I’m currently playing a 5th level Pact Warlock, and realized that Hex at 5th level gives me 8 hours for that spell. I asked my group if that meant if we took a short rest 4hrs in, shouldn’t that short rest give me both my spell slots back, while still concentrating on hex?
Sadly, the consensus was I could take a short rest, and choose to either keep Hex going, but only have 1 spell slot to “use”, or drop Hex and get both slots back.
My personal thought is: (1) it lasts for 8 hours, (2) as long as I don’t sleep I don’t lose concentration, and (3) after each short rest I get both spell slots back.
I’m not trying to “milk” the rules for a free spell slot, but shoot- I only have two slots to begin with, and the rules don’t specify that I CAN’T do this. Thoughts? Official rulings? Thanks in advance.
Tayn of Darkwood. Lvl 10 human Life Cleric of Lathander. Retired.
Ikram Sahir ibn Malik al-Sayyid Ra'ad, Second Son of the House of Ra'ad, Defender of the Burning Sands. Lvl 9 Brass Dragonborn Sorcerer + Greater Fire Elemental Devil.
Viktor Gavriil. Lvl 20 White Dragonborn Grave Cleric, of Kurgan the God of Death.
According to Sage Advice, the official channel for this kind of clarification, a short rest does not cause you to lose concentration (unless you sleep during the short rest).
If a Short Rest breaks Concentration, then having higher-level slots extend the duration to 8 or 24 hours would be pointless. As written, only two things auto-break Concentration, the character choosing to, and the character becoming Incapacitated(such as when they fall asleep or go unconscious). Other things can force a check to maintain Concentration, like taking damage or other things the DM decides warrant such a check.
I’m currently playing a 5th level Pact Warlock, and realized that Hex at 5th level gives me 8 hours for that spell. I asked my group if that meant if we took a short rest 4hrs in, shouldn’t that short rest give me both my spell slots back, while still concentrating on hex?
Sadly, the consensus was I could take a short rest, and choose to either keep Hex going, but only have 1 spell slot to “use”, or drop Hex and get both slots back.
My personal thought is: (1) it lasts for 8 hours, (2) as long as I don’t sleep I don’t lose concentration, and (3) after each short rest I get both spell slots back.
I’m not trying to “milk” the rules for a free spell slot, but shoot- I only have two slots to begin with, and the rules don’t specify that I CAN’T do this. Thoughts? Official rulings? Thanks in advance.
Personally, I would say that a rest of any sort (short or long) ends concentration on any spell.
If you're concentrating, you're not resting. If you're resting, you're not concentrating.
Resting is a letting down of one's guard, a release from all activity.
But that's just my two cents. Ultimately, it's up to the DM at that particular table.
Tayn of Darkwood. Lvl 10 human Life Cleric of Lathander. Retired.
Ikram Sahir ibn Malik al-Sayyid Ra'ad, Second Son of the House of Ra'ad, Defender of the Burning Sands. Lvl 9 Brass Dragonborn Sorcerer + Greater Fire Elemental Devil.
Viktor Gavriil. Lvl 20 White Dragonborn Grave Cleric, of Kurgan the God of Death.
Anzio Faro. Lvl 5 Prot. Aasimar Light Cleric.
You are right. Concentration doesn't lock the slot, and theres no reason you can't rest without breaking concentration.
That’s one of the biggest advantages of Hex. You can maintain it through a short rest and get your spell slot back, which is a big deal as a warlock!
Professional computer geek
According to Sage Advice, the official channel for this kind of clarification, a short rest does not cause you to lose concentration (unless you sleep during the short rest).
See https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/09/20/concentration-during-rest/
See https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/09/20/its-possible-to-maintain-concentration-on-a-spell-during-a-short-or-long-rest/
See https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/09/29/concentration-and-hit-dice-use/
If a Short Rest breaks Concentration, then having higher-level slots extend the duration to 8 or 24 hours would be pointless. As written, only two things auto-break Concentration, the character choosing to, and the character becoming Incapacitated(such as when they fall asleep or go unconscious). Other things can force a check to maintain Concentration, like taking damage or other things the DM decides warrant such a check.
Thanks so much for the responses! I will bring it up during the next gaming night!!!!