While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create an area of effect. The absorbed spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy—not the spell itself— is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. A canceled spell dissipates with no effect, and any resources used to cast it are wasted. The rod can absorb and store up to 50 levels of energy over the course of its existence. Once the rod absorbs 50 levels of energy, it can’t absorb more. If you are targeted by a spell that the rod can’t store, the rod has no effect on that spell.
When you become attuned to the rod, you know how many levels of energy the rod has absorbed over the course of its existence and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored.
If you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have prepared or know. You can create spell slots only of a level equal to or lower than your own spell slots, up to a maximum of level 5. You use the stored levels in place of your slots but otherwise cast the spell as normal. For example, you can use 3 levels stored in the rod as a level 3 spell slot.
A newly found rod typically has 1d10 levels of spell energy stored in it. A rod that can no longer absorb spell energy and has no energy remaining becomes nonmagical.
Notes: Utility, Warding
Never give this to a spellcaster with downtime.
could you use this to cause a flood by giving to a Water Ganassi and having them use everything to create a huge amount of water or is this not how any of that works
Yes it does. It targets a creature. The trigger is casting a spell
A question one of my players asked me, and I'm not finding a definitive answer on. Can a Sorcerer create spell slots with the rod then convert those slots into Sorcery Points? The description says "you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have prepared or know", so that makes me sort of on the fence on if it would technically mean the slots can only be used for spells specifically, or that you just regain those slots and can use them as normal, which would include things like Sorcery Point conversion or Paladin Divine Smites.
This is overpowered. Should definitely be a Legendary item or an artifact
Wizard spellbook is not considered know spells by rules, at least not if you take rules as intended. When something says "spells known or prepared" it mean spells you could cast right this moment if you were guaranteed a spell slot for it
Counterspell targets the caster of the spell, not the spell itself.
Yes.
As I interpret the item's description, it doesn't actually create/refill unused spell slots for the attuned spellcasting character to use later, but rather allows the wielder to cast spells "as normal" using the item's charges in place of their own slots immediately.
Nowhere in description does it state that the wielder can activate the item as any sort of action to create a spell slot, only that it can be used while casting a spell to replace their own spell slot usage.
But that's just my interpretation.
May One Dnd Paladin use smite with this magic item?
how do you get this?
Maybe I'm missing something... but there seem to be at least two conflicting interpretations on this item.
Nowhere does it say that casting spells using the energy stored within the rod depletes the amount of energy in the rod. But then how is the energy remaining in the rod monitored? If the rod is almost full (45 spell levels) does this mean I cast 9th level spells all day long since the energy in the rod never depletes? Could I only cast five 9th-level spells and that's it? Does burning the stored energy to create spell slots reduce both the energy stored and the storage capacity by the same amount (essentially burning down towards zero and an inert rod)?
OR....
Does converting the energy in the rod reduce the amount of energy stored within the rod, so that as long as you don't allow the energy to build up to 50 levels, you can burn it down, like a spell battery?
so it works like this:
Say you have 50 sheets of paper. Every time to absorb a leveled spell (no cantrips as they are not leveled), you fill in a number of sheets with ink equal to the level of the spell. You ALWAYS know how many paged are colored in.
Then say you wanna use those absorbed spell levels, you take the inked pages, and rip them out. You also always know how many are used.
It's 2 separate resources: let's say you have 14 levels absorbed, and used 3 levels for casting. It's 14/50 absorbed, and 3/14 used.
I have a question regarding the wording "a spell that is targeting *only* you and doesn't create an area of effect".
For example Tasha's Hideous Laughter is single target as a first level spell, but gains more targets when you up cast it. Does this mean that if you were the target of a second level THL, you wouldn't be able to absorb it, but you would if it was cast on you as a first level spell?
Yes you are thinking correctly