OK, thinking about some possible scenarios brought up some questions about the manifested echo I'd like to pose.
1. If the PC is bound and teleport swaps with the newly summoned and unbound echo, is the PC still bound? Like would rope or manacles 'port with them?
2. Similarly, would teleport swapping end a grapple, or would the grappler 'port with them?
3. If the answer to #3 is yes, could the PC teleport with someone they are holding on to/grappling? If no, disregard this question.
4. Is the Echo animated? When you command it to move positions, does it actually run over there or just slide across the ground? This is mainly a flavor/RP question for me. It is described as "a magical, translucent, gray image of you" but does not specify if it is a static image or a moving image. I lean towards moving, because that sounds more fun. And since you can keep this thing up indefinitely, having a static echo of yourself sliding behind you all the time just sounds creepy. Mostly, I want to know if I can give my echo self a high-five.
1. Since your equipment goes with you, I’d rule that an object binding you would come along for the ride and you would still be bound.
2. No, the creature grappling you would stay where it is and you’d escape the grapple, similar to using teleportation spells which would do the same thing.
Another question I had is, since it is an object, does it set off traps? I think for purely physical traps like pressure plates, it's an obvious yes. But what about magical traps? Would it set off a ward by crossing the boundry?
The Echo is an object, anything its "armed" with is aesthetic as attacks it allows/enables are actually coming from you; as such I think it should be up to the player to decide. Though its a bit jarring to have it armed with a sword and an arrow erupts from it, and would personally avoid that.
Another question I had is, since it is an object, does it set off traps? I think for purely physical traps like pressure plates, it's an obvious yes. But what about magical traps? Would it set off a ward by crossing the boundry?
As to whether it sets off traps it depends on DM interpretation of 'occupies space', and the nature of the trap. For does the Echo have weight? unclear. Similarly, can an echo even interact with other objects. Could an Echo open a door or pull a lever? probably not in most DM's minds. So if it cant push, pull, or interact with the world in general, why would it be able to activate a trap?
I don't believe there is a directly RAW answer, but it is something the DM and PC should work out before hand, for internal consistency
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
OK, thinking about some possible scenarios brought up some questions about the manifested echo I'd like to pose.
1. If the PC is bound and teleport swaps with the newly summoned and unbound echo, is the PC still bound? Like would rope or manacles 'port with them?
2. Similarly, would teleport swapping end a grapple, or would the grappler 'port with them?
3. If the answer to #3 is yes, could the PC teleport with someone they are holding on to/grappling? If no, disregard this question.
4. Is the Echo animated? When you command it to move positions, does it actually run over there or just slide across the ground? This is mainly a flavor/RP question for me. It is described as "a magical, translucent, gray image of you" but does not specify if it is a static image or a moving image. I lean towards moving, because that sounds more fun. And since you can keep this thing up indefinitely, having a static echo of yourself sliding behind you all the time just sounds creepy. Mostly, I want to know if I can give my echo self a high-five.
Apologies if these have been asked elsewhere.
1. Since your equipment goes with you, I’d rule that an object binding you would come along for the ride and you would still be bound.
2. No, the creature grappling you would stay where it is and you’d escape the grapple, similar to using teleportation spells which would do the same thing.
3. no, you can’t bring someone with you.
4. Totally up to you and your DM.
Thanks for your reply.
Another question I had is, since it is an object, does it set off traps? I think for purely physical traps like pressure plates, it's an obvious yes. But what about magical traps? Would it set off a ward by crossing the boundry?
Alarm specifies creatures, so an Echo would not set off that type of ward.
I have a question, dose the echo have a copy of my swords, or is it unarmed?
The Echo is an object, anything its "armed" with is aesthetic as attacks it allows/enables are actually coming from you; as such I think it should be up to the player to decide. Though its a bit jarring to have it armed with a sword and an arrow erupts from it, and would personally avoid that.
On 2.
You can only teleport if you can move, as you have to give up 15ft of movement to do so.
Therefore if you are grappled you cannot teleport
the wording is just like with freedom of movement so it would be most likely meant that you can pay the cost just like with that spell.
As to whether it sets off traps it depends on DM interpretation of 'occupies space', and the nature of the trap. For does the Echo have weight? unclear. Similarly, can an echo even interact with other objects. Could an Echo open a door or pull a lever? probably not in most DM's minds. So if it cant push, pull, or interact with the world in general, why would it be able to activate a trap?
I don't believe there is a directly RAW answer, but it is something the DM and PC should work out before hand, for internal consistency