My Homebrews: Monsters, Magic Items, Spells, Races
Rhulg- Hobgoblin Gunsmith
In that case they could attack it with disadvantage or put an AOE over it, but can't select it with effects that require you to see the target.
They can move out of its reach and ready the action for when it comes out for hit and run attacks.
In the short amount of time that the tentacle is outside of the darkness, you might start casting the spell but wouldn't finish before the tentacle disappears into the darkness again.
Readying means you start casting on your turn and hold the arcane energy or however you view spells ready to be released. That's why you lose the spell slot even if you don't actually get to finish casting.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
That is true. I forgot that when posting. :)
I guess it is up to the DM to adjudicate in this situation, since it isn't covered by the rules.
Also, you are only seeing a tentacle, rather than the actual creature.