While wearing this helm, you can use an action to cast the comprehend languages spell from it at will.
Notes: Communication, Headwear
This came up in a game recently, while a player is wearing this, do they 'know' what language is being spoken, or does the spell only grant understanding (ie everything it hears is translated into common)
That's a great question. I personally believe it should be up to the GMs discretion, but, I'd lean towards the PC not knowing what language it is if you want to keep it fair and balanced and all
Thank you for replying. In one instance, I'm the player and my DM ruled that it just comes to my character in common without knowledge of origin. I've DMed for another player where I described that the helm streams into your consciousness the translation of Orcish, Elvish, etc.
I was primarily wondering if there was an "official" answer, or errata. As there are situations where it's nice that the player doesn't know, and other situations where it's nice that the player DOES know.