Level
2nd
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
60 ft.
(20 ft. )
Components
V, S
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Enchantment
Attack/Save
CHA Save
Damage/Effect
Charmed (...)
Each Humanoid in a 20-foot-radius Sphere centered on a point you choose within range must succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be affected by one of the following effects (choose for each creature):
- The creature has Immunity to the Charmed and Frightened conditions until the spell ends. If the creature was already Charmed or Frightened, those conditions are suppressed for the duration.
- The creature becomes Indifferent about creatures of your choice that it’s Hostile toward. This indifference ends if the target takes damage or witnesses its allies taking damage. When the spell ends, the creature’s attitude returns to normal.
This rebalance for Calm Emotions is excellent! Finally I can cast this on allies to cleanse them of mental effects without making them indifferent to who we are fighting. I just wish it had the stipulation that you can choose to fail the saving throw.
I’m pretty sure you can just generally chose to fail saves I don’t think the spell has to specifically say it. I’m not certain though.
Great re-work for 2024. My only gripe is no upcasting which makes it sad for Warlocks. Would be great if it increased the radius by 5ft per spell level upcast.
I don't understand why they insisted that this spell work only on Humanoids, at least according to the first sentence only. If there was a Druid/nature spell equivalent, I would understand... Why not have it work on animals or intelligent creatures, though maybe not on Aberrations, Celestials/Demons/Devils, Undead, etc.?
At least the spell specifies it is technically a Charm, so there is that precision.
nb: there was a spell called Calm Animals in 2e, 3e, and there is a Calm Beasts spell in Tome of Heroes (2022, by Kobold Press).
There is a general rule that you can always choose to fail a saving throw.
Small nitpick: technically, this spell does not remove conditions-it suppresses them for the spell's duration (1 minute). If the condition suppressed by this spell lasts longer than a minute, it returns after that duration expires.
While being suppressed, can allies still roll saving throws at the end of their turn to get rid of frightened/charmed (if stated in the charm/frightened spell)? Is there a rule for it or is it up to the DM?
I would say that, while under the effects of the calm emotions spell, whatever effect a creature is under is effectively not present. One would only save against an effect that is acting on them-meaning that saves to resist are not made while calm emotions is active on the creature. This is just based on my opinion as a DM as I have not been able to find an official ruling on the subject.
I hate that this only works on humanoids. Calming a bunch of beasts down seems like what this spell was made for, too. :.(
My players were chasing down a unicorn and I realized that the celestial from the Fay Wilds has a spell that can’t target other celestials or fay. For that reason, I don’t think it’s unreasonable for DMs or players to change the spell to target ALL humanoid creatures. Arguably, I think it should target all creatures in general, but that’s probably busted for a 2nd level spell.