TLDR: -Hex lasts 8 hours at level 5+ -Nothing I can find says you can't hold concentration during a short rest -Nothing says anything about time or range on moving Hex from a dead enemy
-So does this mean you can Hex, short rest to regain spells, then bonus action move the existing hex to a new target?
I'm new to D&D, and while looking up how warlocks work, no guide or class explanation mentioned this mechanic. I'm sure I must be missing something or this would be mentioned somewhere but I just can't find any rule contradicting it. Is this how Hex works cast at 3rd level and up?
Correct. Some DMs find it annoying and cheesy, others say it's just good warlocking. Make sure to check with your DM before relying on it, and remember that not every fight needs or warrants a cast of Hex in the first place.
I use this technique myself on occasion. It does require a target though. I use any nearby insect, worm, mouse, whatever is handy. Cast Hex, kill the critter, take your short rest and move on with the Hex at the ready for the next bad guy.
Just dont do what i do and forget to use it! Cant count the number of times i finished a fight only to realize....... wooops, well there is always next time.....
I was more talking about resting after a first combat, not saying you hexed a ladybug and then killed it before you rest.
I think it might be kind of cool to play on the class a little bit and use your charisma to convince the last enemy to surrender, then of use the prisoner to allow for this kind of hex prepping. Extra bonus for fiend locks too.
Legal, slightly cheesy move for a warlock to get an extra casting of Hex after you recover from a short rest. Technically not a free slot, as the extra spell must be Hex.
I say only slightly cheesy because Warlocks get all their spells max slot, so should get all benefits of that. Not all spells get more abilities with an increased slot, so they should at least get the full effect for spells that do give them.
Note, you do not need a prisoner. Hex says 'subsequent turn'. No time limit on subsequent, except the duration of the spell/concentration. So you can hex a worm and kill it just before you take a short rest.
I usually MC to get a few level spell slots, mostly for things like hex. I don't really mind delaying my warlock progression. Yes though, as everyone else said, you can cheese hex and keep it running all day.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Not a cheese or accidental feature, but intentional design. Hex is a warlock-only spell, and everything about its design synergizes with the warlock. It scales to spell level 5 am. Works great with Eldritch Blast, scales up to level 5 but no further. The entire idea is that a level 9+ warlock can cast this once at the beginning of the day and carry it through, at the cost of Concentration.
"If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature."
Now, it makes sense that if you hunt someone or something similar, you'll cast it on the target and can then have it on the target for a complete day if you can stay within 90 fedt. But else I simply can't see how you'll be able to use it as some of the other examples! ??? There's nowhere that it says that if the target is more than 90 feet away it stays with target (and vise versa, I know!). And for that same reason, if you yourself move more than 90 feet away, it will disappear. So how will you be able to move the Hex from your target (if it's dead, mind you! Or else you can't move it to a new target!) if the target is more than 90 feet away and the spell therefore is no longer in effect? The only way I can see this work, is with the bug-example...exept you'll have to bring it with you, dead.
The range applies to you, not the last target. The duration goes up to 8 hours at 5th level.
The words "subsequent turn' do not have a limit. I target someone 90 ft away, kill him. 7 hours and 59 minutes later it still counts as a 'subsequent turn', so you use a bonus action to move it to someone else that is within 90 ft of you, not the location you were when you cast the spell.
Not a cheese or accidental feature, but intentional design. Hex is a warlock-only spell, and everything about its design synergizes with the warlock. It scales to spell level 5 am. Works great with Eldritch Blast, scales up to level 5 but no further. The entire idea is that a level 9+ warlock can cast this once at the beginning of the day and carry it through, at the cost of Concentration.
Putting it on a mouse in the morning, and blasting it so you can start with it up and full spell slots is cheesing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Not a cheese or accidental feature, but intentional design. Hex is a warlock-only spell, and everything about its design synergizes with the warlock. It scales to spell level 5 am. Works great with Eldritch Blast, scales up to level 5 but no further. The entire idea is that a level 9+ warlock can cast this once at the beginning of the day and carry it through, at the cost of Concentration.
Putting it on a mouse in the morning, and blasting it so you can start with it up and full spell slots is cheesing.
I was referring to the general case of carrying Hex through a short rest, which isn't cheesing and is intentional design.
Cramming in additional short rests every time you spend a resource (especially when done immediately after a long rest) can be used to do some cheesy things, but that's a broader topic that can be addressed through narrative tools at the DM's disposal.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
TLDR:
-Hex lasts 8 hours at level 5+
-Nothing I can find says you can't hold concentration during a short rest
-Nothing says anything about time or range on moving Hex from a dead enemy
-So does this mean you can Hex, short rest to regain spells, then bonus action move the existing hex to a new target?
I'm new to D&D, and while looking up how warlocks work, no guide or class explanation mentioned this mechanic. I'm sure I must be missing something or this would be mentioned somewhere but I just can't find any rule contradicting it. Is this how Hex works cast at 3rd level and up?
Correct. Some DMs find it annoying and cheesy, others say it's just good warlocking. Make sure to check with your DM before relying on it, and remember that not every fight needs or warrants a cast of Hex in the first place.
Please do not contact or message me.
I use this technique myself on occasion. It does require a target though. I use any nearby insect, worm, mouse, whatever is handy. Cast Hex, kill the critter, take your short rest and move on with the Hex at the ready for the next bad guy.
Just dont do what i do and forget to use it! Cant count the number of times i finished a fight only to realize....... wooops, well there is always next time.....
I was more talking about resting after a first combat, not saying you hexed a ladybug and then killed it before you rest.
I think it might be kind of cool to play on the class a little bit and use your charisma to convince the last enemy to surrender, then of use the prisoner to allow for this kind of hex prepping. Extra bonus for fiend locks too.
I guess if the rest of your party is okay with you killing a bound prisoner who surrenderd then that would work too!
Legal, slightly cheesy move for a warlock to get an extra casting of Hex after you recover from a short rest. Technically not a free slot, as the extra spell must be Hex.
I say only slightly cheesy because Warlocks get all their spells max slot, so should get all benefits of that. Not all spells get more abilities with an increased slot, so they should at least get the full effect for spells that do give them.
Note, you do not need a prisoner. Hex says 'subsequent turn'. No time limit on subsequent, except the duration of the spell/concentration. So you can hex a worm and kill it just before you take a short rest.
The killing a bug/prisoner thing is more to really cheese it. Like after a long rest hex/kill, short rest, start the day.
I usually MC to get a few level spell slots, mostly for things like hex. I don't really mind delaying my warlock progression. Yes though, as everyone else said, you can cheese hex and keep it running all day.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Not a cheese or accidental feature, but intentional design. Hex is a warlock-only spell, and everything about its design synergizes with the warlock. It scales to spell level 5 am. Works great with Eldritch Blast, scales up to level 5 but no further. The entire idea is that a level 9+ warlock can cast this once at the beginning of the day and carry it through, at the cost of Concentration.
Range: 90 feet
"If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature."
Now, it makes sense that if you hunt someone or something similar, you'll cast it on the target and can then have it on the target for a complete day if you can stay within 90 fedt. But else I simply can't see how you'll be able to use it as some of the other examples! ??? There's nowhere that it says that if the target is more than 90 feet away it stays with target (and vise versa, I know!). And for that same reason, if you yourself move more than 90 feet away, it will disappear. So how will you be able to move the Hex from your target (if it's dead, mind you! Or else you can't move it to a new target!) if the target is more than 90 feet away and the spell therefore is no longer in effect? The only way I can see this work, is with the bug-example...exept you'll have to bring it with you, dead.
Or have I compleatly misunderstood something? 🤔🙂
The range applies to you, not the last target. The duration goes up to 8 hours at 5th level.
The words "subsequent turn' do not have a limit. I target someone 90 ft away, kill him. 7 hours and 59 minutes later it still counts as a 'subsequent turn', so you use a bonus action to move it to someone else that is within 90 ft of you, not the location you were when you cast the spell.
Putting it on a mouse in the morning, and blasting it so you can start with it up and full spell slots is cheesing.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
I was referring to the general case of carrying Hex through a short rest, which isn't cheesing and is intentional design.
Cramming in additional short rests every time you spend a resource (especially when done immediately after a long rest) can be used to do some cheesy things, but that's a broader topic that can be addressed through narrative tools at the DM's disposal.