So thinking of starting a 2 lvl Undead Warlock build and then multiclassing into Divine Soul Sorcerer (basically he's rebelling against his undead patron and the best way he knows how is divine magic).
But my actual question is, can you continue to frighten the same creature every round? So say you frighten a creature, then you attack it again on your next turn (its still frightened until you finish this turn) can you make it roll a new save to continue or would they say no its already frightened so can't be re-frightened until say the next turn when it wears off completely?
Not sure if there is anything official or if its more up to the DM's discretion?
You can absolutely choose the same target; while the frightened condition itself doesn't stack (it can't mechanically be more frightened of you) the durations of the effects can overlap, so when one ends the other continues the condition.
There are rules on Combining Magical Effects for spells, but in this case the longest duration wins (essentially applying the effect again resets the timer), so it's the same end result.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You can absolutely choose the same target; while the frightened condition itself doesn't stack (it can't mechanically be more frightened of you) the durations of the effects can overlap, so when one ends the other continues the condition.
There are rules on Combining Magical Effects for spells, but in this case the longest duration wins (essentially applying the effect again resets the timer), so it's the same end result.
Ohh awesome good to know thanks! Definitely puts this build at the top of my list now
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey everyone
So thinking of starting a 2 lvl Undead Warlock build and then multiclassing into Divine Soul Sorcerer (basically he's rebelling against his undead patron and the best way he knows how is divine magic).
But my actual question is, can you continue to frighten the same creature every round? So say you frighten a creature, then you attack it again on your next turn (its still frightened until you finish this turn) can you make it roll a new save to continue or would they say no its already frightened so can't be re-frightened until say the next turn when it wears off completely?
Not sure if there is anything official or if its more up to the DM's discretion?
You can absolutely choose the same target; while the frightened condition itself doesn't stack (it can't mechanically be more frightened of you) the durations of the effects can overlap, so when one ends the other continues the condition.
There are rules on Combining Magical Effects for spells, but in this case the longest duration wins (essentially applying the effect again resets the timer), so it's the same end result.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Ohh awesome good to know thanks! Definitely puts this build at the top of my list now