Does casting Rope Trick inside the space already created by a previously cast Rope Trick end up with the same results of a bag of holding in a portable hole?
"Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward's handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened."
No, that rule on bag of holding, portable hole, and handy haversack interacting with each other only applies to them and "similar items" interacting with them. Rope Trick is not an item, and no such rule is on the spell.
The only "grey" area here is what constitutes similar; I have encountered multiple GMs who rule that the extradimensional item a Genie Warlock gets from their patron does not count as "similar", although I personally think the reasoning is specious at best. A similar question which is, perhaps, better, is what happens if you have a magic rope that casts Rope Trick on itself on command - now "similar" is a much odder duck to define.
The Genie warlock's Vessel is usually considered "not similar" for purposes of blowing up reality because otherwise the class feature is wasted the moment the warlock gets one of many relatively common magical items, and/or the Genie warlock doesn't ever get to use those items. Nor can the party, once the warlock achieves tenth level and gains Sanctuary Vessel.
The Genie's Vessel is honestly more like Rope Trick than it is like an extradimensional item. Yes, the space is anchored to a given item, but that item can change, and the space is intended to enter and lair in rather than for use as item storage. Clever Genielocks will often leave caches of supplies in their Vessel, yes, but that's because it's our major subclass feature and we only ever get access to those supplies once a day in the first place. Telling us we're going to TPK the whole-ass party the first time somebody forgets to leave their bag of holding at the door is simply not fun given the other limitations on the Vessel. Or at least that was the reasoning we arrived at in the very brief time I got to play my beloved Genielock. Still miss that fuzzy little shit...
The Genie warlock's Vessel is usually considered "not similar" for purposes of blowing up reality because otherwise the class feature is wasted the moment the warlock gets one of many relatively common magical items, and/or the Genie warlock doesn't ever get to use those items. Nor can the party, once the warlock achieves tenth level and gains Sanctuary Vessel.
The Genie's Vessel is honestly more like Rope Trick than it is like an extradimensional item. Yes, the space is anchored to a given item, but that item can change, and the space is intended to enter and lair in rather than for use as item storage. Clever Genielocks will often leave caches of supplies in their Vessel, yes, but that's because it's our major subclass feature and we only ever get access to those supplies once a day in the first place. Telling us we're going to TPK the whole-ass party the first time somebody forgets to leave their bag of holding at the door is simply not fun given the other limitations on the Vessel. Or at least that was the reasoning we arrived at in the very brief time I got to play my beloved Genielock. Still miss that fuzzy little shit...
I think in general it's the exact opposite of what you're presenting: giving a genielock 50% of an unstoppable planar grenade that regenerates every hour is very powerful, so GMs come up with this as a rationale for stopping it. Otherwise, a genielock + artificer combo (can be multiclassed, or, more likely, you just have two different PCs in the party with those two classes) has very few problems capable of stopping them for long.
Stop and think about what you are saying, the rope trick spell is cast on a rope 60 foot long, which rises up it's full length before creating an extra dimensional space that is big enough to hold 8 medium creatures - that would be sitting side by side, not standing on each others shoulders. Even if they did stand on top of each other they would have to be over 10 foot tall each - so not medium sized creatures. What part of that leads you to believe that they could cast the spell on another 60 foot piece of rope?
Critical clarification, Beardsinger: Rope Trick is cast on a piece of rope up to 60 feet long. That "Up To" is not inconsequential language. My tricksy-but-malnourished Strength 6 criminal wizard has a ten-foot piece of knotted rope for Rope Trick specifically to make it easier for her to get quickly up into her hideyhole space without a crushing Athletics check she's unlikely to pass.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please do not contact or message me.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does casting Rope Trick inside the space already created by a previously cast Rope Trick end up with the same results of a bag of holding in a portable hole?
"Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward's handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened."
No, that rule on bag of holding, portable hole, and handy haversack interacting with each other only applies to them and "similar items" interacting with them. Rope Trick is not an item, and no such rule is on the spell.
The only "grey" area here is what constitutes similar; I have encountered multiple GMs who rule that the extradimensional item a Genie Warlock gets from their patron does not count as "similar", although I personally think the reasoning is specious at best. A similar question which is, perhaps, better, is what happens if you have a magic rope that casts Rope Trick on itself on command - now "similar" is a much odder duck to define.
The Genie warlock's Vessel is usually considered "not similar" for purposes of blowing up reality because otherwise the class feature is wasted the moment the warlock gets one of many relatively common magical items, and/or the Genie warlock doesn't ever get to use those items. Nor can the party, once the warlock achieves tenth level and gains Sanctuary Vessel.
The Genie's Vessel is honestly more like Rope Trick than it is like an extradimensional item. Yes, the space is anchored to a given item, but that item can change, and the space is intended to enter and lair in rather than for use as item storage. Clever Genielocks will often leave caches of supplies in their Vessel, yes, but that's because it's our major subclass feature and we only ever get access to those supplies once a day in the first place. Telling us we're going to TPK the whole-ass party the first time somebody forgets to leave their bag of holding at the door is simply not fun given the other limitations on the Vessel. Or at least that was the reasoning we arrived at in the very brief time I got to play my beloved Genielock. Still miss that fuzzy little shit...
Please do not contact or message me.
I think in general it's the exact opposite of what you're presenting: giving a genielock 50% of an unstoppable planar grenade that regenerates every hour is very powerful, so GMs come up with this as a rationale for stopping it. Otherwise, a genielock + artificer combo (can be multiclassed, or, more likely, you just have two different PCs in the party with those two classes) has very few problems capable of stopping them for long.
Stop and think about what you are saying, the rope trick spell is cast on a rope 60 foot long, which rises up it's full length before creating an extra dimensional space that is big enough to hold 8 medium creatures - that would be sitting side by side, not standing on each others shoulders. Even if they did stand on top of each other they would have to be over 10 foot tall each - so not medium sized creatures. What part of that leads you to believe that they could cast the spell on another 60 foot piece of rope?
Critical clarification, Beardsinger: Rope Trick is cast on a piece of rope up to 60 feet long. That "Up To" is not inconsequential language. My tricksy-but-malnourished Strength 6 criminal wizard has a ten-foot piece of knotted rope for Rope Trick specifically to make it easier for her to get quickly up into her hideyhole space without a crushing Athletics check she's unlikely to pass.
Please do not contact or message me.