Ring, rare
You have Resistance to one damage type while wearing this ring. The gemstone in the ring indicates the type, which the DM chooses or determines randomly by rolling on the following table.
d10 | Damage Type | Gem |
---|---|---|
1 | Acid | Pearl |
2 | Cold | Tourmaline |
3 | Fire | Garnet |
4 | Force | Sapphire |
5 | Lightning | Citrine |
6 | Necrotic | Jet |
7 | Poison | Amethyst |
8 | Psychic | Jade |
9 | Radiant | Topaz |
10 | Thunder | Spinel |
Notes: Resistance: Acid, Resistance: Cold, Resistance: Fire, Resistance: Force, Resistance: Lightning, Resistance: Necrotic, Resistance: Poison, Resistance: Psychic, Resistance: Radiant, Resistance: Thunder, Warding, Jewelry
Is attunement no longer needed? Nice.
Attunement is no longer needed...and you can craft these with the new 2024 crafting rules.
10 fingers for 10 resistances, uh oh.
They are all technically "Rings of Resistance". The flavor text even goes so far to note that they are the same type of ring, but with different gemstones, which dictates the type of damage that is resisted.
As such, I would rule that you can only gain the benefits of ONE of them at a time, as per the standard rules regarding magic item stacking.
Just as you can't gain the benefits of (2) Rings of Protection, I'd rule that you can't gain the benefits of (2) Rings of Resistance.
Yes, it's a stretch, I get that, but this needs to be reigned in somehow...
Not a stretch in my eyes, and you're absolutely correct.
Yeah since they have their own entries you technically could use multiples. Main barrier is cost, and time.
You can’t get the benefit of 2 Rings of Protection because you can’t attune to two copies of the same item, Ring of Resistance do not require attunement.
You can rule it however you want if your games, but RAW they stack
You can only gain teh benefit of 2 rings at a time, IIRC.
Unfathomable that this has no attunement but armor of resistance does. Should be reversed.