Not sure if this is a bug or my inexperience is showing, but here goes.
So, a while ago my party levelled up to 7. I'm a wizard, but I multi-classed into Artifice to gain armour and shield proficiencies, plus a little healing magic. So as a Wizard 6/Artifice 1, I was under the impression that, being a half caster, the mc into Artifice wouldn't give me the 4th level spell, but D&D Beyond has the slot there for me to use. My DM said he thought I shouldn't have it either, but to his credit he has ruled that as the app shows I have it, I'm allowed to use it, despite interpretation of the rules.
It's been some time and hasn't presented an issue at all, and I don't gain the ability to add 4th level wizard spells, which makes sense. But as I have the same slots available as the other full caster in the campaign, it feels weird that I have the slot. Any thoughts? More experienced 5e players let me know, is this correct? If not a bug, then this post can be deleted.
When calculating the caster-level for multiclassing, you add half your Artificer levels rounded up, not down. This is because you got Spellcasting at first level as an Artificer.
No need to delete this thread, someone else may be similarly confused and be glad to find out it's not a bug.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Here are the rules for calculating spell slots when multiclassing spellcaster classes. Most partial-caster classes round down, but the rules for Artificer have this to say about multiclassing with Artificer as one of your classes:
Ability Score Minimum. As a multiclass character, you must have at least an Intelligence score of 13 to take a level in this class, or to take a level in another class if you are already an artificer.
Proficiencies Gained. If artificer isn’t your initial class, here are the proficiencies you gain when you take your first level as an artificer: light armor, medium armor, shields, thieves’ tools, tinker’s tools.
Spell Slots. Add half your levels (rounded up) in the artificer class to the appropriate levels from other classes to determine your available spell slots.
Not sure if this is a bug or my inexperience is showing, but here goes.
So, a while ago my party levelled up to 7. I'm a wizard, but I multi-classed into Artifice to gain armour and shield proficiencies, plus a little healing magic. So as a Wizard 6/Artifice 1, I was under the impression that, being a half caster, the mc into Artifice wouldn't give me the 4th level spell, but D&D Beyond has the slot there for me to use. My DM said he thought I shouldn't have it either, but to his credit he has ruled that as the app shows I have it, I'm allowed to use it, despite interpretation of the rules.
It's been some time and hasn't presented an issue at all, and I don't gain the ability to add 4th level wizard spells, which makes sense. But as I have the same slots available as the other full caster in the campaign, it feels weird that I have the slot. Any thoughts? More experienced 5e players let me know, is this correct? If not a bug, then this post can be deleted.
When calculating the caster-level for multiclassing, you add half your Artificer levels rounded up, not down. This is because you got Spellcasting at first level as an Artificer.
No need to delete this thread, someone else may be similarly confused and be glad to find out it's not a bug.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Slight correction, in case I miscommunicated it. I started as Wizard and multi-classed into Artifice.
I thought you calculated slots as half your level for full casters, and one third of your level for half casters?
Here are the rules for calculating spell slots when multiclassing spellcaster classes. Most partial-caster classes round down, but the rules for Artificer have this to say about multiclassing with Artificer as one of your classes:
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Ooh, good to know. Thank you! That explains it.
Guess I need to read more rules heh.