Level
5th
Casting Time
1 Action
Ritual
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
1 Hour
School
Divination
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Communication
You forge a telepathic link among up to eight willing creatures of your choice within range, psychically linking each creature to all the others for the duration. Creatures that can’t communicate in any languages aren’t affected by this spell.
Until the spell ends, the targets can communicate telepathically through the bond whether or not they share a language. The communication is possible over any distance, though it can’t extend to other planes of existence.
* - (two eggs)
If it can understand but not speak a language, is it considered able to communicate in a language? If it can use telepathy itself but has no real languages, is it?
If they can understand but not speak, they cannot communicate in the way the spell wants you to. Additionally, Telepathic recipients and this spell work due to the rules in the 2024 PHB.
"Unless a rule states otherwise, the contacted creature doesn't need to share a language with the telepath to understand this communication, but the contacted creature must be able to understand at least one language or be telepathic itself to understand." PHB 2024 p. 376
Talk to your GM.