Illusory Self (10th level subclass feature for the School of Illusion Wizard) states that when a creature makes an attack roll against you, you can use your reaction to interpose the duplicate between the attacker and yourself, causing the attack to automatically miss.
My question is, what happens if the attack roll is a critical hit (which presumably means the attack automatically hits the target)? Since the subclass feature states "when a creature makes an attack roll..." rather than "when a creature makes an attack" that the d20 has already been rolled at the point the reaction is used, so it would be apparent if it is a critical or not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
Further tidbit, the attacking creature would still benefit from any features or similar that are triggered by landing a crit, but the target would not take any damage or suffer any effects of the attack, because the illusion took the hit for them.
The attack automatically misses you, then the illusion dissipates.
The above in bold is taken from Illusory Self. You cannot hit the Illusory Self since it has no substance.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
If something triggers from a crit, does the crit have to land or just be rolled? The Illusory Self prevents a hit from occurring, even from a crit but the roll still occurred.
drag0n_77 I'm not sure what features or similar things you are referring to but I would say those that rely on a rolled crit work and those that require a hit don't.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
The attack automatically misses you, then the illusion dissipates.
The above in bold is taken from Illusory Self. You cannot hit the Illusory Self since it has no substance.
...
Pretty much every illusion in the game is revealed on contact. Why all the semantic games?
Because Illusory Self will prevent any rider effects, such as Great Weapon Master, from triggering for the attacker. For all intents and purposes, the attack is a miss, not a zero-damage hit.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Illusory Self (10th level subclass feature for the School of Illusion Wizard) states that when a creature makes an attack roll against you, you can use your reaction to interpose the duplicate between the attacker and yourself, causing the attack to automatically miss.
My question is, what happens if the attack roll is a critical hit (which presumably means the attack automatically hits the target)? Since the subclass feature states "when a creature makes an attack roll..." rather than "when a creature makes an attack" that the d20 has already been rolled at the point the reaction is used, so it would be apparent if it is a critical or not.
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
The illusory self causes the crit to miss.
To clarify, the wording on a critical hit means and attack hits regardless of armor class. Illusory self causes a miss that's not based on armor class
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Further tidbit, the attacking creature would still benefit from any features or similar that are triggered by landing a crit, but the target would not take any damage or suffer any effects of the attack, because the illusion took the hit for them.
The attack automatically misses you, then the illusion dissipates.
The above in bold is taken from Illusory Self. You cannot hit the Illusory Self since it has no substance.
If something triggers from a crit, does the crit have to land or just be rolled? The Illusory Self prevents a hit from occurring, even from a crit but the roll still occurred.
drag0n_77 I'm not sure what features or similar things you are referring to but I would say those that rely on a rolled crit work and those that require a hit don't.
Because Illusory Self will prevent any rider effects, such as Great Weapon Master, from triggering for the attacker. For all intents and purposes, the attack is a miss, not a zero-damage hit.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.