I am realtivly new to DnD and this is more of a personal question rather than being a rules lawyer or something cause I am fine with either ruling.
So my DM allowed me into Multiclass into the new Warlock subclass.
One of the benedits of the Level 1 Feature "Form of Dread" is that it provides me with immunity to be frightened.
When I asked how this works in the case of activating Form of Dread after I already got frightened, we quickly came to the conclusion that the frightened condition gets surpress while I was in the Form of Dread.
What striked me a little odd though was his ruling if someone tries to frighten me while me while the Form of Dread was already active.
Basiclly his ruling is:
Okay so you are immune to the frightened condition but your are not immune to the spell itself, therefor you still have to make the save and if you fail it you technically frightened but the condition is surpressed. This means if the immunity wears of before the spell ends, you become frightened.
Again I fine with either rule and this is more of a general question of advise because I couldn't find anything as in that "immunities" are not really discribed in the PHB.
It’s not the worst ruling, but it’s not what I would do. As a comparison, when a raging barbarian get resistance to damage, you don’t track the damage they resisted and tack it on at the end of the rage. For a similar reason, I’d say if you’re immune, you don’t even have to make the save, you’re just immune.
Your DMs way leads to extra bookkeeping, which is really antithetical to 5e. Not to mention it really undercuts a power that comes up pretty rarely in the first place (campaign dependent, I suppose).
There is *one* spell in all of D&D right now that I can find with a duration longer than one minute that inflicts the Frightened condition. Antipathy/Sympathy. It's an 8th level spell for Wizards and Druids. It takes an hour to cast and it lasts for 10 days. It either scares you out of the area protected, or it drags you in. It's sort of like Magic Circle's older, tougher brother.
If you run into that spell, it makes perfect sense for you to be Frightened.
I'd say as a general rule if a spell is on you, when your Form of Dread drops you should be subject to the Frightened condition again. Most of the spells that can inflict Frightened require Concentration, so you always have the option of killing the caster, or otherwise making them Incapacitated, to stop them.
I generally agree; the ruling is fair enough, if not a little bit more work than necessary, however;
Just to add 2 cents here, I am not sure it would be reasonable for a caster to maintain concentration on a spell they can see isn't working. And if they did, it may be considered meta gaming - "since that effect is about to end my guy will maintain concentration on the fear spell until form of dread drops...
While My gut feeling tells me "Immunity, therefor any attempt Auto-Fails" I can see the arguments in the other direction.
If you’re going to have to track it while immune, you should also still get your save to shake it off at the end of each round, or get snapped out of it by damage, or whatever other end condition the spell might have.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello everyone,
I am realtivly new to DnD and this is more of a personal question rather than being a rules lawyer or something cause I am fine with either ruling.
So my DM allowed me into Multiclass into the new Warlock subclass.
One of the benedits of the Level 1 Feature "Form of Dread" is that it provides me with immunity to be frightened.
When I asked how this works in the case of activating Form of Dread after I already got frightened, we quickly came to the conclusion that the frightened condition gets surpress while I was in the Form of Dread.
What striked me a little odd though was his ruling if someone tries to frighten me while me while the Form of Dread was already active.
Basiclly his ruling is:
Okay so you are immune to the frightened condition but your are not immune to the spell itself, therefor you still have to make the save and if you fail it you technically frightened but the condition is surpressed. This means if the immunity wears of before the spell ends, you become frightened.
Again I fine with either rule and this is more of a general question of advise because I couldn't find anything as in that "immunities" are not really discribed in the PHB.
It’s not the worst ruling, but it’s not what I would do. As a comparison, when a raging barbarian get resistance to damage, you don’t track the damage they resisted and tack it on at the end of the rage. For a similar reason, I’d say if you’re immune, you don’t even have to make the save, you’re just immune.
Your DMs way leads to extra bookkeeping, which is really antithetical to 5e. Not to mention it really undercuts a power that comes up pretty rarely in the first place (campaign dependent, I suppose).
There is *one* spell in all of D&D right now that I can find with a duration longer than one minute that inflicts the Frightened condition. Antipathy/Sympathy. It's an 8th level spell for Wizards and Druids. It takes an hour to cast and it lasts for 10 days. It either scares you out of the area protected, or it drags you in. It's sort of like Magic Circle's older, tougher brother.
If you run into that spell, it makes perfect sense for you to be Frightened.
I'd say as a general rule if a spell is on you, when your Form of Dread drops you should be subject to the Frightened condition again. Most of the spells that can inflict Frightened require Concentration, so you always have the option of killing the caster, or otherwise making them Incapacitated, to stop them.
<Insert clever signature here>
I generally agree; the ruling is fair enough, if not a little bit more work than necessary, however;
Just to add 2 cents here, I am not sure it would be reasonable for a caster to maintain concentration on a spell they can see isn't working. And if they did, it may be considered meta gaming - "since that effect is about to end my guy will maintain concentration on the fear spell until form of dread drops...
Just a thought.
Jesus Saves!... Everyone else takes damage.
Thank you everyone for your input so far...
While My gut feeling tells me "Immunity, therefor any attempt Auto-Fails" I can see the arguments in the other direction.
If you’re going to have to track it while immune, you should also still get your save to shake it off at the end of each round, or get snapped out of it by damage, or whatever other end condition the spell might have.