I'm a bit hazy on the rules for the Artificer Infusion "Returning Weapon" which states "This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder's hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack."
If I was to infuse a dagger I owned with Returning Weapon, then used it in combination with the 1st Level Spell "Catapult", would the dagger then return to my character? Is it technically being used to make a ranged attack? Instead of throwing it manually, it is being magically thrown at a target.
I would assume that since the damage comes from the spell not the item being thrown, the +1 bonus to attack and damage would not count either?
Or would all this depend on the DM and their interpretation of the rules?
"Making an attack" of any kind means making an attack roll - that is, rolling a d20 + modifier vs. a target's AC. RAW, catapult does not include an attack roll and so the dagger wouldn't return. The DM can rule otherwise, but that's how it officially works.
Speaking of which, RAW flinging a dagger by casting catapult would only deal the base 3d8 damage, nothing additional for being a dagger. But again, the DM can rule otherwise.
I'm a bit hazy on the rules for the Artificer Infusion "Returning Weapon" which states "This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder's hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack."
If I was to infuse a dagger I owned with Returning Weapon, then used it in combination with the 1st Level Spell "Catapult", would the dagger then return to my character? Is it technically being used to make a ranged attack? Instead of throwing it manually, it is being magically thrown at a target.
I would assume that since the damage comes from the spell not the item being thrown, the +1 bonus to attack and damage would not count either?
Or would all this depend on the DM and their interpretation of the rules?
Thanks for the help and advice in advance.
"Making an attack" of any kind means making an attack roll - that is, rolling a d20 + modifier vs. a target's AC. RAW, catapult does not include an attack roll and so the dagger wouldn't return. The DM can rule otherwise, but that's how it officially works.
Speaking of which, RAW flinging a dagger by casting catapult would only deal the base 3d8 damage, nothing additional for being a dagger. But again, the DM can rule otherwise.