If I ready an action by saying "If the elf takes a step I shoot him with my bow", does the elf get to move his full movement before I shoot? Or is it an instant response when he takes a single step?
I've seen people interpret this rule:
"When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger."
Such that the trigger would be the elf's movement, and the elf needs to finish moving before I can take my reaction. But to me that seems wrong. Especially when you look at this example from the PHB: "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it,".
If we used this interpretation of the rule, the cultist could just run right over the trapdoor, and we'd be standing there holding a lever, looking dumb.
In your example, the trigger is the elf taking a step, not the elf declaring he’s done moving for this turn. The elf takes a step and you shoot him with your bow. Then, unless your shot somehow prevents him from moving further (by killing him, for example), as TexasDevin says, he gets to finish his move.
Your turning your action into a reaction. Reactions are instantaneous.
If you ignore the trigger you've given up your action. If what you say doesnt happen cause say your target was killed or said trigger isnt activated then your action is forfeited.
Also if you use your reaction before said trigger for anything else (such as an opportunity attack) then you cant attack on said trigger.
Reactions happen after the trigger - that much is true - but your trigger is 'when they take a step' which will be maybe 1ft. or 5ft. depending on whether you're playing on a grid or not. So no they don't have to completely finish their movement before you shoot. If they move enough to register movement - you can shoot them - immediately after they've made that initial movement.
Hi,
If I ready an action by saying "If the elf takes a step I shoot him with my bow", does the elf get to move his full movement before I shoot? Or is it an instant response when he takes a single step?
I've seen people interpret this rule:
"When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger."
Such that the trigger would be the elf's movement, and the elf needs to finish moving before I can take my reaction. But to me that seems wrong. Especially when you look at this example from the PHB: "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it,".
If we used this interpretation of the rule, the cultist could just run right over the trapdoor, and we'd be standing there holding a lever, looking dumb.
Could I get any clarification?
I would say they effectively happen at the same time. The elf can make his movement as normal and you take your shot.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
In your example, the trigger is the elf taking a step, not the elf declaring he’s done moving for this turn. The elf takes a step and you shoot him with your bow. Then, unless your shot somehow prevents him from moving further (by killing him, for example), as TexasDevin says, he gets to finish his move.
Your turning your action into a reaction. Reactions are instantaneous.
If you ignore the trigger you've given up your action. If what you say doesnt happen cause say your target was killed or said trigger isnt activated then your action is forfeited.
Also if you use your reaction before said trigger for anything else (such as an opportunity attack) then you cant attack on said trigger.
Reactions happen after the trigger - that much is true - but your trigger is 'when they take a step' which will be maybe 1ft. or 5ft. depending on whether you're playing on a grid or not. So no they don't have to completely finish their movement before you shoot. If they move enough to register movement - you can shoot them - immediately after they've made that initial movement.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).