I am curious as to how exactly the infusions work with the armorer armour.
I am making a level 3 artificer character and want to infuse his thunder gauntlets with +1 to hit & damage - will I infuse the entire armour set, thus giving it to both hands? (I am multiclassing into fighter for dual wielding and going for a pugilist character so this is very relevant!)
I see that the level 9 armorer ability means I cannot give +1 armour and +1 to attack until then, but does the +1 to attacks count as both hands, or just one?
"Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it"
I'm not seeing how to not read this as 2 separate weapons requiring 2 infusions. Especially since weapon infusions need to be put on a weapon, not armor.
Keep in mind that you'd also technically need the dual wielder feat since the gauntlets don't have the "light" characteristic.
I thought that as well - built an entire character around it too. Then I saw the level 9 ability:
Armor Modifications
At 9th level, you learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions, and the infusions transfer over if you change your armor's model with the Armor Model feature. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your Arcane Armor.
Which implies that the armour is, until this point, one piece - and it also keeps the gauntlets together even then as a single special weapon!
I as a DM would rule them as being one item, that "counts as" a weapon for each of your hands. While I would require the Dual Wielder feat to dual wield those weapons, I'd rule that one infusion counts for both. I don't think there will be a definitive answer to this, so I'd go with DM fiat.
I think it's fairly safe to assume that the Armorer thunder gauntlets are intended to be a single weapon that can be wielded as if they were two.
The Armor Model feature states: "Each model includes a special weapon" (singular), and that special weapon is given for the Guardian armor as "Thunder Gauntlets", so it's a pair of gauntlets constituting "a special weapon".
The 9th-level Armor Modifications feature then allows you to separately infuse your armour's "special weapon", which is the pair of thunder gauntlets.
In practice this only actually matters if you take the Dual Wielder feat, as you can attack to full effect using just a single gauntlet (gauntlet + shield is a great combo for a non-Dual Wielder) as the gauntlets aren't eligible for two-weapon fighting without that feat (as they're not light weapons).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I thought that as well - built an entire character around it too. Then I saw the level 9 ability:
Armor Modifications
At 9th level, you learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions, and the infusions transfer over if you change your armor's model with the Armor Model feature. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your Arcane Armor.
Which implies that the armour is, until this point, one piece - and it also keeps the gauntlets together even then as a single special weapon!
The issue is that if you are trying to use that infusion on a single item then that item would be the "armor", and weapon infusions can't be used on armor.
The problem is that weapon infusions have the requirement of "A simple or martial weapon"
I'm pretty sure "counts as a simple weapon" means those gauntlets are counted a weapon an can therefore be infused with weapon type infusions (as long as they match other prerequisites).
The problem is that weapon infusions have the requirement of "A simple or martial weapon"
Typically specific beats general, and in this case I would say that the specific rule is the 9th-level Armor Modifications which enables you to place a weapon infusion on your armour's "special weapon", which in this is case is a pair of thunder gauntlets.
Armorer is however a classic example of rules that needed a lot more play-testing and clarification; there are so many obvious problems that should have been addressed before release, or fixed in errata afterwards.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The problem is that weapon infusions have the requirement of "A simple or martial weapon"
Typically specific beats general, and in this case I would say that the specific rule is the 9th-level Armor Modifications which enables you to place a weapon infusion on your armour's "special weapon", which in this is case is a pair of thunder gauntlets.
Armorer is however a classic example of rules that needed a lot more play-testing and clarification; there are so many obvious problems that should have been addressed before release, or fixed in errata afterwards.
I think you are misunderstanding my point. The gauntlets count as simple weapons, I'm not saying you can't infuse them.
What I'm saying is that you can't just infuse your armor as a single item and have it effect both your gauntlets. 1 Because you can't put weapon infusions on armor 2 It specifically says "Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon". That makes it as clear as possible that they are considered individual weapons.
The OP asked if you could infuse the armor and have it effect both hands since the gauntlets are part of the armor, and it seems pretty clear that the answer is no.
pre-level-9, you can only put one infusion on your arcane armor, and only if the armor isn't magical on its own.
RAI, you can probably choose an armor infusion, a helmet infusion, a (suitable) weapon infusion, or a boots infusion, and it only affects the right part (one weapon gauntlet, if you so choose).
It would be reasonable for a DM to rule that, pre-level 9, you could only apply an armor infusion. RAW is a little ambiguous.
It would (also) be reasonable for a DM to rule that magic armor doesn't necessarily translate to magic helm/boots/gauntlets, so you could still apply an appropriate infusion to one of those parts, alone.
post-level-9, you can apply multiple infusions to the armor, one to each part. To get both gauntlet weapons, you need 2 infusions (and even if you're not dual weilding, having two different weapon infusions you can choose between might be worthwhile).
If the armor is already a magic item, you still (probably) can't apply an armor infusion to it.
It would be reasonable for a DM to rule that magic armor doesn't necessarily translate to magic helm/boots/gauntlets, so you could apply appropriate infusions to those parts, still.
Everything I wrote up, there, is pretty complex and difficult to sort out. Which is almost certainly why they didn't write it all out explicitly, and left it to DM rulings.
I'm playing as a artificer for the first time, and I'm the artilerist sub class I'm curious if I can infuse lets say thunder wave or shield into my armor 🤔 I'm also lvl 4 atm I'm just wondering what type of things I am able to do as artificer
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am curious as to how exactly the infusions work with the armorer armour.
I am making a level 3 artificer character and want to infuse his thunder gauntlets with +1 to hit & damage - will I infuse the entire armour set, thus giving it to both hands? (I am multiclassing into fighter for dual wielding and going for a pugilist character so this is very relevant!)
I see that the level 9 armorer ability means I cannot give +1 armour and +1 to attack until then, but does the +1 to attacks count as both hands, or just one?
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
"Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it"
I'm not seeing how to not read this as 2 separate weapons requiring 2 infusions. Especially since weapon infusions need to be put on a weapon, not armor.
Keep in mind that you'd also technically need the dual wielder feat since the gauntlets don't have the "light" characteristic.
I thought that as well - built an entire character around it too. Then I saw the level 9 ability:
Armor Modifications
At 9th level, you learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions, and the infusions transfer over if you change your armor's model with the Armor Model feature. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your Arcane Armor.
Which implies that the armour is, until this point, one piece - and it also keeps the gauntlets together even then as a single special weapon!
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
I as a DM would rule them as being one item, that "counts as" a weapon for each of your hands. While I would require the Dual Wielder feat to dual wield those weapons, I'd rule that one infusion counts for both. I don't think there will be a definitive answer to this, so I'd go with DM fiat.
I think it's fairly safe to assume that the Armorer thunder gauntlets are intended to be a single weapon that can be wielded as if they were two.
The Armor Model feature states: "Each model includes a special weapon" (singular), and that special weapon is given for the Guardian armor as "Thunder Gauntlets", so it's a pair of gauntlets constituting "a special weapon".
The 9th-level Armor Modifications feature then allows you to separately infuse your armour's "special weapon", which is the pair of thunder gauntlets.
In practice this only actually matters if you take the Dual Wielder feat, as you can attack to full effect using just a single gauntlet (gauntlet + shield is a great combo for a non-Dual Wielder) as the gauntlets aren't eligible for two-weapon fighting without that feat (as they're not light weapons).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The issue is that if you are trying to use that infusion on a single item then that item would be the "armor", and weapon infusions can't be used on armor.
The problem is that weapon infusions have the requirement of "A simple or martial weapon"
I'm pretty sure "counts as a simple weapon" means those gauntlets are counted a weapon an can therefore be infused with weapon type infusions (as long as they match other prerequisites).
Typically specific beats general, and in this case I would say that the specific rule is the 9th-level Armor Modifications which enables you to place a weapon infusion on your armour's "special weapon", which in this is case is a pair of thunder gauntlets.
Armorer is however a classic example of rules that needed a lot more play-testing and clarification; there are so many obvious problems that should have been addressed before release, or fixed in errata afterwards.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I think you are misunderstanding my point. The gauntlets count as simple weapons, I'm not saying you can't infuse them.
What I'm saying is that you can't just infuse your armor as a single item and have it effect both your gauntlets.
1 Because you can't put weapon infusions on armor
2 It specifically says "Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon". That makes it as clear as possible that they are considered individual weapons.
The OP asked if you could infuse the armor and have it effect both hands since the gauntlets are part of the armor, and it seems pretty clear that the answer is no.
I think:
Everything I wrote up, there, is pretty complex and difficult to sort out. Which is almost certainly why they didn't write it all out explicitly, and left it to DM rulings.
I'm playing as a artificer for the first time, and I'm the artilerist sub class I'm curious if I can infuse lets say thunder wave or shield into my armor 🤔 I'm also lvl 4 atm I'm just wondering what type of things I am able to do as artificer