Yes and no. You don't "create" a pact weapon when you summon an already magical weapon from its extradimensional space. It already exists. I get what you're trying to say, I think, but the language is still wrong. Both are forms of conjuration, but with very different practical meanings.
It's also not something the warlock necessarily wants to do all the time. It takes their full action, which means they're not attacking or casting a spell. Fortunately, Hex Warrior (if they're also a hexblade warlock) lets them also use their Charisma modifier with a weapon they touch. Meaning they have their Pact Weapon and another weapon they can keep on their person.
True, I like the Improved Pact Weapon feature as it expands the weapons that can be created, and makes them all +1 magical weapons. However you can (for example) make a +1 dagger your Hexblade weapon, and create a shortsword as your pact weapon, and have dual weapons. One downside is that all the benefits from Pact of the Blade, that apply to your pact weapon, don't apply to the dagger, however it's less of an investment than taking Polearm Master, so that could be something.
Yes, that can be done. What you can't do is "create" a pact weapon, and "summon" a linked magic weapon as your pact weapon. There are many people who are confused, voluntarily or not, with that. I didn't want to continue the discussion, but in Pact of the blade it says: [...] it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter [...]
That's why I used the word "Create", because that's what the rule uses. That is, when you "Create" your pact weapon, and you have a "linked" magic weapon, the one that appears is that one. You cannot create a pact weapon and "Summon" your magic weapon. You can "create" a pact weapon and what appears is your magic weapon (obviously unmodified. You can't change its form).
It sounds like you get two weapons to appear, if one of them is an existing magic weapon.
You can only conjure one weapon at a time. Either a weapon of your choosing, or a magic weapon you bond yourself to. If you make an already magic weapon into your pact weapon, then you cannot create another weapon with this feature. Nor can you change the magic weapon you formed your pact with into another weapon.
It sounds like you get two weapons to appear, if one of them is an existing magic weapon.
You can only conjure one weapon at a time. Either a weapon of your choosing, or a magic weapon you bond yourself to. If you make an already magic weapon into your pact weapon, then you cannot create another weapon with this feature. Nor can you change the magic weapon you formed your pact with into another weapon.
To be clear, I don't think what I'm saying is the correct interpretation -- only that it holds maybe enough water that you could annoy a DM with it. Since the bonded weapon "appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter," rather than appears instead, the argument is that you get both.
I think it gets killed by this: "You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon," meaning that your pact weapon is replaced. But I could see it going the other way if the DM really wanted to throw you a bone. I mean they could always just flat-out break the rules too but yeah.
This is stupid and I don't mean to push it any further, lol.
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
Nope! Your pact weapon is now locked in as the magic weapon. You can't have a longbow. Serves you right for picking something other than Eldritch Blast. :(
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
Nope! Your pact weapon is now locked in as the magic weapon. You can't have a longbow. Serves you right for picking something other than Eldritch Blast. :(
They can, however, use their Hex Warrior feature each day to use Charisma to attack with a longbow.
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
Nope! Your pact weapon is now locked in as the magic weapon. You can't have a longbow. Serves you right for picking something other than Eldritch Blast. :(
They can, however, use their Hex Warrior feature each day to use Charisma to attack with a longbow.
If you're a Hexblade... and you can find a longbow that's not two-handed.
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
Nope! Your pact weapon is now locked in as the magic weapon. You can't have a longbow. Serves you right for picking something other than Eldritch Blast. :(
They can, however, use their Hex Warrior feature each day to use Charisma to attack with a longbow.
If you're a Hexblade... and you can find a longbow that's not two-handed.
Or have Pact of the Blade, so that the benefit "extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type." And hey, it sounds like the OP has exactly that!
Which would make some sense, because generally staves have far superior abilities to magic weapons if not necessarily abilities meant for hitting things.
I'm sure this has been sufficiently answered by now, but...
if you use the ritual to make an existing weapon into your pact weapon it doesn't change that weapon in any way other than potentially changing the damage type.
it does grant proficiency with the weapon, and allow you to use it as a spell casting focus, etc. it does not allow you to change a +2 Short Sword into a +2 Rapier.
The ability to create a pact weapon of your choice and make an existing weapon into your pact weapon are two separate abilities, though you cannot have one of each, because if you ever have a second pact weapon the first ones stops being a pact weapon.
I think the 2024 rules really simplified and clarified the text.
As a Bonus Action, you can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch; you can’t bond with a magic weapon if someone else is attuned to it or another Warlock is bonded with it. Until the bond ends, you have proficiency with the weapon, and you can use it as a Spellcasting Focus.
If I interpret the rule correctly, Pact of the Blade allows you to conjure any melee weapon or bond with any magic weapon, of any kind, with which you have proficiency.
So a non-magic weapon cannot be a pact weapon. However, a magic ranged weapon can be a pact weapon.
I think what Benturaq meant is that you cannot bond with an existing non-magic weapon and make it a pact weapon such as this newly found elven bow or your grandfather old longsword gifted to you as teenage for example.
...or your grandfather old longsword gifted to you as teenage for example.
I disagree with this, as you can bond with any melee weapon. The non magical ranged weapon is in the rule.
Can you quote where this is written in the rules? Because this is not what Pact of the Blade says but
You can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch... A conjured weapon disappears when the bond ends.
...or your grandfather old longsword gifted to you as teenage for example.
I disagree with this, as you can bond with any melee weapon. The non magical ranged weapon is in the rule.
Can you quote where this is written in the rules? Because this is not what Pact of the Blade says but
You can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch... A conjured weapon disappears when the bond ends.
This is (can be) a non magical weapon you are bonding with "a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice " Nothing about ranged simple or ranged melee.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yes, that can be done. What you can't do is "create" a pact weapon, and "summon" a linked magic weapon as your pact weapon. There are many people who are confused, voluntarily or not, with that. I didn't want to continue the discussion, but in Pact of the blade it says:
[...] it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter [...]
That's why I used the word "Create", because that's what the rule uses. That is, when you "Create" your pact weapon, and you have a "linked" magic weapon, the one that appears is that one. You cannot create a pact weapon and "Summon" your magic weapon. You can "create" a pact weapon and what appears is your magic weapon (obviously unmodified. You can't change its form).
It sounds like you get two weapons to appear, if one of them is an existing magic weapon.
You can only conjure one weapon at a time. Either a weapon of your choosing, or a magic weapon you bond yourself to. If you make an already magic weapon into your pact weapon, then you cannot create another weapon with this feature. Nor can you change the magic weapon you formed your pact with into another weapon.
To be clear, I don't think what I'm saying is the correct interpretation -- only that it holds maybe enough water that you could annoy a DM with it. Since the bonded weapon "appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter," rather than appears instead, the argument is that you get both.
I think it gets killed by this: "You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon," meaning that your pact weapon is replaced. But I could see it going the other way if the DM really wanted to throw you a bone. I mean they could always just flat-out break the rules too but yeah.
This is stupid and I don't mean to push it any further, lol.
Of course, the obvious solution here is to just steal Ryuko's scissor blades and make them your pact weapon, since they can split in two. ;3
So, I’ve read quite a few opinions on this topic, but mine is, you now get improved pact weapon, which allows you select ranged weapons. Can you choose to create another weapon instead of pulling the magic weapon from extra dimensional space, so that you can gain the full benefit of the invocation, instead of losing the chosen invocation?
Nope! Your pact weapon is now locked in as the magic weapon. You can't have a longbow. Serves you right for picking something other than Eldritch Blast. :(
They can, however, use their Hex Warrior feature each day to use Charisma to attack with a longbow.
If you're a Hexblade... and you can find a longbow that's not two-handed.
Or have Pact of the Blade, so that the benefit "extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type." And hey, it sounds like the OP has exactly that!
Which would make some sense, because generally staves have far superior abilities to magic weapons if not necessarily abilities meant for hitting things.
I'm sure this has been sufficiently answered by now, but...
if you use the ritual to make an existing weapon into your pact weapon it doesn't change that weapon in any way other than potentially changing the damage type.
it does grant proficiency with the weapon, and allow you to use it as a spell casting focus, etc. it does not allow you to change a +2 Short Sword into a +2 Rapier.
The ability to create a pact weapon of your choice and make an existing weapon into your pact weapon are two separate abilities, though you cannot have one of each, because if you ever have a second pact weapon the first ones stops being a pact weapon.
I think the 2024 rules really simplified and clarified the text.
Pact of the Blade
As a Bonus Action, you can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch; you can’t bond with a magic weapon if someone else is attuned to it or another Warlock is bonded with it. Until the bond ends, you have proficiency with the weapon, and you can use it as a Spellcasting Focus.
If I interpret the rule correctly, Pact of the Blade allows you to conjure any melee weapon or bond with any magic weapon, of any kind, with which you have proficiency.
So a non-magic weapon cannot be a pact weapon. However, a magic ranged weapon can be a pact weapon.
I disagree with this interpretation.
You can "create any melee weapon you are proficient with..." No magic needed. It allows a 1st level to have a nice weapon from the start.
You can bond with any magic weapon, including ranged weapons and non-magic melee weapons that you conjure.
I think what Benturaq meant is that you cannot bond with an existing non-magic weapon and make it a pact weapon such as this newly found elven bow or your grandfather old longsword gifted to you as teenage for example.
Exactly!
I disagree with this, as you can bond with any melee weapon. The non magical ranged weapon is in the rule.
Can you quote where this is written in the rules? Because this is not what Pact of the Blade says but
You can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch... A conjured weapon disappears when the bond ends.
This is (can be) a non magical weapon you are bonding with "a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice " Nothing about ranged simple or ranged melee.