Even without going into the specifics like the dimensions of the cavern, layout, occupants and so forth, the environmental impact Meteor Swarm will have is entirely up to the Dungeon Master to decide. I personally wouldn't risk it unless I was in my video game mindset of places not being destroyable, and even then a lot of DMs probably aren't sympathetic to such lapses in judgement.
Remember 'rulings versus rules'. The spell says nothing about collapsing the cavern, but who's in charge: the spell text, or the DM?
Zero is the most important number in D&D: Session Zero sets the boundaries and the tone; Rule Zero dictates the Dungeon Master (DM) is the final arbiter; and Zero D&D is better than Bad D&D.
"Let us speak plainly now, and in earnest, for words mean little without the weight of conviction."
While the spell, unlike a lot of spells (many spells just mention 'creatures', and start of turn spells can't ever damage objects because objects don't have turns), does say that it damages objects, it doesn't actually say what damage objects take.
The spell says nothing about collapsing the cavern, but who's in charge: the spell text, or the DM?
The walls and roof will each be taking 40d6 of damage, which will get through the hardness of the object(s) and cause significant structural damage.
You have to choose four points in range, and in those four points its 20d6 bludgeon and 20d6 fire. So the reality is, 80d6 bludgeon and 80d6 fire.
That cave system is ****ed.
Depends how the DM handles it I guess. Meteor Swarm blasts can overlap but a single creature only takes the damage and makes the save once, even if there's a venn diagram situation going on and they're standing in all four blasts. That could trnslate into just damaging the cave system once too.
While the spell, unlike a lot of spells (many spells just mention 'creatures', and start of turn spells can't ever damage objects because objects don't have turns), does say that it damages objects, it doesn't actually say what damage objects take.
Since it doesn't specify double-damage or any such multiplier, then the default of x1 applies for the rolled damage.
The spell says nothing about collapsing the cavern, but who's in charge: the spell text, or the DM?
The walls and roof will each be taking 40d6 of damage, which will get through the hardness of the object(s) and cause significant structural damage.
You have to choose four points in range, and in those four points its 20d6 bludgeon and 20d6 fire. So the reality is, 80d6 bludgeon and 80d6 fire.
That cave system is ****ed.
Eh...either you're modelling the dungeon as a single entity/the blasts are focused or they're separated out. If they're separated out, any given point in the dungeon would get 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire. If the dungeon is modelled as a single whole or the blasts are concentrated, the fire damage doesnt overlap, so it gets 80d6 bludgeoning and "only" 20d6 fire.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Eh...either you're modelling the dungeon as a single entity/the blasts are focused or they're separated out. If they're separated out, any given point in the dungeon would get 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire. If the dungeon is modelled as a single whole or the blasts are concentrated, the fire damage doesnt overlap, so it gets 80d6 bludgeoning and "only" 20d6 fire.
No, it takes 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire.The 'fiery bursts' in "A creature in the area of more than one fiery burst is affected only once." are the meteors, not the fire damage.
Eh...either you're modelling the dungeon as a single entity/the blasts are focused or they're separated out. If they're separated out, any given point in the dungeon would get 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire. If the dungeon is modelled as a single whole or the blasts are concentrated, the fire damage doesnt overlap, so it gets 80d6 bludgeoning and "only" 20d6 fire.
No, it takes 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire.The 'fiery bursts' in "A creature in the area of more than one fiery burst is affected only once." are the meteors, not the fire damage.
If the Dungeon is a creature, sure. It has no such clause for structures.
If the Dungeon is a creature, sure. It has no such clause for structures.
It has no clause specifying how much damage the dungeon takes at all, it only defines damage taken by creatures. Based on wall of stone, it only takes out around five inches of stone.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
See title.
The meteors appear and land, causing damage in a 40 ft radius sphere. The spell doesn't restrict you to casting it outdoors.
Yeah, and since its a cavern good luck even entertaining the thought of getting away without a cave collapse.
This Spell Not Safe For Indoor Use.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Though it may be a problem if the cavern is less than 40' across.
Even without going into the specifics like the dimensions of the cavern, layout, occupants and so forth, the environmental impact Meteor Swarm will have is entirely up to the Dungeon Master to decide. I personally wouldn't risk it unless I was in my video game mindset of places not being destroyable, and even then a lot of DMs probably aren't sympathetic to such lapses in judgement.
Remember 'rulings versus rules'. The spell says nothing about collapsing the cavern, but who's in charge: the spell text, or the DM?
Zero is the most important number in D&D: Session Zero sets the boundaries and the tone; Rule Zero dictates the Dungeon Master (DM) is the final arbiter; and Zero D&D is better than Bad D&D.
"Let us speak plainly now, and in earnest, for words mean little without the weight of conviction."
- The Assemblage of Houses, World of Warcraft
The walls and roof will each be taking 40d6 of damage, which will get through the hardness of the object(s) and cause significant structural damage.
You have to choose four points in range, and in those four points its 20d6 bludgeon and 20d6 fire. So the reality is, 80d6 bludgeon and 80d6 fire.
That cave system is ****ed.
cruise meteors with a tight spread
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
While the spell, unlike a lot of spells (many spells just mention 'creatures', and start of turn spells can't ever damage objects because objects don't have turns), does say that it damages objects, it doesn't actually say what damage objects take.
Depends how the DM handles it I guess. Meteor Swarm blasts can overlap but a single creature only takes the damage and makes the save once, even if there's a venn diagram situation going on and they're standing in all four blasts. That could trnslate into just damaging the cave system once too.
Since it doesn't specify double-damage or any such multiplier, then the default of x1 applies for the rolled damage.
Eh...either you're modelling the dungeon as a single entity/the blasts are focused or they're separated out. If they're separated out, any given point in the dungeon would get 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire. If the dungeon is modelled as a single whole or the blasts are concentrated, the fire damage doesnt overlap, so it gets 80d6 bludgeoning and "only" 20d6 fire.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
No, it takes 20d6 bludgeoning and 20d6 fire.The 'fiery bursts' in "A creature in the area of more than one fiery burst is affected only once." are the meteors, not the fire damage.
If the Dungeon is a creature, sure. It has no such clause for structures.
It has no clause specifying how much damage the dungeon takes at all, it only defines damage taken by creatures. Based on wall of stone, it only takes out around five inches of stone.