1) From what I understood of the rule for the free elixir, I would only roll on the d6 at the time of the consumption of the free elixir. From this, I thought that the free elixir is completely a random surprise potion that the effect is unknown until it's fully consumed. Is this correct?
2) Now I was told, I can actually roll the d6 as soon as the free elixir is made because there is the rule that tasting the potion will let the taster know what the potion does. Which means the free elixir is only random at creation and I could use its effect at the appropriate time. is this correct?
3) or is the wording for the free elixir rule mean that even if someone tasted it to roll the d6 to determine the effect, you will still have to roll another d6 at the time of consumption for the actual applied effect?
Beginning at 3rd level, whenever you finish a long rest, you can magically produce an experimental elixir in an empty flask you touch. Roll on the Experimental Elixir table for the elixir's effect, which is triggered when someone drinks the elixir.
You roll when you create the elixir which is when you finish a long rest. You determine the effect then. The effect is only triggered when someone drinks the elixir. Nothing states that the effect is unknown before then.
I came in with the same question. The RAW sure do not say you have any idea what you've just made, and the "experimental" in the name of the ability reinforces that you do not. It sounds like an experiment you've just mixed up and now you're going to give it to somebody and see what happens.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1) From what I understood of the rule for the free elixir, I would only roll on the d6 at the time of the consumption of the free elixir. From this, I thought that the free elixir is completely a random surprise potion that the effect is unknown until it's fully consumed. Is this correct?
2) Now I was told, I can actually roll the d6 as soon as the free elixir is made because there is the rule that tasting the potion will let the taster know what the potion does. Which means the free elixir is only random at creation and I could use its effect at the appropriate time. is this correct?
3) or is the wording for the free elixir rule mean that even if someone tasted it to roll the d6 to determine the effect, you will still have to roll another d6 at the time of consumption for the actual applied effect?
Thanks in advance.
Experimental Elixir:
You roll when you create the elixir which is when you finish a long rest. You determine the effect then. The effect is only triggered when someone drinks the elixir. Nothing states that the effect is unknown before then.
I came in with the same question. The RAW sure do not say you have any idea what you've just made, and the "experimental" in the name of the ability reinforces that you do not. It sounds like an experiment you've just mixed up and now you're going to give it to somebody and see what happens.