You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it (see the Weapons section for weapon options). You are proficient with it while you wield it. This weapon counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.
Your pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from you for 1 minute or more. It also disappears if you use this feature again, if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die.
You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way. The weapon ceases being your pact weapon if you die, if you perform the 1-hour ritual on a different weapon, or if you use a 1-hour ritual to break your bond to it. The weapon appears at your feet if it is in the extradimensional space when the bond breaks.
So... Does this mean any Weapon (non-Sentient/Artifact) can be Summoned as "any" Weapon for the purposes of my Pact Weapon, I am now proficient this weapon?
I will be consulting my DM on his own interpretation, what is everyone else is take on this?
I would say no. The description says that "it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter", "it" being the weapon over which you performed the ritual. Unlike the other paragraph, you are not creating the weapon in this case.
The Sage Advice Compendium on this website(https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium) addresses this very topic. Short version: If you make an existing magic weapon your Pact Weapon, you can't change its form. If it's a Flametongue Longsword, it stays a Flametongue Longsword every time you summon it.
I think how it is written the answer is yes. How it is intended, I guess Sage advice says no.
As written, you can choose the form that THIS melee weapon takes each time you create it refers to pact weapon you created, not the magic weapon you transformed, as confirmed in Sage Advice's official ruling.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
Added question about this, it says: "You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way."
So, can you make an intelligent weapon or artifact you Pact Weapon but you just can't shunt it "shunt it into an extradimensional space" ? Is the "You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way" only referencing the part about extradimensional spaces or the whole paragraph/ability (i.e. make it a pact weapon). Seems odd that a Hexblade couldn't pact a weapon like Blackrazor that comes, literally, from their patron.
My assumption was you can't make them a pact weapon, but now that you ask, it is not clear as written. I can see either making sense as it could either be a prohibition stopping you from getting the more powerful weapons or it could just be stopping you from shunting it to another dimension and avoiding some of the negative side effects associated with them.
I think this can be left up to a DM discretion. I discussed this with my DM as it has a potential to show up in our campaign and his response was that he would allow it if the sentient being in the weapon agrees to it.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
A little clarification and precision never hurts. However, is it really necessary? I never encountered that doubt in my games. I mean, it goes without saying that if you make a magic weapon your pact weapon, you can't change its form. It's pretty clear to me. Perhaps I would understand the question of whether you can continue creating other pact weapons, which seems to me clearly not. If you make a magical weapon your pact weapon, you "marry" it until you exchange it for another, or break the bond. And the latter is the key. Why would you want to break the bond if not to be able to create the pact weapon you wanted?. For example, for whatever reason you are no longer interested in going with a long sword (even if it's magical), instead you want to go with a short sword (or a bow, or whatever if you have the right eldritch invocation).
So... Does this mean any Weapon (non-Sentient/Artifact) can be Summoned as "any" Weapon for the purposes of my Pact Weapon, I am now proficient this weapon?
I will be consulting my DM on his own interpretation, what is everyone else is take on this?
Short answer: no, you cannot.
You have two options when it comes to summoning pact weapons.
You can create a weapon, which counts as magic for the purpose of overcoming damage immunity and resistance, and can change its form with each summoning.
You can bond to a weapon that is already magic, and shunt it into an extra-dimensional space for storage as desired, but you cannot change its form.
There seems to be is a question as to whether or not a sentient or artefact weapon can be a Pact Weapon. As intended, they are ineligible. However, this it did not make its way into the official Sage Advice Compendium.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
Ok if we are really doing RAW you take your +3 longsword of life stealing and do the ritual so it becomes your pact weapon.
Then you shunt it off to the eextra dimensional space.
Then you choose the form it takes when you create it again. So you choose Halberd and it is a Halberd that counts as magical. However it no longer has the +3 bonus or the lifestealing property. Further even if you turn it back into a longsword it loses those properties because you are choosing the form every time you create it.
If you are going to use this interpretation then I think this is a strict application of it.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
Ok if we are really doing RAW you take your +3 longsword of life stealing and do the ritual so it becomes your pact weapon.
Then you shunt it off to the eextra dimensional space.
Then you choose the form it takes when you create it again. So you choose Halberd and it is a Halberd that counts as magical. However it no longer has the +3 bonus or the lifestealing property. Further even if you turn it back into a longsword it loses those properties because you are choosing the form every time you create it.
If you are going to use this interpretation then I think this is a strict application of it.
Well, that would be a fraudulent reading of the rule. At no point is he telling you that you can modify the form of a magic weapon that is your pact weapon. What it tells you is that you can make a magic weapon into your pact weapon, and when you do, and you create your pact weapon, this is the magic weapon that you made into your pact weapon.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
Ok if we are really doing RAW you take your +3 longsword of life stealing and do the ritual so it becomes your pact weapon.
Then you shunt it off to the eextra dimensional space.
Then you choose the form it takes when you create it again. So you choose Halberd and it is a Halberd that counts as magical. However it no longer has the +3 bonus or the lifestealing property. Further even if you turn it back into a longsword it loses those properties because you are choosing the form every time you create it.
If you are going to use this interpretation then I think this is a strict application of it.
Well, that would be a fraudulent reading of the rule. At no point is he telling you that you can modify the form of a magic weapon that is your pact weapon. What it tells you is that you can make a magic weapon into your pact weapon, and when you do, and you create your pact weapon, this is the magic weapon that you made into your pact weapon.
Which is not how the feature works. You can create a magic weapon, or you can bond to an existing magic weapon. You cannot alter an existing magic weapon.
It's actually as you say. That is why I say that the other reading is fraudulent. It's knowingly misinterpreting the rule to gain a mechanical benefit that isn't there, which is ugly.
Yes and no. You don't "create" a pact weapon when you summon an already magical weapon from its extradimensional space. It already exists. I get what you're trying to say, I think, but the language is still wrong. Both are forms of conjuration, but with very different practical meanings.
It's also not something the warlock necessarily wants to do all the time. It takes their full action, which means they're not attacking or casting a spell. Fortunately, Hex Warrior (if they're also a hexblade warlock) lets them also use their Charisma modifier with a weapon they touch. Meaning they have their Pact Weapon and another weapon they can keep on their person.
It's actually as you say. That is why I say that the other reading is fraudulent. It's knowingly misinterpreting the rule to gain a mechanical benefit that isn't there, which is ugly.
What's ugly is your post. Don't ascribe negative motives to people you don't know.
It's actually as you say. That is why I say that the other reading is fraudulent. It's knowingly misinterpreting the rule to gain a mechanical benefit that isn't there, which is ugly.
What's ugly is your post. Don't ascribe negative motives to people you don't know.
I wasn't referring to anyone in particular. I meant that it is ugly to consciously misunderstand a rule for a mechanical benefit. In my day that type of player was called a Munchkin, and he was the most avoided type of player to share a table with.
Yes and no. You don't "create" a pact weapon when you summon an already magical weapon from its extradimensional space. It already exists. I get what you're trying to say, I think, but the language is still wrong. Both are forms of conjuration, but with very different practical meanings.
It's also not something the warlock necessarily wants to do all the time. It takes their full action, which means they're not attacking or casting a spell. Fortunately, Hex Warrior (if they're also a hexblade warlock) lets them also use their Charisma modifier with a weapon they touch. Meaning they have their Pact Weapon and another weapon they can keep on their person.
True, I like the Improved Pact Weapon feature as it expands the weapons that can be created, and makes them all +1 magical weapons. However you can (for example) make a +1 dagger your Hexblade weapon, and create a shortsword as your pact weapon, and have dual weapons. One downside is that all the benefits from Pact of the Blade, that apply to your pact weapon, don't apply to the dagger, however it's less of an investment than taking Polearm Master, so that could be something.
Honestly, it would be pretty busted if you were able to change the form of a +3 magical weapon into whatever you wanted with just a 3 level dip. It would completely negate the weapon proficiency limitations you have by being a non-hexblade Warlock - just find any +3 magical weapon, bond with it regardless of whether you're proficient, and simply turn it into any +3 weapon you want and be proficient in it?
You'd be able to find a +3 dagger and magically transform it into a +3 greataxe. Pretty sure this isn't the way the ability is intended to be used.
It would also make the Improved/Superior/Ultimate Pact Weapon invocations next to useless unless you need your pact weapon to be a spellcasting focus or a ranged weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Pact of the Blade, As Writen:
You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it (see the Weapons section for weapon options). You are proficient with it while you wield it. This weapon counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.
Your pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from you for 1 minute or more. It also disappears if you use this feature again, if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die.
You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way. The weapon ceases being your pact weapon if you die, if you perform the 1-hour ritual on a different weapon, or if you use a 1-hour ritual to break your bond to it. The weapon appears at your feet if it is in the extradimensional space when the bond breaks.
So... Does this mean any Weapon (non-Sentient/Artifact) can be Summoned as "any" Weapon for the purposes of my Pact Weapon, I am now proficient this weapon?
I will be consulting my DM on his own interpretation, what is everyone else is take on this?
I would say no. The description says that "it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter", "it" being the weapon over which you performed the ritual. Unlike the other paragraph, you are not creating the weapon in this case.
The Sage Advice Compendium on this website(https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium) addresses this very topic. Short version: If you make an existing magic weapon your Pact Weapon, you can't change its form. If it's a Flametongue Longsword, it stays a Flametongue Longsword every time you summon it.
I think how it is written the answer is yes. How it is intended, I guess Sage advice says no.
As written, you can choose the form that THIS melee weapon takes each time you create it refers to pact weapon you created, not the magic weapon you transformed, as confirmed in Sage Advice's official ruling.
Disagree. It never removes the ability to choose its form in the text. So IMO as written you would retain that ability.
The intent is clarified in sage advice, I'm fine with that. But if you wanted it as written this statement, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. " would instead be something like, " You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears in its original form whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter."
Added question about this, it says: "You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way."
So, can you make an intelligent weapon or artifact you Pact Weapon but you just can't shunt it "shunt it into an extradimensional space" ? Is the "You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way" only referencing the part about extradimensional spaces or the whole paragraph/ability (i.e. make it a pact weapon). Seems odd that a Hexblade couldn't pact a weapon like Blackrazor that comes, literally, from their patron.
My assumption was you can't make them a pact weapon, but now that you ask, it is not clear as written. I can see either making sense as it could either be a prohibition stopping you from getting the more powerful weapons or it could just be stopping you from shunting it to another dimension and avoiding some of the negative side effects associated with them.
I think this can be left up to a DM discretion. I discussed this with my DM as it has a potential to show up in our campaign and his response was that he would allow it if the sentient being in the weapon agrees to it.
A little clarification and precision never hurts. However, is it really necessary? I never encountered that doubt in my games. I mean, it goes without saying that if you make a magic weapon your pact weapon, you can't change its form. It's pretty clear to me.
Perhaps I would understand the question of whether you can continue creating other pact weapons, which seems to me clearly not. If you make a magical weapon your pact weapon, you "marry" it until you exchange it for another, or break the bond. And the latter is the key. Why would you want to break the bond if not to be able to create the pact weapon you wanted?. For example, for whatever reason you are no longer interested in going with a long sword (even if it's magical), instead you want to go with a short sword (or a bow, or whatever if you have the right eldritch invocation).
Short answer: no, you cannot.
You have two options when it comes to summoning pact weapons.
There seems to be is a question as to whether or not a sentient or artefact weapon can be a Pact Weapon. As intended, they are ineligible. However, this it did not make its way into the official Sage Advice Compendium.
Ok if we are really doing RAW you take your +3 longsword of life stealing and do the ritual so it becomes your pact weapon.
Then you shunt it off to the eextra dimensional space.
Then you choose the form it takes when you create it again. So you choose Halberd and it is a Halberd that counts as magical. However it no longer has the +3 bonus or the lifestealing property. Further even if you turn it back into a longsword it loses those properties because you are choosing the form every time you create it.
If you are going to use this interpretation then I think this is a strict application of it.
Well, that would be a fraudulent reading of the rule. At no point is he telling you that you can modify the form of a magic weapon that is your pact weapon. What it tells you is that you can make a magic weapon into your pact weapon, and when you do, and you create your pact weapon, this is the magic weapon that you made into your pact weapon.
Which is not how the feature works. You can create a magic weapon, or you can bond to an existing magic weapon. You cannot alter an existing magic weapon.
It's actually as you say. That is why I say that the other reading is fraudulent. It's knowingly misinterpreting the rule to gain a mechanical benefit that isn't there, which is ugly.
Yes and no. You don't "create" a pact weapon when you summon an already magical weapon from its extradimensional space. It already exists. I get what you're trying to say, I think, but the language is still wrong. Both are forms of conjuration, but with very different practical meanings.
It's also not something the warlock necessarily wants to do all the time. It takes their full action, which means they're not attacking or casting a spell. Fortunately, Hex Warrior (if they're also a hexblade warlock) lets them also use their Charisma modifier with a weapon they touch. Meaning they have their Pact Weapon and another weapon they can keep on their person.
What's ugly is your post. Don't ascribe negative motives to people you don't know.
I wasn't referring to anyone in particular. I meant that it is ugly to consciously misunderstand a rule for a mechanical benefit. In my day that type of player was called a Munchkin, and he was the most avoided type of player to share a table with.
If you felt offended, I apologize.
True, I like the Improved Pact Weapon feature as it expands the weapons that can be created, and makes them all +1 magical weapons. However you can (for example) make a +1 dagger your Hexblade weapon, and create a shortsword as your pact weapon, and have dual weapons. One downside is that all the benefits from Pact of the Blade, that apply to your pact weapon, don't apply to the dagger, however it's less of an investment than taking Polearm Master, so that could be something.
Honestly, it would be pretty busted if you were able to change the form of a +3 magical weapon into whatever you wanted with just a 3 level dip. It would completely negate the weapon proficiency limitations you have by being a non-hexblade Warlock - just find any +3 magical weapon, bond with it regardless of whether you're proficient, and simply turn it into any +3 weapon you want and be proficient in it?
You'd be able to find a +3 dagger and magically transform it into a +3 greataxe. Pretty sure this isn't the way the ability is intended to be used.
It would also make the Improved/Superior/Ultimate Pact Weapon invocations next to useless unless you need your pact weapon to be a spellcasting focus or a ranged weapon.