How does everyone here play Ghost Lanterns? A restless spirit is trapped inside this lantern. While holding the lantern, you can command the spirit as a bonus action to shed bright light in a 30-foot radius and dim light for an additional 30 feet.
While holding the lantern, you can use an action to order the spirit to leave the lantern and duplicate the effect of the Mage Hand spell. The spirit returns to the lantern when the spell ends.
If you fall unconscious within 10 feet of the lantern, the spirit emerges from it, magically stabilizes you with a touch, and then quickly returns to the lantern.
The spirit is bound to the lantern and can't be harmed, turned, or raised from the dead. Casting a Dispel Evil and Good spell on the lantern releases the spirit to the afterlife and renders the lantern nonmagical.
When looking around online, can only find Crawford saying you don't make death saving throws while unconscious. Now, it was a short tweet, could be ever or could mean, just the first time you fall down. But, the other question is, if it is in the entirety of being unconscious, what about when you are hit?
sfPanzer hit the nail on the head. Only thing I would say is if I was DM I would have it work any time you need to be stabilized and ignore the fact that if you were already unconscious and was hit , it would stabilize you even though you aren’t technically “falling unconscious” since you already are. But DM’s May vary
There's no limit on how often it stabilizes you. As long as it's trapped inside the lantern and the lantern is within 10 feet of you it'll stabilize you whenever you go unconscious. (though one could argue that if you're unconscious and become unstable again without regaining consciousness first the lantern RAW wouldn't activate)
Not sure what you mean with your second question?
When you get hit while being at 0 hit points, stabilized or not, you suffer a death saving throw failure (keep in mind that while you're unconscious any attack that hits you from an attacker within 5 feet is an automatic crit and a crit is two death saving throw failures instead of just one). Once you get hit this way you would stop being stable, however the lantern would immediately activate and stabilize you again. This doesn't remove your 1-2 death saving throw failures you suffered at this point but it will stop you from having to roll and possibly fail them yourself (again, one could argue that RAW the lantern doesn't activate since you aren't falling unconscious when you already are unconscious to begin with).
This is all perfectly well explained in the Player's Handbook though. If you have questions about such a basic rule I suggest giving it a read.
I know the general rule for death saving throws and all that jazz, it was as you stated, RAW does say when you are knocked unconscious so there is that and then the hit says you suffer auto-failure death saving throws. Some have stated it still requires a throw, it is just auto fail, for then the lantern negates it, because it doesn't allow throws. Going based off Crawfords words.
Hello,
How does everyone here play Ghost Lanterns?
A restless spirit is trapped inside this lantern. While holding the lantern, you can command the spirit as a bonus action to shed bright light in a 30-foot radius and dim light for an additional 30 feet.
While holding the lantern, you can use an action to order the spirit to leave the lantern and duplicate the effect of the Mage Hand spell. The spirit returns to the lantern when the spell ends.
If you fall unconscious within 10 feet of the lantern, the spirit emerges from it, magically stabilizes you with a touch, and then quickly returns to the lantern.
The spirit is bound to the lantern and can't be harmed, turned, or raised from the dead. Casting a Dispel Evil and Good spell on the lantern releases the spirit to the afterlife and renders the lantern nonmagical.
When looking around online, can only find Crawford saying you don't make death saving throws while unconscious. Now, it was a short tweet, could be ever or could mean, just the first time you fall down. But, the other question is, if it is in the entirety of being unconscious, what about when you are hit?
sfPanzer hit the nail on the head. Only thing I would say is if I was DM I would have it work any time you need to be stabilized and ignore the fact that if you were already unconscious and was hit , it would stabilize you even though you aren’t technically “falling unconscious” since you already are. But DM’s May vary
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I know the general rule for death saving throws and all that jazz, it was as you stated, RAW does say when you are knocked unconscious so there is that and then the hit says you suffer auto-failure death saving throws. Some have stated it still requires a throw, it is just auto fail, for then the lantern negates it, because it doesn't allow throws. Going based off Crawfords words.