1) Does an "Enspelled Weapon" count as Magical for any monster resistances and such ?
2) Can "Enspelled Armour" be robes ? or clothes or such - or does it HAVE to be an actual "armour" or "shield" ?
1. Yes, if the resistance says something like "damage from non-magical weapons".
2. No, it has to be actual armor, and it can't be a shield. It says this at the top of the item description: "Armor (Any Light, Medium, or Heavy)". Clothes and shields do not fall into any of those three categories.
Note that it seems unlikely to be relevant going forward; if you look at the '24 classes you'll see that the features that made PSB magic damage have been replaced with making the damage Force instead, and we've yet to see a monster using the updated template that has resistance or immunity to non-silvered or non-PSB damage.
I have another question relating to enspelled weapons. It says attack bonus +5, +7, +9, +10
Does it override my to hit bonus or is it saying that's bonus damage? I just want to make sure I don't do something broken.
That’s the attack bonus you use when casting the spell stored in the weapon, if the spell requires an attack roll. Making a normal attack with the weapon itself still uses your normal attack modifier.
My DM approved the creation of a level one enspelled armor with the shield spell. As an intermediate user, I am unsure how to craft it for proper integration into the DNDBeyond character sheet. As of now, I just added the description of the shield spell into the notes section along with price set by DM.
Is there a way to create a version that will pop up on a VTT?
Thanks for your earlier reply! After your feedback last month, I discovered something useful as a workaround. In the Actions part of the DNDBeyond character sheet, you can create an online custom action for your character.
For my enspelled armor with the shield spell, I took the following steps: Manage Custom Actions => Add New Action (Chose General from drop-down box) ==> Edit ==> Added the information about the spell (Activation type, name, snippet, description, etc.).
Are there limits to spells besides the stated schools for weapons and armour. Such as spells with a casting time of action only, also do material components factor in at creation or potentially also at casting.
Thinking of potential big bad with an Enspelled dagger of clone, although the dagger is in a lair rather than on their person. I can see the chamber being required even with the dagger, but would the consumed flesh and diamond also be required each cast, or would the dagger be locked into cloning the big bad, or who's flesh was used in the production. I mean adds a nice potential encore for the big bad... Team defeat the big bad... learn about the clones... find the lair and put and end to that finally dealing with this evil... discover the Dagger and decided to use it to grant themselves power over death only to learn they brought back the very evil they wanted to destroy.
Thinking from the Enspelled weapon approach as I know could homebrew something to do as I please, but rather work within the existing limits.
Are there limits to spells besides the stated schools for weapons and armour. Such as spells with a casting time of action only, also do material components factor in at creation or potentially also at casting.
Thinking of potential big bad with an Enspelled dagger of clone, although the dagger is in a lair rather than on their person. I can see the chamber being required even with the dagger, but would the consumed flesh and diamond also be required each cast, or would the dagger be locked into cloning the big bad, or who's flesh was used in the production. I mean adds a nice potential encore for the big bad... Team defeat the big bad... learn about the clones... find the lair and put and end to that finally dealing with this evil... discover the Dagger and decided to use it to grant themselves power over death only to learn they brought back the very evil they wanted to destroy.
Thinking from the Enspelled weapon approach as I know could homebrew something to do as I please, but rather work within the existing limits.
There are no restrictions on casting time. When casting a spell from an item, it uses the normal casting time unless the item specifies otherwise (this one doesn't).
Spells cast from magic items don't require material components unless the item says they do (this one doesn't). The general rules on magic item crafting say that when you craft a magic item that can cast spells, you need to have the material components on hand when crafting it, and that if the spell consumes its components, they're consumed when the item is finished being crafted.
So, with Clone specifically, both the diamond and the vessel need to be present when the item is created, and the diamond is consumed at that time. (The 2024 version of Clone no longer requires a piece of the target's flesh as a component.)
However, given that Clone costs 3000 gp to cast normally, but a Legendary magic item costs 100,000 gp to create, you would need to cast Clone from the dagger 34 times before using the dagger would be cheaper than just casting Clone a bunch of times normally.
In text for clone the clone matures for 120 days within vessel which is why suspect that might fall outside of item creation rules.
It's a big bad they don't care for cheap options. Shame flesh dropped as then allows it to just clone caster, rather than potentially being locked to what the creator desired.
In text for clone the clone matures for 120 days within vessel which is why suspect that might fall outside of item creation rules.
It's a big bad they don't care for cheap options. Shame flesh dropped as then allows it to just clone caster, rather than potentially being locked to what the creator desired.
Cheers for quick response.
The clone matures for 120 days after the spell is cast, which is always going to be after the item is finished being created.
Just to clarify, the new version of the spell does still allow cloning people other than the caster. It still requires you to touch a piece of the target's flesh when casting the spell. But it's no longer listed as a material component, which means it doesn't need to be present when the item is created.
Hello. I'm wondering how to add an Enspelled Armor to my inventory effectively.
I'm playing as a Fighter with Enspelled chainmail. I've added the armor to my inventory and that's all good. The armor has 6 charges of a Cantrip or a level 1 spell for my purposes (uncommon level item), but there doesn't appear to be a way to select the spell that is enspelled into the armor or to track the charges.
I tried just adding a spell but because I'm playing a Fighter it just says you don't have any spells and you can't add any and there is no customization to this.
I tried adding a Custom Action of type Spell, but that is missing a lot of options and seems to be mainly geared to attack spells. In this case I want to use the Shield spell. The custom action doesn't include a + to AC and there doesn't appear to be a way to add a charge count or how the charges are restored (i.e. dice type and rest period).
I've added the custom action as best as I can, but it's definitely far less than ideal.
There isn't any way to directly add the spell. Your custom action is what I did for my enspelled studded leather armor item.
As a work around, I copy pasted the shield spell's description and put it into the notes section of the enspelled armor.
I took the following steps: Manage Custom Actions => Add New Action (Chose General from drop-down box) ==> Edit ==> Added the information about the spell (Activation type, name, snippet, description, etc.).
When you use it in a VTT, you can still display the armor itself and tell the DM through Discord or other audio channel that you cast shield as a reaction.
1. The entry for "enspelled weapon" (p. 258, DMG) states: "While holding the weapon, you can expend one charge to cast its spell." What does that mean? Is it a magic action do this? A free action? Usually the formula in the entries is sth. like "As a magic action you can...", or "If you take a magic action to...", or "This item has three command words, each requiring a magic action...", or "while holding this weapon you can take a bonus action and use a command word..."
2. If a spell requires concentration, do you need to concentrate while using the spell of the weapon? (e. g. Hunter's mark, "Concentration, up to 1 hour")
1. The entry for "enspelled weapon" (p. 258, DMG) states: "While holding the weapon, you can expend one charge to cast its spell." What does that mean? Is it a magic action do this? A free action? Usually the formula in the entries is sth. like "As a magic action you can...", or "If you take a magic action to...", or "This item has three command words, each requiring a magic action...", or "while holding this weapon you can take a bonus action and use a command word..."
2. If a spell requires concentration, do you need to concentrate while using the spell of the weapon? (e. g. Hunter's mark, "Concentration, up to 1 hour")
Thanks in advance for your answers.
Answers to both of these questions can be found in the Dungeon Master's Guide section on Activating Magic Items here (this really should be in the Player's Handbook, but that ship has sailed). The short version is:
1. It takes the spell's normal casting time (which may be a Magic action, a bonus action, a reaction, or a longer stretch of Magic actions) unless the item specifies otherwise.
1. The entry for "enspelled weapon" (p. 258, DMG) states: "While holding the weapon, you can expend one charge to cast its spell." What does that mean? Is it a magic action do this? A free action? Usually the formula in the entries is sth. like "As a magic action you can...", or "If you take a magic action to...", or "This item has three command words, each requiring a magic action...", or "while holding this weapon you can take a bonus action and use a command word..."
The casting of the spell requires the spells normal casting time (as it makes no mention of changing or restricting the casting time). This means it'll use the Magic Action for spells with a casting time of 1 action (per the rules glossary), otherwise it'll use the relevant Bonus Action, Reaction, or multiple actions.
2. If a spell requires concentration, do you need to concentrate while using the spell of the weapon? (e. g. Hunter's mark, "Concentration, up to 1 hour")
Heya,
Wondered on your thoughts on two things folks....
1) Does an "Enspelled Weapon" count as Magical for any monster resistances and such ?
2) Can "Enspelled Armour" be robes ? or clothes or such - or does it HAVE to be an actual "armour" or "shield" ?
1. Yes, if the resistance says something like "damage from non-magical weapons".
2. No, it has to be actual armor, and it can't be a shield. It says this at the top of the item description: "Armor (Any Light, Medium, or Heavy)". Clothes and shields do not fall into any of those three categories.
pronouns: he/she/they
thanks for the clarification :) appreciated
No problem!
pronouns: he/she/they
Note that it seems unlikely to be relevant going forward; if you look at the '24 classes you'll see that the features that made PSB magic damage have been replaced with making the damage Force instead, and we've yet to see a monster using the updated template that has resistance or immunity to non-silvered or non-PSB damage.
I have another question relating to enspelled weapons. It says attack bonus +5, +7, +9, +10
Does it override my to hit bonus or is it saying that's bonus damage? I just want to make sure I don't do something broken.
That’s the attack bonus you use when casting the spell stored in the weapon, if the spell requires an attack roll. Making a normal attack with the weapon itself still uses your normal attack modifier.
pronouns: he/she/they
My DM approved the creation of a level one enspelled armor with the shield spell. As an intermediate user, I am unsure how to craft it for proper integration into the DNDBeyond character sheet. As of now, I just added the description of the shield spell into the notes section along with price set by DM.
Is there a way to create a version that will pop up on a VTT?
I have the exact same question, Chu.
Not only is there seemingly no way to attach the spell, the counter is also buried deep in the inventory.
I'm hoping they fix it soon enough
Just getting back into D&D after a looong time away... be kind
I enjoy roleplay over combat, but I'm seeking to merge the two.
Thanks for your earlier reply! After your feedback last month, I discovered something useful as a workaround. In the Actions part of the DNDBeyond character sheet, you can create an online custom action for your character.
For my enspelled armor with the shield spell, I took the following steps: Manage Custom Actions => Add New Action (Chose General from drop-down box) ==> Edit ==> Added the information about the spell (Activation type, name, snippet, description, etc.).
Are there limits to spells besides the stated schools for weapons and armour. Such as spells with a casting time of action only, also do material components factor in at creation or potentially also at casting.
Thinking of potential big bad with an Enspelled dagger of clone, although the dagger is in a lair rather than on their person. I can see the chamber being required even with the dagger, but would the consumed flesh and diamond also be required each cast, or would the dagger be locked into cloning the big bad, or who's flesh was used in the production. I mean adds a nice potential encore for the big bad... Team defeat the big bad... learn about the clones... find the lair and put and end to that finally dealing with this evil... discover the Dagger and decided to use it to grant themselves power over death only to learn they brought back the very evil they wanted to destroy.
Thinking from the Enspelled weapon approach as I know could homebrew something to do as I please, but rather work within the existing limits.
There are no restrictions on casting time. When casting a spell from an item, it uses the normal casting time unless the item specifies otherwise (this one doesn't).
Spells cast from magic items don't require material components unless the item says they do (this one doesn't). The general rules on magic item crafting say that when you craft a magic item that can cast spells, you need to have the material components on hand when crafting it, and that if the spell consumes its components, they're consumed when the item is finished being crafted.
So, with Clone specifically, both the diamond and the vessel need to be present when the item is created, and the diamond is consumed at that time. (The 2024 version of Clone no longer requires a piece of the target's flesh as a component.)
However, given that Clone costs 3000 gp to cast normally, but a Legendary magic item costs 100,000 gp to create, you would need to cast Clone from the dagger 34 times before using the dagger would be cheaper than just casting Clone a bunch of times normally.
pronouns: he/she/they
In text for clone the clone matures for 120 days within vessel which is why suspect that might fall outside of item creation rules.
It's a big bad they don't care for cheap options. Shame flesh dropped as then allows it to just clone caster, rather than potentially being locked to what the creator desired.
Cheers for quick response.
The clone matures for 120 days after the spell is cast, which is always going to be after the item is finished being created.
Just to clarify, the new version of the spell does still allow cloning people other than the caster. It still requires you to touch a piece of the target's flesh when casting the spell. But it's no longer listed as a material component, which means it doesn't need to be present when the item is created.
pronouns: he/she/they
Hello. I'm wondering how to add an Enspelled Armor to my inventory effectively.
I'm playing as a Fighter with Enspelled chainmail. I've added the armor to my inventory and that's all good. The armor has 6 charges of a Cantrip or a level 1 spell for my purposes (uncommon level item), but there doesn't appear to be a way to select the spell that is enspelled into the armor or to track the charges.
I tried just adding a spell but because I'm playing a Fighter it just says you don't have any spells and you can't add any and there is no customization to this.
I tried adding a Custom Action of type Spell, but that is missing a lot of options and seems to be mainly geared to attack spells. In this case I want to use the Shield spell. The custom action doesn't include a + to AC and there doesn't appear to be a way to add a charge count or how the charges are restored (i.e. dice type and rest period).
I've added the custom action as best as I can, but it's definitely far less than ideal.
Any suggestions?
There isn't any way to directly add the spell. Your custom action is what I did for my enspelled studded leather armor item.
As a work around, I copy pasted the shield spell's description and put it into the notes section of the enspelled armor.
I took the following steps: Manage Custom Actions => Add New Action (Chose General from drop-down box) ==> Edit ==> Added the information about the spell (Activation type, name, snippet, description, etc.).
When you use it in a VTT, you can still display the armor itself and tell the DM through Discord or other audio channel that you cast shield as a reaction.
1. The entry for "enspelled weapon" (p. 258, DMG) states: "While holding the weapon, you can expend one charge to cast its spell."
What does that mean? Is it a magic action do this? A free action? Usually the formula in the entries is sth. like "As a magic action you can...", or "If you take a magic action to...", or "This item has three command words, each requiring a magic action...", or "while holding this weapon you can take a bonus action and use a command word..."
2. If a spell requires concentration, do you need to concentrate while using the spell of the weapon? (e. g. Hunter's mark, "Concentration, up to 1 hour")
Thanks in advance for your answers.
Answers to both of these questions can be found in the Dungeon Master's Guide section on Activating Magic Items here (this really should be in the Player's Handbook, but that ship has sailed). The short version is:
1. It takes the spell's normal casting time (which may be a Magic action, a bonus action, a reaction, or a longer stretch of Magic actions) unless the item specifies otherwise.
2. Yes, unless the item specifies otherwise.
pronouns: he/she/they
The casting of the spell requires the spells normal casting time (as it makes no mention of changing or restricting the casting time). This means it'll use the Magic Action for spells with a casting time of 1 action (per the rules glossary), otherwise it'll use the relevant Bonus Action, Reaction, or multiple actions.
Yes
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Wow, that was fast. Thanks a lot, wagnarokkr and Davyd. I should have read more thouroghly.