If I make a bag of holding one day, does that mean I can make another bag of holding after a long rest and have two bags of holding, or do I lose the first one?
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
the only way you can achieve that with this feature is if you took "Replicate Magic Item: Bag of Holding" twice, taking up two of your known infusions. then you can have up to two bags at once at the end of a long rest.
the only way you can achieve that with this feature is if you took "Replicate Magic Item: Bag of Holding" twice, taking up two of your known infusions. then you can have up to two bags at once at the end of a long rest.
Note: the ability to do that isn't clear, and many DMs may not support it --- the RAW arguably prevents it. (Also, it's not supported in dndbeyond; you can't buy the same one twice.)
the only way you can achieve that with this feature is if you took "Replicate Magic Item: Bag of Holding" twice, taking up two of your known infusions. then you can have up to two bags at once at the end of a long rest.
Note: the ability to do that isn't clear, and many DMs may not support it --- the RAW arguably prevents it. (Also, it's not supported in dndbeyond; you can't buy the same one twice.)
I'd say the RAW is unclear personally; Replicate Item overrules the normal limitation on infusions by enabling you to take it more than once, however it places no restrictions on the item you can replicate (it does not say you can only choose items that you haven't already replicated).
Given the normal limitations of infusion though I think Rules As Intended is probably that you can't replicate the same item more than once, as all other infusions are unique, so it seems reasonable that replicate item should also be unique (but by item, rather than by infusion). Could definitely do with clarification though, and there's definitely wiggle room for the DM to allow it if you're not taking too many liberties with it.
We'd have to get one of the DDB developers to weigh in whether they sought clarification while implementing this on the character sheet (i.e- implemented form is correct), or if it was just what they decided to do (could be incorrect).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I'd say the RAW is unclear personally; Replicate Item overrules the normal limitation on infusions by enabling you to take it more than once, however it places no restrictions on the item you can replicate (it does not say you can only choose items that you haven't already replicated).
Given the normal limitations of infusion though I think Rules As Intended is probably that you can't replicate the same item more than once, as all other infusions are unique, so it seems reasonable that replicate item should also be unique (but by item, rather than by infusion). Could definitely do with clarification though, and there's definitely wiggle room for the DM to allow it if you're not taking too many liberties with it.
I think the key bit of RAW is "each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time." If you could somehow have the same infusion (Replicate Item (Bag of Holding) for example) more than once, you still can't use it more than once. Kinda like how, if your class and background each give you the same skill proficiency, they don't automatically stack into expertise...
I think the key bit of RAW is "each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time." If you could somehow have the same infusion (Replicate Item (Bag of Holding) for example) more than once, you still can't use it more than once. Kinda like how, if your class and background each give you the same skill proficiency, they don't automatically stack into expertise...
This wouldn't prevent it; if you can take replicate item twice with the same magic item type, then you'd have two separate infusions (that just happen to do the same thing), you could apply each one to a separate item, but couldn't apply both to the same item.
In other words, an Artificer has a number of infusions known, and a number of these can be active at once. Any number of these can be replicate item, and if you can have multiple replicate item infusions known for the same item type, then you can infuse multiple items to become items of that type.
The part you're quoting seems more about preventing more than one infusion being placed upon a single item, or the same infusion choice being used on multiple items. But again, replicate item overrules the normal infusion restriction; you can know and activate more than one replicate item infusion at once. You can definitely use this to infuse several items as several different magic items, the question mark is whether you can take multiple infusions for the same item type, and thus infuse several items to be the same.
Anyway, all I'm saying is that it could do with being clarified; I'm not using copies of replicate item and probably wouldn't allow it personally.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Anyway, all I'm saying is that it could do with being clarified; I'm not using copies of replicate item and probably wouldn't allow it personally.
Yes, of course.
(All I'm trying to present is that there is a RAW interpretation that forbids this, as well. I understand that the RAW if fuzzy and can be interpreted in multiple ways, but I see no reason for us to be trying to knock down other interpretations when we agree on the RAI. Like most RAW arguments, this is really a semantic dispute, which is always ridiculous in a system intentionally written in common english, like 5e.)
I'd say the RAW is unclear personally; Replicate Item overrules the normal limitation on infusions by enabling you to take it more than once, however it places no restrictions on the item you can replicate (it does not say you can only choose items that you haven't already replicated).
Given the normal limitations of infusion though I think Rules As Intended is probably that you can't replicate the same item more than once, as all other infusions are unique, so it seems reasonable that replicate item should also be unique (but by item, rather than by infusion). Could definitely do with clarification though, and there's definitely wiggle room for the DM to allow it if you're not taking too many liberties with it.
I think the key bit of RAW is "each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time." If you could somehow have the same infusion (Replicate Item (Bag of Holding) for example) more than once, you still can't use it more than once. Kinda like how, if your class and background each give you the same skill proficiency, they don't automatically stack into expertise...
I believe you are kind of seeing infusions incorrectly. Infusions are not like skill proficiency. Skill Profs affect one thing and one thing only. This drugs makes you strong, so does this one, even though it's a different drug, it's effects do the same.
Infusions are more like guns. I have two guns that are identical, but they are still two separate guns. Two independant guns. I fire both guns separately. That is what infusions are like. Majority of infusions are I can only have one of that gun. Replicate infusion, I can have multiples of that gun. Each infusion of replicate item is a separate independent infusion, the item of choice doesn't make it that way, simply being another infusion makes it that way.
"Using this infusion, you replicate a particular magic item. You can learn this infusion multiple times; each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it, picking from the Replicable Items tables. A table’s title tells you the level you must be in the class to choose an item from the table. Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls." ---- No where in here states I can't pick the same magic item that is listed on the table I get to choose from. I use a completely brand new/different infusion slot to fill said slot with the replicate item infusion and I choose the same item I wish to replicate with the brand new/different slot.
I would agree that ROI, would be that you can't replicate 2 BoHs out of nowhere and just create dimension bombs, starting at lv 2. First you'd need a boat load of "bags" to create said BoHs and why would any DM allow that? If it was a smart DM, you would have it create a situation that hurts that party and the same party enforces the rules you want to enforce yourself, no BoH bombs, without saying anything.
If I make a bag of holding one day, does that mean I can make another bag of holding after a long rest and have two bags of holding, or do I lose the first one?
From the infusion part of the class....
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
the only way you can achieve that with this feature is if you took "Replicate Magic Item: Bag of Holding" twice, taking up two of your known infusions. then you can have up to two bags at once at the end of a long rest.
Note: the ability to do that isn't clear, and many DMs may not support it --- the RAW arguably prevents it. (Also, it's not supported in dndbeyond; you can't buy the same one twice.)
I'd say the RAW is unclear personally; Replicate Item overrules the normal limitation on infusions by enabling you to take it more than once, however it places no restrictions on the item you can replicate (it does not say you can only choose items that you haven't already replicated).
Given the normal limitations of infusion though I think Rules As Intended is probably that you can't replicate the same item more than once, as all other infusions are unique, so it seems reasonable that replicate item should also be unique (but by item, rather than by infusion). Could definitely do with clarification though, and there's definitely wiggle room for the DM to allow it if you're not taking too many liberties with it.
We'd have to get one of the DDB developers to weigh in whether they sought clarification while implementing this on the character sheet (i.e- implemented form is correct), or if it was just what they decided to do (could be incorrect).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I think the key bit of RAW is "each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time." If you could somehow have the same infusion (Replicate Item (Bag of Holding) for example) more than once, you still can't use it more than once. Kinda like how, if your class and background each give you the same skill proficiency, they don't automatically stack into expertise...
This wouldn't prevent it; if you can take replicate item twice with the same magic item type, then you'd have two separate infusions (that just happen to do the same thing), you could apply each one to a separate item, but couldn't apply both to the same item.
In other words, an Artificer has a number of infusions known, and a number of these can be active at once. Any number of these can be replicate item, and if you can have multiple replicate item infusions known for the same item type, then you can infuse multiple items to become items of that type.
The part you're quoting seems more about preventing more than one infusion being placed upon a single item, or the same infusion choice being used on multiple items. But again, replicate item overrules the normal infusion restriction; you can know and activate more than one replicate item infusion at once. You can definitely use this to infuse several items as several different magic items, the question mark is whether you can take multiple infusions for the same item type, and thus infuse several items to be the same.
Anyway, all I'm saying is that it could do with being clarified; I'm not using copies of replicate item and probably wouldn't allow it personally.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Yes, of course.
(All I'm trying to present is that there is a RAW interpretation that forbids this, as well. I understand that the RAW if fuzzy and can be interpreted in multiple ways, but I see no reason for us to be trying to knock down other interpretations when we agree on the RAI. Like most RAW arguments, this is really a semantic dispute, which is always ridiculous in a system intentionally written in common english, like 5e.)
I believe you are kind of seeing infusions incorrectly. Infusions are not like skill proficiency. Skill Profs affect one thing and one thing only. This drugs makes you strong, so does this one, even though it's a different drug, it's effects do the same.
Infusions are more like guns. I have two guns that are identical, but they are still two separate guns. Two independant guns. I fire both guns separately. That is what infusions are like. Majority of infusions are I can only have one of that gun. Replicate infusion, I can have multiples of that gun. Each infusion of replicate item is a separate independent infusion, the item of choice doesn't make it that way, simply being another infusion makes it that way.
"Using this infusion, you replicate a particular magic item. You can learn this infusion multiple times; each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it, picking from the Replicable Items tables. A table’s title tells you the level you must be in the class to choose an item from the table. Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls." ---- No where in here states I can't pick the same magic item that is listed on the table I get to choose from. I use a completely brand new/different infusion slot to fill said slot with the replicate item infusion and I choose the same item I wish to replicate with the brand new/different slot.
I would agree that ROI, would be that you can't replicate 2 BoHs out of nowhere and just create dimension bombs, starting at lv 2. First you'd need a boat load of "bags" to create said BoHs and why would any DM allow that? If it was a smart DM, you would have it create a situation that hurts that party and the same party enforces the rules you want to enforce yourself, no BoH bombs, without saying anything.
Thanks everyone , this helps