Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
Self
Components
V, S
Duration
10 Minutes
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
Ranged
Damage/Effect
Fire
A flickering flame appears in your hand and remains there for the duration. While there, the flame emits no heat and ignites nothing, and it sheds Bright Light in a 20-foot radius and Dim Light for an additional 20 feet. The spell ends if you cast it again.
Until the spell ends, you can take a Magic action to hurl fire at a creature or an object within 60 feet of you. Make a ranged spell attack. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 Fire damage.
Cantrip Upgrade. The damage increases by 1d8 when you reach levels 5 (2d8), 11 (3d8), and 17 (4d8).
Now requires both your action and bonus action to use? Weird.
That's what I was just wondering? Looks like during that 10 minutes, though, you can keep shooting the fire as a magic action.
Now available for Druid *AND* Druid, huh?
There are enough of these bugs and errors in wording and design that it would be nice to have a quick way to report them.
Maybe the double Druid is for 2014 and 2024 Druid?
And you don't have to extinguish the light in order to shoot it. Furthermore, both the light radius and attack range have been doubled.
Does this mean you can throw “fire” as a magic action over and over again for 10min or would the spell extinguish after the first throw?
once you use a bonus action to set it up you have the light and every round for 10 minutes can use your action to hurl the fire as much as you want during that time
"Until the spell ends, you can take a Magic action to hurl fire at a creature or an object within 60 feet of you." Since the duration is 10 minutes I read that as you can throw fire for 10 minutes, while simultaneously essentially having a torch in your hand.
Folks, y'all are missing something here. You can't cast spells while wild-shaped, but there's nothing in the rules that says you can't take Magic actions.
This means you can cast Produce Flame outside of combat, wild-shape into something with forelimbs and keep making ranged spell attacks. Because your Wisdom stays the same in your new form, your attack bonus for this is probably better than whatever melee attacks the animal form has.
This isn't just an okay cantrip any more, it's now as good on a Druid as Eldritch Blast is on a Warlock. It means most wild-shapes now have a decent ranged attack in combat, at least for the first ten minutes you're in them.
Really good point. Also worth pointing out that the spell does not require concentration, so getting damaged can't take that ranged ability away from you, and you can also be concentrating on something else at the same time.
"While there, the flame emits no heat and ignites nothing..."
Would that mean the flame can ignite something flammable after hurling it?
Can you hold something with the hand in which the produce flame light is being emitted and still benefit from the light. I imagine produce flame as a flame covering your whole hand so it if my character is holding a staff with the produce flame hand, the light is still visible and since the flame does not ignite anything it is safe for the staff.
Sure, that seems pretty reasonable to me. The spell has a Somatic component, which means you need a hand not holding anything to actually cast the spell, but I don't see any reason you couldn't pick something up in that hand after you cast it.
Since it also says: "On a hit, the target takes 1d8 Fire damage." I believe it would be able to ignite something.
It will damage with fire, but it wont ignite it since lacks the description that firebolt has about igniting and spreading the fire. Meaning the hit is a fire damage, but those flames vanish after the hit, without igniting anything. For reference, all fire spells that can ignite stuff says the same phrase that produce flame dont have:
If a spell of fire lacks that sentence, then the fire dont spread or ignite anything, its just fire damage and thats all