I know that monsters don't "have" to follow the same rules as players like having their save DCs, hit mods, save mods, and skill mods based off their ability scores and proficiency bonus or have the same number of spell slots and prepared spells as a player of the same spellcasting level, but they do 99.x% of the time, so the less than 1% of the time where they seem to break the rule it seems like a mistake.
In the acolyte's case, it could have been a level 2 spellcaster with 1 more spell and the same number of slots.
The thing that makes it seem accidental, is why give it a specific spellcaster level and then make it different than any other spellcaster of that level? They could have skipped straight to "has the following cleric spells prepared," and I wouldn't have given a second glance. But they intentionally assigned a set of expectations to that monster, then did something else.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The acolyte is a first level spellcaster, but it has 3 level 1 spell slots. A first level spellcaster should have 2 level 1 spell slots.
(Not sure if this is a DDB or WotC typo)
It is so in the printed Monster Manual as well.
Maybe they will notice it before the next round of erratas.
It's a monster and doesn't have to follow the player character class rules, so it's unlikely that it's "wrong".
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I know that monsters don't "have" to follow the same rules as players like having their save DCs, hit mods, save mods, and skill mods based off their ability scores and proficiency bonus or have the same number of spell slots and prepared spells as a player of the same spellcasting level, but they do 99.x% of the time, so the less than 1% of the time where they seem to break the rule it seems like a mistake.
In the acolyte's case, it could have been a level 2 spellcaster with 1 more spell and the same number of slots.
The thing that makes it seem accidental, is why give it a specific spellcaster level and then make it different than any other spellcaster of that level? They could have skipped straight to "has the following cleric spells prepared," and I wouldn't have given a second glance. But they intentionally assigned a set of expectations to that monster, then did something else.