With the new 2024 artificier rules Rock Gnomes are learning twice the Mending cantrip, meaning that you are losing one innitial free cantrip since not the specie or the class specify that if you already know the cantrip, you learn a new different one. Considering that with the rules of 2014 one the gnome or the artificier was granting that Mending Cantrip, it looks like as this is a non intentional overlap. May this be something to be corrected later in sage advice & errata?
My DM gave me a free cantrip from Artificer to make up for it. I'm sure that would happen on a lot of tables. Generally when Background, Class, Species duplicate a spell or skill I think players should be able to replace it within reason.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
With the new 2024 artificier rules Rock Gnomes are learning twice the Mending cantrip, meaning that you are losing one innitial free cantrip since not the specie or the class specify that if you already know the cantrip, you learn a new different one.
Considering that with the rules of 2014 one the gnome or the artificier was granting that Mending Cantrip, it looks like as this is a non intentional overlap.
May this be something to be corrected later in sage advice & errata?
It's possible, but I doubt it. Other cases where this kind of thing happens with specifically granted cantrips typically haven't had any exceptions.
pronouns: he/she/they
My DM gave me a free cantrip from Artificer to make up for it. I'm sure that would happen on a lot of tables. Generally when Background, Class, Species duplicate a spell or skill I think players should be able to replace it within reason.