I'm currently in a campaign where are party are about to get our own Bastions. This is my first time playing with them so I'm not super well versed in the rules for them and I think I'm interpreting them differently than our DM is when it comes to how many Special Facilities a Combined Bastion can have.
We're level 11 so that means if we had individual Bastions that would be 4 Special Facilities that that Bastion could have.
He's saying that if another player and I were to combine Bastions that that Combined Bastion would still only have 4 Special Facilities.
The text about Combined Bastions is pretty sort and not very clearly written so I can kind of see where he's coming from. But my read of it makes me think that there would 8 Special Facilities, just all connected to the same building.
Two or more players can combine their characters’ Bastions into a single structure. Doing so doesn’t change the number of special facilities each Bastion can have, how those special facilities work, or who issues orders to each Bastion.....
Your DM is incorrect per RAW and it's pretty clear.
It is written a bit confusingly, it assumes you understand the premise that spamandtuna described - mechanically speaking, they're two separate bastions still, except they can share defenders. So you have 8 special facilities.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
There’s arguably one exception to the special facilities remaining discrete when part of a shared complex, depending on how you parse the way the Armory interacts with Bastion Defenders.
The Armory wouldn't come into play with a combined Bastion. The Armory only applies when you would roll to determine how many defenders you would loose, but the combined Bastion rule applies to splitting losses which requires the number of losses to have already been determined.
if some event deprives one character’s Bastion of defenders, another character can apply all or some of those losses to their Bastion instead, provided the two Bastions are combined
When any event causes you to roll dice to determine if your Bastion loses one or more of its defenders
By the time the first rule comes into effect, the opportunity for the second rule to apply has passed
Hello all,
I'm currently in a campaign where are party are about to get our own Bastions. This is my first time playing with them so I'm not super well versed in the rules for them and I think I'm interpreting them differently than our DM is when it comes to how many Special Facilities a Combined Bastion can have.
We're level 11 so that means if we had individual Bastions that would be 4 Special Facilities that that Bastion could have.
He's saying that if another player and I were to combine Bastions that that Combined Bastion would still only have 4 Special Facilities.
The text about Combined Bastions is pretty sort and not very clearly written so I can kind of see where he's coming from. But my read of it makes me think that there would 8 Special Facilities, just all connected to the same building.
Am I interpreting the rules wrong here?
Your DM is incorrect per RAW and it's pretty clear.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
For all intents and purposes, you’re effectively still operating your own separate bastions. All combining them does is let you share defenders.
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/qWzGhwBjYr
It is written a bit confusingly, it assumes you understand the premise that spamandtuna described - mechanically speaking, they're two separate bastions still, except they can share defenders. So you have 8 special facilities.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
There’s arguably one exception to the special facilities remaining discrete when part of a shared complex, depending on how you parse the way the Armory interacts with Bastion Defenders.
The Armory wouldn't come into play with a combined Bastion. The Armory only applies when you would roll to determine how many defenders you would loose, but the combined Bastion rule applies to splitting losses which requires the number of losses to have already been determined.
By the time the first rule comes into effect, the opportunity for the second rule to apply has passed
Find my D&D Beyond articles here