Lets say I am playing a Arcana Domain Cleric. I have access to two different turning effects through my channel divinity: Turn Undead & Arcane Abjuration. At 17th level, I also have the Arcane Mastery feature, which lets me pick a wizard spell of 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th level. For this scenario, lets say I pick Otto's Irresistible Dance for my 6th level spell.
Now for the interaction. If I successfully turn a creature using either of my channel divinities, they have the following restriction on movement.
A turned creature must spend its turns trying to move as far away from you as it can, and it can't willingly end its move in a space within 30 feet of you. It also can't take reactions. For its action, it can only use the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there's nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action
Otto's Irresistible Dance has this effect
A dancing creature must use all its movement to dance without leaving its space and has disadvantage on Dexterity saving throws and attack rolls. While the target is affected by this spell, other creatures have advantage on attack rolls against it. As an action, a dancing creature makes a Wisdom saving throw to regain control of itself. On a successful save, the spell ends.
In this scenario could a turned creature use its action to try and end the effect of the spell? By the turning effect, a creature can use its action to end an effect that prevents it from moving, but the spell does not prevent the creature from moving, it forces the creature to use all of its movement to dance in place.
I am sure this is splitting hairs and the simple answer is "Yes, they can use their action to try and end the effect" but I am curious about your thoughts on whether there is a reasonable argument that they could not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
There's nothing in the wording that makes it impossible to try and break free of Otto's. Otto's says nothing about not having an action or limiting what you can do with your action. If you did use your dash action, per Channel Divinity, then yes, you'd have to dance more, but you're not required to do so. Looking at what both things have in the 'must' phrase (vs the 'can' phrase), you've got 'must try to move away' and 'must use its movement.'
I'd also think that 'being forced to use all your movement to dance' counts as 'nowhere to move,' enabling them to take the Dodge action. A creature might consider this a more prudent action to take, depending on their stats.
It's going to be a DM call ultimately, but personally I'd argue that being forced to waste your movement is being prevented from moving, it's just a slightly different mechanism for doing so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To me ''moving'' means leaving a space/square to enter another, which Otto's Irresistible Dance prevent, so a turned creature could use its action to try and end the effect of the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Weird hypothetical
Lets say I am playing a Arcana Domain Cleric. I have access to two different turning effects through my channel divinity: Turn Undead & Arcane Abjuration. At 17th level, I also have the Arcane Mastery feature, which lets me pick a wizard spell of 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th level. For this scenario, lets say I pick Otto's Irresistible Dance for my 6th level spell.
Now for the interaction. If I successfully turn a creature using either of my channel divinities, they have the following restriction on movement.
Otto's Irresistible Dance has this effect
In this scenario could a turned creature use its action to try and end the effect of the spell? By the turning effect, a creature can use its action to end an effect that prevents it from moving, but the spell does not prevent the creature from moving, it forces the creature to use all of its movement to dance in place.
I am sure this is splitting hairs and the simple answer is "Yes, they can use their action to try and end the effect" but I am curious about your thoughts on whether there is a reasonable argument that they could not.
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
There's nothing in the wording that makes it impossible to try and break free of Otto's. Otto's says nothing about not having an action or limiting what you can do with your action. If you did use your dash action, per Channel Divinity, then yes, you'd have to dance more, but you're not required to do so. Looking at what both things have in the 'must' phrase (vs the 'can' phrase), you've got 'must try to move away' and 'must use its movement.'
I'd also think that 'being forced to use all your movement to dance' counts as 'nowhere to move,' enabling them to take the Dodge action. A creature might consider this a more prudent action to take, depending on their stats.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
It's going to be a DM call ultimately, but personally I'd argue that being forced to waste your movement is being prevented from moving, it's just a slightly different mechanism for doing so.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To me ''moving'' means leaving a space/square to enter another, which Otto's Irresistible Dance prevent, so a turned creature could use its action to try and end the effect of the spell.