I'm reading the description of the Dual Wielder feat...
"You add a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand, can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light, and can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one."
Where it says you can use weapons that "aren't light" what does that mean exactly?
I have a Goliath Battle Master wielding two Battle Axes. If I take this feat, what weapons that "aren't light" would make for better fighting?
I'm guessing it doesn't mean I could wield two two-handed weapons, like a couple great axes, right?! That would be awesome if I could!
It means you can dual wield weapons that don't have the light property. For example, battleaxes can only be dual wielded if you have this feat. You still can't wield two-handed weapons in one hand.
There is one weapon that's fun to use with Dual Wielder, but it may necessitate either the a 3-level Beastmaster dip, a friendly druid and/or a Mounted Combatant or Ritual Caster feat: two lances.
Light weapons have the "light" property which normally allows it to be dual-wielded, much like how your battle axes have the "versatile" property that lets you two-hand them, assuming your other hand is free.
I have a Goliath Battle Master wielding two Battle Axes.
Technically without the feat you can't do what you're currently doing. Battleaxes aren't light so you can't use them for Two-Weapon Fighting unless you take the feat.
I'm reading the description of the Dual Wielder feat...
"You add a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand, can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light, and can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one."
Where it says you can use weapons that "aren't light" what does that mean exactly?
I have a Goliath Battle Master wielding two Battle Axes. If I take this feat, what weapons that "aren't light" would make for better fighting?
I'm guessing it doesn't mean I could wield two two-handed weapons, like a couple great axes, right?! That would be awesome if I could!
If you haven't taken the feat yet, you shouldn't be able to wield two battleaxes. Handaxes, sure. But not battleaxes. The normal rules for two-weapon fighting say both weapons have to have the Light property. A good rule of thumb is d4 and d6 melee weapons tend to be Light, d8 and up tend not to be. This isn't a 100% accurate guide(e.g. a whip is a d4 weapon but it doesn't have the Light property).
You've made a couple of threads along these lines, so try to keep something very important in mind. The rules are generally pretty good about saying what you can and can't do. Most mistakes people seem to make about interpreting them involve reading something into a rule that isn't there. Start with the most general rule and work your way to the specific ones. Everything in the general rule still applies unless the more specific rule overrides it. In this case you need to keep in mind:
* two-weapon fighting requires both weapons be Light
* two-handed weapons require both hands to wield one, unless you have more than two hands or some other appendage capable of wielding a weapon, you can't wield a two-handed weapon along with another weapon.
* the Dual-Wielder feat removes the restrictions that the weapons be Light, but any other rules or properties for the weapons still apply. The Two-Handed, Reach, Finesse etc. properties of the weapons remain unchanged.
"The rules are generally pretty good about saying what you can and can't do. Most mistakes people seem to make about interpreting them involve reading something into a rule that isn't there. Start with the most general rule and work your way to the specific ones. Everything in the general rule still applies unless the more specific rule overrides it."
Well said.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm reading the description of the Dual Wielder feat...
"You add a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand, can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light, and can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one."
Where it says you can use weapons that "aren't light" what does that mean exactly?
I have a Goliath Battle Master wielding two Battle Axes. If I take this feat, what weapons that "aren't light" would make for better fighting?
I'm guessing it doesn't mean I could wield two two-handed weapons, like a couple great axes, right?! That would be awesome if I could!
It means you can dual wield weapons that don't have the light property. For example, battleaxes can only be dual wielded if you have this feat. You still can't wield two-handed weapons in one hand.
There is one weapon that's fun to use with Dual Wielder, but it may necessitate either the a 3-level Beastmaster dip, a friendly druid and/or a Mounted Combatant or Ritual Caster feat: two lances.
Light weapons have the "light" property which normally allows it to be dual-wielded, much like how your battle axes have the "versatile" property that lets you two-hand them, assuming your other hand is free.
Technically without the feat you can't do what you're currently doing. Battleaxes aren't light so you can't use them for Two-Weapon Fighting unless you take the feat.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
If you haven't taken the feat yet, you shouldn't be able to wield two battleaxes. Handaxes, sure. But not battleaxes. The normal rules for two-weapon fighting say both weapons have to have the Light property. A good rule of thumb is d4 and d6 melee weapons tend to be Light, d8 and up tend not to be. This isn't a 100% accurate guide(e.g. a whip is a d4 weapon but it doesn't have the Light property).
You've made a couple of threads along these lines, so try to keep something very important in mind. The rules are generally pretty good about saying what you can and can't do. Most mistakes people seem to make about interpreting them involve reading something into a rule that isn't there. Start with the most general rule and work your way to the specific ones. Everything in the general rule still applies unless the more specific rule overrides it. In this case you need to keep in mind:
* two-weapon fighting requires both weapons be Light
* two-handed weapons require both hands to wield one, unless you have more than two hands or some other appendage capable of wielding a weapon, you can't wield a two-handed weapon along with another weapon.
* the Dual-Wielder feat removes the restrictions that the weapons be Light, but any other rules or properties for the weapons still apply. The Two-Handed, Reach, Finesse etc. properties of the weapons remain unchanged.
jd2319, thank you for the reminder.
"The rules are generally pretty good about saying what you can and can't do. Most mistakes people seem to make about interpreting them involve reading something into a rule that isn't there. Start with the most general rule and work your way to the specific ones. Everything in the general rule still applies unless the more specific rule overrides it."
Well said.