So I have some questions about the drunken master.
The 3rd level ability gives ya a free disengage when you do flurry of blows, and the 17th level ability gives ya the ability to make up to 5 flurry of blows if its on different targets. So combining the two can you just blitz through the battlefield punching 5 different targets if you move speed allows it? Cause if I remember correctly ya can make attacks at different targets while moving so I don't really see the disappointment people that people have towards the drunken master, since these two together essentially makes you the best in aoe fighting without aoe magic XD cause if you pair it with haste you can make 8 attacks in total and I this that's pretty badass.
Also, a minor query is that when you have disengage, do you gain immunity from all AoO or is it only on one person.
So I have some questions about the drunken master.
The 3rd level ability gives ya a free disengage when you do flurry of blows, and the 17th level ability gives ya the ability to make up to 5 flurry of blows if its on different targets. So combining the two can you just blitz through the battlefield punching 5 different targets if you move speed allows it? Cause if I remember correctly ya can make attacks at different targets while moving so I don't really see the disappointment people that people have towards the drunken master, since these two together essentially makes you the best in aoe fighting without aoe magic XD cause if you pair it with haste you can make 8 attacks in total and I this that's pretty badass.
Also, a minor query is that when you have disengage, do you gain immunity from all AoO or is it only on one person.
Thanks in advance,
Ichmkami
Disengage
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.
so yes, it applies to all possible attackers not just one. Unlike how Mobile feat or the swashbuckler ability Fancy Footwork works
As to the first question I would say yes you can blitz through the battlefield. But it’s up for debate as some say you cannot move while flurry of blows as the feature says “Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.” In this case, no movement no blitzing.
I would ask your DM to allow a small adjustment to the 17th level ability so that A) you can move between attacks and B) you can attack the same creature twice while using it as long as you are not consecutively striking the same creature twice. The ability becomes far more flexible that way and boosts your chance to stun your priority targets.
You can absolutely move between attacks. There is nothing anywhere that says otherwise. "Immediately after the attack action" refers to you having to choose right then to either take 1 attack or 2 with the bonus action. So you can't attack something, decide to take 1 bonus action attack, realize that wasn't enough to kill it and decide to take another one. The decision has to be made after the attack action. It doesn't mean you can't move after making it. That is an awful interpretation of the rule and completely ruins the level 17 drunken master ability.
You can absolutely move between attacks. There is nothing anywhere that says otherwise. "Immediately after the attack action" refers to you having to choose right then to either take 1 attack or 2 with the bonus action. So you can't attack something, decide to take 1 bonus action attack, realize that wasn't enough to kill it and decide to take another one. The decision has to be made after the attack action. It doesn't mean you can't move after making it. That is an awful interpretation of the rule and completely ruins the level 17 drunken master ability.
I read it that way as well. But I've seen people argue otherwise.
So I have some questions about the drunken master.
The 3rd level ability gives ya a free disengage when you do flurry of blows, and the 17th level ability gives ya the ability to make up to 5 flurry of blows if its on different targets. So combining the two can you just blitz through the battlefield punching 5 different targets if you move speed allows it? Cause if I remember correctly ya can make attacks at different targets while moving so I don't really see the disappointment people that people have towards the drunken master, since these two together essentially makes you the best in aoe fighting without aoe magic XD cause if you pair it with haste you can make 8 attacks in total and I this that's pretty badass.
Also, a minor query is that when you have disengage, do you gain immunity from all AoO or is it only on one person.
Thanks in advance,
Ichmkami
Disengage
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.
so yes, it applies to all possible attackers not just one. Unlike how Mobile feat or the swashbuckler ability Fancy Footwork works
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
As to the first question I would say yes you can blitz through the battlefield. But it’s up for debate as some say you cannot move while flurry of blows as the feature says “Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.” In this case, no movement no blitzing.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I would ask your DM to allow a small adjustment to the 17th level ability so that A) you can move between attacks and B) you can attack the same creature twice while using it as long as you are not consecutively striking the same creature twice. The ability becomes far more flexible that way and boosts your chance to stun your priority targets.
You can absolutely move between attacks. There is nothing anywhere that says otherwise. "Immediately after the attack action" refers to you having to choose right then to either take 1 attack or 2 with the bonus action. So you can't attack something, decide to take 1 bonus action attack, realize that wasn't enough to kill it and decide to take another one. The decision has to be made after the attack action. It doesn't mean you can't move after making it. That is an awful interpretation of the rule and completely ruins the level 17 drunken master ability.
I read it that way as well. But I've seen people argue otherwise.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?