I'm new to playing this class and I have some clarifying questions that I need to ask.
Firstly, can I end an item infusion voluntarily, whether it is because my slots are full or I simply just want to get rid of the infusion because no one is using it for some strange reason?
Secondly, when replicating items, do I need to have the item first, or can I just make one? Like do I have to have a Bag of Holding in hand or at least someone in the party has it, or can I just freely make a Bag of Holding even if I've never come across one.
Thirdly, I haven't found any information on the cost of replicating items. Is there a certain amount of gold to create an item? Like if I wanted to make a Bag of Holding, do I have to have and expend the value of a Bag of Holding to create one? The magic item adept feature mentions time and gold, but that's it. Is it the value of the item and what does it mean by time?
Lastly, if it doesn't cost money to replicate these items, what's stopping me from simply replicating an item, selling it to a vendor, then unreplicate it? That would basically be free money and a huge exploit in any campaign.
I did think of another question. The rules state that I'm only allowed one infusion at a time. Does this apply to replicating items? Like can I make multiple Rings of Protection and multiple Cloaks of Protection or is there a limit of 1 until the infusion disappears?
The rules say that your infusions can only be in one object at a time, not that you're only allowed 1 infusion... so you can only use an infusion on one item at a time, this does apply to replicating items as well..... You can't make multiple rings of protection or cloaks of protection. You can make one of each as long as you don't exceed your maximum allowed infusions
it should be clarified one of each infusion up to your maximum number of active infusions probably. Because it's a little confusing the other way. Though I was able to decipher what you meant through the rest of it.
The rules say that your infusions can only be in one object at a time, not that you're only allowed 1 infusion... so you can only use an infusion on one item at a time, this does apply to replicating items as well..... You can't make multiple rings of protection or cloaks of protection. You can make one of each as long as you don't exceed your maximum allowed infusions
No, that's false. You can have multiple of the same infusion in existence. One of the best uses of an Artificer is pairs of bags of holding, which gives you a 10' radius Astral Plane implosion bomb that doesn't allow any sort of save, it just happens. That's a big ask since it consumes two infusions per day per bomb, but it can solve many otherwise unsolvable problems. In fact, one of the single most popular infusion uses is Enhanced Defense twice, once on the Artificer's armor and once on their shield. It's just plain false you can't repeat the same infusion multiple times into separate, distinct items.
EDIT: Above is false, I misread. You are correct. What I was thinking of was learning the same Replicate infusion multiple times, in order to have multiple of it out.
You can have multiple of the same infusion in existence. One of the best uses of an Artificer is pairs of bags of holding, which gives you a 10' radius Astral Plane implosion bomb that doesn't allow any sort of save, it just happens.
"...each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time" from the artificer rules. You would need two artificers to pull that trick off repeatedly.
You can have multiple of the same infusion in existence. One of the best uses of an Artificer is pairs of bags of holding, which gives you a 10' radius Astral Plane implosion bomb that doesn't allow any sort of save, it just happens.
"...each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time" from the artificer rules. You would need two artificers to pull that trick off repeatedly.
Sorry, you're right. Can't have Enhanced Defense out twice. You can have multiple bags of holding, though, since Replicate Magic Item can be learned multiple times, without a requirement that each time be a distinct item:
"Using this infusion, you replicate a particular magic item. You can learn this infusion multiple times; each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it, picking from the Replicable Items tables."
There's not been an official clarification on that (that I'm aware of), but that's not how it's generally interpreted. For example, if you select Replicate Magic Item on dndbeyond more than once, you can't choose the same item more than once.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all,
I'm new to playing this class and I have some clarifying questions that I need to ask.
Firstly, can I end an item infusion voluntarily, whether it is because my slots are full or I simply just want to get rid of the infusion because no one is using it for some strange reason?
Secondly, when replicating items, do I need to have the item first, or can I just make one? Like do I have to have a Bag of Holding in hand or at least someone in the party has it, or can I just freely make a Bag of Holding even if I've never come across one.
Thirdly, I haven't found any information on the cost of replicating items. Is there a certain amount of gold to create an item? Like if I wanted to make a Bag of Holding, do I have to have and expend the value of a Bag of Holding to create one? The magic item adept feature mentions time and gold, but that's it. Is it the value of the item and what does it mean by time?
Lastly, if it doesn't cost money to replicate these items, what's stopping me from simply replicating an item, selling it to a vendor, then unreplicate it? That would basically be free money and a huge exploit in any campaign.
Great info. Thanks.
I did think of another question. The rules state that I'm only allowed one infusion at a time. Does this apply to replicating items? Like can I make multiple Rings of Protection and multiple Cloaks of Protection or is there a limit of 1 until the infusion disappears?
it should be clarified one of each infusion up to your maximum number of active infusions probably. Because it's a little confusing the other way. Though I was able to decipher what you meant through the rest of it.
No, that's false. You can have multiple of the same infusion in existence. One of the best uses of an Artificer is pairs of bags of holding, which gives you a 10' radius Astral Plane implosion bomb that doesn't allow any sort of save, it just happens. That's a big ask since it consumes two infusions per day per bomb, but it can solve many otherwise unsolvable problems. In fact, one of the single most popular infusion uses is Enhanced Defense twice, once on the Artificer's armor and once on their shield. It's just plain false you can't repeat the same infusion multiple times into separate, distinct items.
EDIT: Above is false, I misread. You are correct. What I was thinking of was learning the same Replicate infusion multiple times, in order to have multiple of it out.
"...each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time" from the artificer rules. You would need two artificers to pull that trick off repeatedly.
Sorry, you're right. Can't have Enhanced Defense out twice. You can have multiple bags of holding, though, since Replicate Magic Item can be learned multiple times, without a requirement that each time be a distinct item:
"Using this infusion, you replicate a particular magic
item. You can learn this infusion multiple times;
each time you do so, choose a magic item that you
can make with it, picking from the Replicable Items
tables."
There's not been an official clarification on that (that I'm aware of), but that's not how it's generally interpreted. For example, if you select Replicate Magic Item on dndbeyond more than once, you can't choose the same item more than once.