You create a simulacrum of one Beast or Humanoid that is within 10 feet of you for the entire casting of the spell. You finish the casting by touching both the creature and a pile of ice or snow that is the same size as that creature, and the pile turns into the simulacrum, which is a creature. It uses the game statistics of the original creature at the time of casting, except it is a Construct, its Hit Point maximum is half as much, and it can’t cast this spell.
The simulacrum is Friendly to you and creatures you designate. It obeys your commands and acts on your turn in combat. The simulacrum can’t gain levels, and it can’t take Short or Long Rests.
If the simulacrum takes damage, the only way to restore its Hit Points is to repair it as you take a Long Rest, during which you expend components worth 100 GP per Hit Point restored. The simulacrum must stay within 5 feet of you for the repair.
The simulacrum lasts until it drops to 0 Hit Points, at which point it reverts to snow and melts away. If you cast this spell again, any simulacrum you created with this spell is instantly destroyed.
* - (powdered ruby worth 1,500+ GP, which the spell consumes)
No, because, in 5.24e, a spell is only eligible to be twinned if it can be upcast to target more than one creature.
No, it means they can cast it, but can't use it to replicate themselves. They'll just have to replicate someone/something else.
I would question if you can cast this on yourself. it specifically says one beast or humanoid within 10 feet, not self.
The only time anyone ever uses this spell is as part of casting Wish, and that breaks its entire intent because it makes it unlimited use. It should be a Level 9 spell or just be thrown in the garbage. It's so annoying to have my Level 17 sorcerer have a second Level 17 sorcerer tagging along with him every single day casting spells with sorcery points and using more attunement slots.
You are within 10 feet of yourself, so you can cast this on yourself.
However, the creature type restrictions do prevent certain playable species (e.g. Changelings) from using it on themselves.
2014 Rules stated that the simulacrum was is formed without any equipment.
Since this calls out that it uses the game statistics of the original creature at the time of casting, would it be correct to interpret as having the equipment of original??
I don't think so, no. Even though that line was removed from the spell description, it still says that the simulacrum is of a creature, not a creature and its equipment.
Equipment isn't "game statistics".
Based on reading, unless a magic item can be instantly attuned tune, via the quirk of SOME magic items. I don't think they can use anything like pearl of power, enspelled items, etc. Even though they recharge at DAWN, means nothing if the creature can't attune to the item. My assumption is that attunement, unless otherwise stated, is linked to Short rests generally? or am I missing something?
That's correct, because the rules on attunement specifically say you have to "spend a short rest" attuning to the item, and this says that a simulacrum can't take short rests. A simulacrum can still use magic items that don't require attunement.
If I, for fun, were to cast Borrowed Knowledge and give myself proficiency in perception, then Skill Empowerment to give myself expertise in perception, and finally cast Wish to make a simulacrum, would my simulacrum have permanent expertise in perception?
Since it says "game statistics of the original creature at the time of casting", I think that works. Though I think a DM could reasonably argue that "stats at the time of casting" includes the spell effects on it and say that those effects end on the simulacrum at the same time they end on the original.
I'm pretty sure that copying active spells, even if they expire at the normal time, would be exploitable in unpredictable ways. I don't have it off the top of my head, but duplicating some spell effects in this way might cause broken interactions.
I've actually used it as a seventh level spell in a game. We were level 14 and had a week of downtime
You can use Wish to cast this spell but the Simulacrum can't cast this spell so it can't use Wish to cast it. It can use Wish to ask for anything else though (for example it can wish for 25K gold).
Prayer of Healing grants the benefits of a Short Rest, so can a simulacrum attune to items if Prayer of Healing is used?