Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them?
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them? Cause if thats the case it just seems like a lot to pay as i got the spell book in my first session and wouldnt be able to use them for a long time anyway.
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Think of it this way: you can read any spell book that you find, but until you write it down into your own spell book, you can’t use it as a Wizard spell. So yes, the cost to copy is 50gp per level.
This allows the Wizard to collect spells as they travel. The gold cost is an important limiting factor from just obtaining every spell easily.
So keep the book on hand to copy later, and coordinate the spells you learn so you don’t duplicate one you can copy later.
Exactly as Brewksy said: It will cost 50 gp per level of the spell you want to copy into your own spell book so you can cast them.
Being only level 2, that cost seems very high because you probably don't have very much gold to begin with. However, think of it as a way of getting more spells outside the normal leveling up way. Depending on what spells are in the book it can be very useful because it will allow you to pick different spells at level up and then copy those later, expanding your choices of spell.
If you wish, you can share what spells come in the book that you got and we can give you recommendations on which ones to take and which ones to ignore.
Ok thanks for your help. I knew that with learning spells from scrolls i needed the 50g cost per level but wasnt sure about ones found in other spell books. So guess ill be holding onto it for a while then until i get enough gold to copy them.
Unfortunately i already know a few of the spells but the spells are Disguise Self, Identify which i already have, Mage armor already have, magic missile already have, magic Missile, Protection from Evil and Good, Darkvision but im a tiefling so i already have darkvision, Hold Person, Invisibility, and Magic Weapon.
Since you mentioned Curse of Strahd, a caveat: the PHB was not written to cope with certain economic factors at play in CoS. If this comes up for you, you'll know it, and you'll want to have a frank conversation with your DM about how certain things should work if you're to have fun as a wizard in this campaign. You can also come back here for advice once you know what I'm talking about so I don't have to tip-toe around spoilers.
one other thing to note. Magical Item spell books. i dont' know if yours counts. But if they are magical items and spell books. they usually require attunement but once you attune to them the spell book and all the spells actualy written in them count as yours by default. Though that's never really discussed much anywhere.
one other thing to note. Magical Item spell books. i dont' know if yours counts. But if they are magical items and spell books. they usually require attunement but once you attune to them the spell book and all the spells actualy written in them count as yours by default. Though that's never really discussed much anywhere.
Those are specific magic items and would be in the magic item description. It would be described as a magical item and the DM will let you know 🙂
Also remember it's 50gp of supplies. So if you're in a campaign that doesn't have a shop to buy fine inks/materials, your DM can (if they're willing to help your wizard) have those as loot spread throughout the area. It makes sense, because if an area has a wizard, that wizard will probably have a chest/bag of wizardly supplies as well, for the exact reason you need them.
Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them? Cause if thats the case it just seems like a lot to pay as i got the spell book in my first session and wouldnt be able to use them for a long time anyway.
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Think of it this way: you can read any spell book that you find, but until you write it down into your own spell book, you can’t use it as a Wizard spell. So yes, the cost to copy is 50gp per level.
This allows the Wizard to collect spells as they travel. The gold cost is an important limiting factor from just obtaining every spell easily.
So keep the book on hand to copy later, and coordinate the spells you learn so you don’t duplicate one you can copy later.
You own another arcane tome. Why do you have to copy spells from it into your awarded arcane tome? Why can't you just memorize a spell from any arcane tome?
Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them? Cause if thats the case it just seems like a lot to pay as i got the spell book in my first session and wouldnt be able to use them for a long time anyway.
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Think of it this way: you can read any spell book that you find, but until you write it down into your own spell book, you can’t use it as a Wizard spell. So yes, the cost to copy is 50gp per level.
This allows the Wizard to collect spells as they travel. The gold cost is an important limiting factor from just obtaining every spell easily.
So keep the book on hand to copy later, and coordinate the spells you learn so you don’t duplicate one you can copy later.
You own another arcane tome. Why do you have to copy spells from it into your awarded arcane tome? Why can't you just memorize a spell from any arcane tome?
No. Each wizard has their own notations and marks in their books that make them unique. So while you can use another wizards spell book to copy spells, the time and cost to copy is a result of you practicing and making your own notations as you copy it over.
Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.
Copying that spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe it into your spellbook using your own notation.
For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells.
yeah, what sakage said, while owners-keepers-losers-weepers and its now your spell book, you still have to decipher and learn each spell and recopy them in your own shorthand. this is from spellbook:
"For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells."
Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them? Cause if thats the case it just seems like a lot to pay as i got the spell book in my first session and wouldnt be able to use them for a long time anyway.
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Think of it this way: you can read any spell book that you find, but until you write it down into your own spell book, you can’t use it as a Wizard spell. So yes, the cost to copy is 50gp per level.
This allows the Wizard to collect spells as they travel. The gold cost is an important limiting factor from just obtaining every spell easily.
So keep the book on hand to copy later, and coordinate the spells you learn so you don’t duplicate one you can copy later.
You own another arcane tome. Why do you have to copy spells from it into your awarded arcane tome? Why can't you just memorize a spell from any arcane tome?
SaKage gives you the technical reasons of why. But essentially if you need an easy way to think about it. You are in possession of another Wizards Spell book (living Status does not matter) but you do not own it. Ever. you can use it as a research tool to aquire spells and put them into a spell book you do own but unless it has magical qualities that make exceptions and often require attunement you will never actually own that other wizards spell book. Ownership requires a level of individual personalization that you put into writing down each spell.
Another way to think of it is Kind of like a Diary of magical notes. you may hold onto it, you may gain information from what's written in it. But it will always be the Diary of whoever wrote it unless special mechanics say otherwise.
All you are saying is the rules as written are in stone and cannot be changed? As I understand it your personally awarded arcane tome is as unique as your arcane Master and your penmanship make it. Your awarded arcane tome has full descriptions of all spells you have learned and described or copied. You also have a smaller traveling size arcane tome describing the bear essentials of the arcane spells you wish to memorize. Can you memorize a spell from a spell scroll?
i think he's telling you what the rules are, and no, they can't be changed by anyone but WotC. No, they're not written in stone, but they are written in ink and you don't have that pen....players can use their own alternate rules and everyone can do whatever they want, but that doesn't involve changing the actual rules.
No, you can not memorize a spell from a spell scroll. You can cast it, but you can not memorize it. You can copy it (which destroys the scroll), following the same copy rules, and then you can prepare it from your spell book.
All you are saying is the rules as written are in stone and cannot be changed? As I understand it your personally awarded arcane tome is as unique as your arcane Master and your penmanship make it. Your awarded arcane tome has full descriptions of all spells you have learned and described or copied. You also have a smaller traveling size arcane tome describing the bear essentials of the arcane spells you wish to memorize. Can you memorize a spell from a spell scroll?
Actually. By RaW. The only book you have with you is the one you carry. That travel spell book you mention.
You do not possess some kind of master Tome that tells you all the mechanical details we as players use somewhere. This is not a thing by RaW in the game for any arcane spell caster anywhere.
By RaW and tone of the way things are written in the game. To have any kind of second spell book only exists if you you spend the costs to make it. And it's still only written in the details and arcane notes you mark down to be able to make it work. There is no master volume and then a pocket volume setup.
If you copy your spells into the acquired spell book can you then use them straight from it? In other words can you then use it as your spare spell book.
If you copy your spells into the acquired spell book can you then use them straight from it? In other words can you then use it as your spare spell book.
yes..it'd just have several pages of spells you can't prepare unless you recopied them further in the spellbook.
Hi, i have started playing a game of curse of strahd as a wizard and found a human skin spell book with a heap of spells in it. Im level 2 btw. It already says what spells they are. They are only level 1 and 2 spells.
How would i be able to use them? Would i have to pay the 50g of components per spell to copy them over to mine to use them?
Any help would be appreciated. Please no spoilers.
Think of it this way: you can read any spell book that you find, but until you write it down into your own spell book, you can’t use it as a Wizard spell. So yes, the cost to copy is 50gp per level.
This allows the Wizard to collect spells as they travel. The gold cost is an important limiting factor from just obtaining every spell easily.
So keep the book on hand to copy later, and coordinate the spells you learn so you don’t duplicate one you can copy later.
Exactly as Brewksy said: It will cost 50 gp per level of the spell you want to copy into your own spell book so you can cast them.
Being only level 2, that cost seems very high because you probably don't have very much gold to begin with. However, think of it as a way of getting more spells outside the normal leveling up way. Depending on what spells are in the book it can be very useful because it will allow you to pick different spells at level up and then copy those later, expanding your choices of spell.
If you wish, you can share what spells come in the book that you got and we can give you recommendations on which ones to take and which ones to ignore.
Ok thanks for your help. I knew that with learning spells from scrolls i needed the 50g cost per level but wasnt sure about ones found in other spell books. So guess ill be holding onto it for a while then until i get enough gold to copy them.
Unfortunately i already know a few of the spells but the spells are Disguise Self, Identify which i already have, Mage armor already have, magic missile already have, magic Missile, Protection from Evil and Good, Darkvision but im a tiefling so i already have darkvision, Hold Person, Invisibility, and Magic Weapon.
Since you mentioned Curse of Strahd, a caveat: the PHB was not written to cope with certain economic factors at play in CoS. If this comes up for you, you'll know it, and you'll want to have a frank conversation with your DM about how certain things should work if you're to have fun as a wizard in this campaign. You can also come back here for advice once you know what I'm talking about so I don't have to tip-toe around spoilers.
Ok thanks ill mention it to the DM. And thanks for being vague and not spoiling anything haha.
one other thing to note. Magical Item spell books. i dont' know if yours counts. But if they are magical items and spell books. they usually require attunement but once you attune to them the spell book and all the spells actualy written in them count as yours by default. Though that's never really discussed much anywhere.
Those are specific magic items and would be in the magic item description. It would be described as a magical item and the DM will let you know 🙂
As a DM, I allow a player to spend 8 hours reviewing someone else's spellbook and after that, they can treat it as their own. This is a House Rule
Also remember it's 50gp of supplies. So if you're in a campaign that doesn't have a shop to buy fine inks/materials, your DM can (if they're willing to help your wizard) have those as loot spread throughout the area. It makes sense, because if an area has a wizard, that wizard will probably have a chest/bag of wizardly supplies as well, for the exact reason you need them.
You own another arcane tome. Why do you have to copy spells from it into your awarded arcane tome? Why can't you just memorize a spell from any arcane tome?
No. Each wizard has their own notations and marks in their books that make them unique. So while you can use another wizards spell book to copy spells, the time and cost to copy is a result of you practicing and making your own notations as you copy it over.
Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.
Copying that spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe it into your spellbook using your own notation.
For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells.
yeah, what sakage said, while owners-keepers-losers-weepers and its now your spell book, you still have to decipher and learn each spell and recopy them in your own shorthand. this is from spellbook:
"For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells."
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
SaKage gives you the technical reasons of why. But essentially if you need an easy way to think about it. You are in possession of another Wizards Spell book (living Status does not matter) but you do not own it. Ever. you can use it as a research tool to aquire spells and put them into a spell book you do own but unless it has magical qualities that make exceptions and often require attunement you will never actually own that other wizards spell book. Ownership requires a level of individual personalization that you put into writing down each spell.
Another way to think of it is Kind of like a Diary of magical notes. you may hold onto it, you may gain information from what's written in it. But it will always be the Diary of whoever wrote it unless special mechanics say otherwise.
All you are saying is the rules as written are in stone and cannot be changed? As I understand it your personally awarded arcane tome is as unique as your arcane Master and your penmanship make it. Your awarded arcane tome has full descriptions of all spells you have learned and described or copied. You also have a smaller traveling size arcane tome describing the bear essentials of the arcane spells you wish to memorize. Can you memorize a spell from a spell scroll?
i think he's telling you what the rules are, and no, they can't be changed by anyone but WotC. No, they're not written in stone, but they are written in ink and you don't have that pen....players can use their own alternate rules and everyone can do whatever they want, but that doesn't involve changing the actual rules.
No, you can not memorize a spell from a spell scroll. You can cast it, but you can not memorize it. You can copy it (which destroys the scroll), following the same copy rules, and then you can prepare it from your spell book.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Actually. By RaW. The only book you have with you is the one you carry. That travel spell book you mention.
You do not possess some kind of master Tome that tells you all the mechanical details we as players use somewhere. This is not a thing by RaW in the game for any arcane spell caster anywhere.
By RaW and tone of the way things are written in the game. To have any kind of second spell book only exists if you you spend the costs to make it. And it's still only written in the details and arcane notes you mark down to be able to make it work. There is no master volume and then a pocket volume setup.
If you copy your spells into the acquired spell book can you then use them straight from it? In other words can you then use it as your spare spell book.
yes..it'd just have several pages of spells you can't prepare unless you recopied them further in the spellbook.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Spare back up spell book in a safe place is always a good idea.