You create a wall of fire on a solid surface within range. You can make the wall up to 60 feet long, 20 feet high, and 1 foot thick, or a ringed wall up to 20 feet in diameter, 20 feet high, and 1 foot thick. The wall is opaque and lasts for the duration.
When the wall appears, each creature in its area makes a Dexterity saving throw, taking 5d8 Fire damage on a failed save or half as much damage on a successful one.
One side of the wall, selected by you when you cast this spell, deals 5d8 Fire damage to each creature that ends its turn within 10 feet of that side or inside the wall. A creature takes the same damage when it enters the wall for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there. The other side of the wall deals no damage.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. The damage increases by 1d8 for each spell slot level above 4.
* - (a piece of charcoal)
If the wall is Opaque does that mean that people outside can't see inside?
I assume so, I’d visualize it as a wall of intense fire that is too difficult to see through.
Does the spell only mention making a saving throw when the wall appears? Thus, the damage on following turns doesn't have a saving throw? Or am I reading that wrong? Cause 5d8 fire damage without any save is crazy strong and I *will* be abusing that if my DM allows. But balance wise, each instance of damage should include a saving throw RAI.
Yes, the saving throw is explicitly only for when the wall appears. All other instances of damage when the wall is in place just happen, no saving throw.
The point is that the wall damages things near it just by being there; it doesn't have to do anything that people could react to, so they don't get to make a saving throw.
"One side of the wall, selected by you when you cast this spell, deals 5d8 Fire damage to each creature that ends its turn within 10 feet of that side or inside the wall. A creature takes the same damage when it enters the wall for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there. The other side of the wall deals no damage."
I have a silly question. I've always played it that when you make contact with the wall that you must take damage. However, I recently played in a game where the creatures that were inside the ringed wall (damaging side) could just walk outside through the wall and not take damage.
I argued that breaching the wall from any direction incurs damage but there were some in my group that disagreed. How do you guys play this spell?
If you are working with this tricky to use spell as strictly RAW then:
The wall is 1 foot thick - it says you take damage when you enter that wall on your turn. (note that if you are dragged or shoved into or through it you only take damage if you haven't already taken damage on this turn)
- some folks might interpret "the wall" to be the whole 10+1 ft depth - this would imply that if you started your turn in it (having taken damage last turn) you could walk out through the wall and not take damage, since you only take it if you end your turn there. That would be incorrect and would only apply if you walked out through the open side. Going through the wall itself should still cause damage.
The damage gets dealt with no saving throw, except on the turn it appears.
Note that it only affects creatures. So here's a fun situation (2014 rules - I don't know if things have been tweaked):
A Roper. The wizard casts the circle version of Wall of Fire around the Roper with damage facing inwards. Roper (and anyone grappled by the Roper and within the circle) make dex saves for 5d8 / half.
Because it's opaque it can't be seen - so your other casters can't target it.
The roper attacks people outside the circle. It is at disadvantage because it can't see them. But they can't see the attacker so the attack is at advantage - therefore it's just a straight roll since they cancel out. The Roper reels the Barbarian into the fire - going through the wall, the Barbarian takes damage. Hopefully he can break the grapple because he will be stuck there in that wall fire at the end of each of his turns - depending on turn order he may or may not take damage the first turn he's in the wall. You might think that the Ropers Tendrils will get burnt - but they are not creatures, so they are not affected by the spell.
I am sure that this spell get interpreted different ways by DM's - this is just the strictly RAW interpretation.
You also can do this with heat metal