So there are some rules at table we came across and we are a bit confused about them. I play Eldritch knight with feats mentioned below, he wields Battleaxe and Trident.
Thrown Weapon Fighting
You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon.
In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.
Weapon Bond
You can perform a 1 hour ritual to create a magical bond between yourself and one weapon.
Once completed, you can't be disarmed of the weapon unless you are incapacitated, and you can summon it as a bonus action to your hand (if it's on the same plane of existence).
(the full description also states it appears in hand instantly, as I remeber)
You can have up to two bonded weapons.
Dual Wielder
You add a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand, can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light, and can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
My question is, would you consider instant teleport as drawing a weapon so Thrown Weapon fighting style drawing rule would apply? We mostly agreed that it is the same thing. However do you think it is too OP to allow it every attack? ...turn the trident into crappy bow with infitine ammo?
While doing it, can I also summon Battleaxe (but not use it)? This is something we didn't ever came across (unless surprised or something we can draw our weapons for free on the first round), but I wonder...
Also, thanks to an HB magic item, we have to solve the riddle of the extra opportunity attack:
Runic Whetstone (the item)
For 10 minutes, you can sharpen a bladed weapon to enchant it for 1 hour. Whetstone has 3 uses.
Effect: You may make an additional attack of opportunity each round.
War Caster
You have advantage on CON saving throws that you make to maintain your concentration on a spell when you take damage. You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands.
You can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action and targets only that creature.
War Magic
Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action.
Would you allow to cast 2 spells as a reaction with the item's enchantment (Booming Blade, to be specific)? This seems a bit OP even for me who plays the character, but seriously, I'd rather cast 1 Booming Blade than make 2 attacks. Also to consider, it is limited-use magic item... If you would not allow it, would you allow the War Magic mechanics to apply?
Rules, powers, spells, etc. do only what they say they do. So, the answer to most all of your questions is”No.”
summoning a weapon and drawing a weapon are not interchangeable. You summon as a bonus action, as the power clearly states. Drawing a weapon is either a free item interaction, or an action. In no case is it a bonus action. (Side note, do not think of a bonus action as like a lesser action and you could substitute one for the other. They are two separate pools and do not mix.) There is an item called a Dwarven Thrower. You might look at it for ideas about how to recall a thrown weapon for multiple uses.
Unless you have the dual wielder feat, you can only draw one weapon for free.
Your homebrew item is complicated. It’s poorly worded in that an OA is not something you can do by itself. You have 1 reaction per round, and one way to use that is through an opportunity attack. Allowing extra uses is incredibly powerful (it’s a very high level power for a cavalier fighter). The wording here is poor and confusing as it conflicts with RAW. But under no circumstance can you cast two spells as a single reaction. But really, you need to discuss this with the person who made the item and figure it out with them.
Casting booming blade as a reaction, sure, go nuts. But only one cast. And there’s no way you get 2 attacks from one reaction.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So there are some rules at table we came across and we are a bit confused about them. I play Eldritch knight with feats mentioned below, he wields Battleaxe and Trident.
Thrown Weapon Fighting
Weapon Bond
Dual Wielder
My question is, would you consider instant teleport as drawing a weapon so Thrown Weapon fighting style drawing rule would apply? We mostly agreed that it is the same thing. However do you think it is too OP to allow it every attack? ...turn the trident into crappy bow with infitine ammo?
While doing it, can I also summon Battleaxe (but not use it)? This is something we didn't ever came across (unless surprised or something we can draw our weapons for free on the first round), but I wonder...
Also, thanks to an HB magic item, we have to solve the riddle of the extra opportunity attack:
Runic Whetstone (the item)
War Caster
War Magic
Would you allow to cast 2 spells as a reaction with the item's enchantment (Booming Blade, to be specific)? This seems a bit OP even for me who plays the character, but seriously, I'd rather cast 1 Booming Blade than make 2 attacks. Also to consider, it is limited-use magic item... If you would not allow it, would you allow the War Magic mechanics to apply?
Rules, powers, spells, etc. do only what they say they do. So, the answer to most all of your questions is”No.”
summoning a weapon and drawing a weapon are not interchangeable. You summon as a bonus action, as the power clearly states. Drawing a weapon is either a free item interaction, or an action. In no case is it a bonus action.
(Side note, do not think of a bonus action as like a lesser action and you could substitute one for the other. They are two separate pools and do not mix.) There is an item called a Dwarven Thrower. You might look at it for ideas about how to recall a thrown weapon for multiple uses.
Unless you have the dual wielder feat, you can only draw one weapon for free.
Your homebrew item is complicated. It’s poorly worded in that an OA is not something you can do by itself. You have 1 reaction per round, and one way to use that is through an opportunity attack. Allowing extra uses is incredibly powerful (it’s a very high level power for a cavalier fighter). The wording here is poor and confusing as it conflicts with RAW. But under no circumstance can you cast two spells as a single reaction. But really, you need to discuss this with the person who made the item and figure it out with them.
Casting booming blade as a reaction, sure, go nuts. But only one cast. And there’s no way you get 2 attacks from one reaction.