I'm playing an artificer in an Eberron campaign. I'm curious to know if I'm allowed to share my infused items. I haven't seen anything yet saying I can't, but I'd like to know for sure before I bring it up with our DM.
PS: I'm really enjoying the class so far - just hit level 7!
"If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item."
This is lifted from the "Infuse Item" section so yes.
The text you are referring to comes from Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer (https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/UA-Artificer2-2019.pdf). It has since been replaced with "Eberron, Rising from the Last War" (ERftlW). That specific line about "someone else can attune to the item" has been removed from "ERftlW". It is quite obvious that the intent of the removal is to prevent sharing infusions.
Considering this thread is from August 2019, three months before Rising released, it makes sense they'd be referring to the Unearthed Arcana version.
The finalised version doesn't preclude sharing infusions that require attunement; yes, they removed the line "or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item". Instead they replaced it with:
If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see “Attunement” in chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master’s Guide).
Considering the normal attunement process doesn't including anything regarding only allowing the creator of the item to attune to an item, or infusions at all, there's no reason to believe it prevents an infusion from being attuned to by someone other than the artificer.
The original wording was vague as it implied that if you didn't instantly attune to the item, someone else could instantly attune to it. Instead, they just reinforced that it uses the normal attunement rules, which includes allowing basically anyone to attune to it.
Hi Davedamon, the sentence you refer to in the grey box was already in Unearthed Arcana; they did not replace anything, they just removed something. Finally, the wording is very clear: "If YOU decide to attune to the item later, YOU must do so...".
If they do intend for others to use them, they really need to clarify this, because right now, it excludes others.
The usual attunement rules do not restrict who can attune, just that the creature takes 1 hour and isn't already attuned to three items. If they wanted to restrict it to just the artificer, they would've said "except you're the only creature that can attune to these items"
The reason it uses "you" in the language is because that's the standard language of all player facing features, it's always written in the second person.
It's really not clear in the Artificer's description. If they do intend for others to use it, they really need to write it as such: ""If YOU or someone else decide to attune to the item later, YOUor someone else must do so...". As I said, right now it excludes others.
It's really not clear in the Artificer's description. If they do intend for others to use it, they really need to write it as such: ""If YOU or someone else decide to attune to the item later, YOUor someone else must do so...". As I said, right now it excludes others.
I don't think the wording, the intent, OR precedent from other rules supports it being so exclusionary. Artificer infusions make magic items. Magic items can be used by anyone barring restrictions. There are no such restrictions listed under the infused item descriptions.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Then explain why they bothered removing that specific text from the original version? You are not proving anything, the text as it is written in ERFTLW is very clear.
It is a class feature, not a party feature. A warlock cannot share his invocations and it has never been implied that he can, by omission or any other reason. Why would it be different for an artificer?
Also, there's no way to transfer an infused item in D&D Beyond. It only applies to the artificer and to him only.
Then explain why they bothered removing that specific text from the original version? You are not proving anything, the text as it is written in ERFTLW is very clear.
It is a class feature, not a party feature. A warlock cannot share his invocations and it has never been implied that he can, by omission or any other reason. Why would it be different for an artificer?
Also, there's no way to transfer an infused item in D&D Beyond. It only applies to the artificer and to him only.
Nope, don't need to explain why they removed some text. Editing isn't intent and the wording as it is, though parsimonious, is clear enough to stand on its own. Infusions create magic items. With no alterations to the default magic item rules, anyone can use them.
Limitations on DDBeyond don't imply rules changes either, otherwise Bags of Holding would be useless in game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
The author being "parsimonious" leads to confusion. As I said plenty of times, the class description as it is written excludes others. Nothing says or implies that it can be used by others because that part was removed from the original text. Saying that it doesn't imply the opposite (ie that i CAN be used by others) is basically ignoring the removal just for the sake of the feature being useful.
The author being "parsimonious" leads to confusion. As I said plenty of times, the class description as it is written excludes others. Nothing says or implies that it can be used by others because that part was removed from the original text. Saying that it doesn't imply the opposite (ie that i CAN be used by others) is basically ignoring the removal just for the sake of the feature being useful.
You are reading too much into the change of text from a playtest version to the official. Playtest text should be ignored, not compared to the official in order to divine some sort of intent.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
It's important to also look at the wording of each infusion that requires attunement. Each one refers to "a creature", not "you". They use language that indicates that someone other than the artificer can use them.
The reason the attunement clause uses 'you' is because it has an exemption that only applies to the artificer; the ability to attune instantly. The artificer can attune instantly at the end of creating an infusion. If they don't attune at that point, they otherwise follow all normal attunement rules. Other creatures don't need this clarification because they don't create the infusion, therefore can't trigger the instant attunement clause. They follow the normal rules for attunement by default because there's nothing that says they don't.
More supporting evidence that most infusions can be used by people other than the creator is that most of the items say that "a creature" can use them, but some of them, like the homunculus servant says "you" in reference to the creating artificer being one of, if not the only, the infusions that is only useful to the creator.
Edit: Thus demonstrating that the writers were conscious of the difference between items that anyone can use and those that only the artificer can use.
You are correct: I should ignore the original (Unearthed Arcana).
But, as I've now pointed out many times, the current description of the artificer, as it is written, still excludes others.
I disagree with this interpretation. It does not explicitly say this and thus we refer back to the general rules about magic items, which do not exclude anyone from using them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
But, as I've now pointed out many times, the current description of the artificer, as it is written, still excludes others.
The current description doesn't. What it does state is the following:
An artificer can circumvent the normal 1 hour attunement rule, attuning instantly when they create an infusion
If an artificer doesn't use that option, they otherwise use the normal attunement rules
These two points are explicitly stated to only apply to artificers. There is nothing to state that other creatures have any modifications to the attunement rules. This is corroborated by the fact the description for each infusion item refers to "a creature" rather than "you" or "the artificer".
There is no explicit rule that states the attunement rules are different other than the two points above which only apply to the artificer speed-attuning.
I'm playing an artificer in an Eberron campaign. I'm curious to know if I'm allowed to share my infused items. I haven't seen anything yet saying I can't, but I'd like to know for sure before I bring it up with our DM.
PS: I'm really enjoying the class so far - just hit level 7!
"If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item."
This is lifted from the "Infuse Item" section so yes.
You are absolutely allowed and encouraged to share your infusions.
Great, thank you! It seemed intuitive to share, but I wanted to double check.
The text you are referring to comes from Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer (https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/UA-Artificer2-2019.pdf). It has since been replaced with "Eberron, Rising from the Last War" (ERftlW). That specific line about "someone else can attune to the item" has been removed from "ERftlW". It is quite obvious that the intent of the removal is to prevent sharing infusions.
Considering this thread is from August 2019, three months before Rising released, it makes sense they'd be referring to the Unearthed Arcana version.
The finalised version doesn't preclude sharing infusions that require attunement; yes, they removed the line "or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item". Instead they replaced it with:
Considering the normal attunement process doesn't including anything regarding only allowing the creator of the item to attune to an item, or infusions at all, there's no reason to believe it prevents an infusion from being attuned to by someone other than the artificer.
The original wording was vague as it implied that if you didn't instantly attune to the item, someone else could instantly attune to it. Instead, they just reinforced that it uses the normal attunement rules, which includes allowing basically anyone to attune to it.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Hi Davedamon, the sentence you refer to in the grey box was already in Unearthed Arcana; they did not replace anything, they just removed something. Finally, the wording is very clear: "If YOU decide to attune to the item later, YOU must do so...".
If they do intend for others to use them, they really need to clarify this, because right now, it excludes others.
The usual attunement rules do not restrict who can attune, just that the creature takes 1 hour and isn't already attuned to three items. If they wanted to restrict it to just the artificer, they would've said "except you're the only creature that can attune to these items"
The reason it uses "you" in the language is because that's the standard language of all player facing features, it's always written in the second person.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
It's really not clear in the Artificer's description. If they do intend for others to use it, they really need to write it as such: ""If YOU or someone else decide to attune to the item later, YOU or someone else must do so...". As I said, right now it excludes others.
I don't think the wording, the intent, OR precedent from other rules supports it being so exclusionary. Artificer infusions make magic items. Magic items can be used by anyone barring restrictions. There are no such restrictions listed under the infused item descriptions.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Then explain why they bothered removing that specific text from the original version? You are not proving anything, the text as it is written in ERFTLW is very clear.
It is a class feature, not a party feature. A warlock cannot share his invocations and it has never been implied that he can, by omission or any other reason. Why would it be different for an artificer?
Also, there's no way to transfer an infused item in D&D Beyond. It only applies to the artificer and to him only.
Nope, don't need to explain why they removed some text. Editing isn't intent and the wording as it is, though parsimonious, is clear enough to stand on its own. Infusions create magic items. With no alterations to the default magic item rules, anyone can use them.
Limitations on DDBeyond don't imply rules changes either, otherwise Bags of Holding would be useless in game.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
The author being "parsimonious" leads to confusion. As I said plenty of times, the class description as it is written excludes others. Nothing says or implies that it can be used by others because that part was removed from the original text. Saying that it doesn't imply the opposite (ie that i CAN be used by others) is basically ignoring the removal just for the sake of the feature being useful.
You are reading too much into the change of text from a playtest version to the official. Playtest text should be ignored, not compared to the official in order to divine some sort of intent.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
It's important to also look at the wording of each infusion that requires attunement. Each one refers to "a creature", not "you". They use language that indicates that someone other than the artificer can use them.
The reason the attunement clause uses 'you' is because it has an exemption that only applies to the artificer; the ability to attune instantly. The artificer can attune instantly at the end of creating an infusion. If they don't attune at that point, they otherwise follow all normal attunement rules. Other creatures don't need this clarification because they don't create the infusion, therefore can't trigger the instant attunement clause. They follow the normal rules for attunement by default because there's nothing that says they don't.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
More supporting evidence that most infusions can be used by people other than the creator is that most of the items say that "a creature" can use them, but some of them, like the homunculus servant says "you" in reference to the creating artificer being one of, if not the only, the infusions that is only useful to the creator.
Edit: Thus demonstrating that the writers were conscious of the difference between items that anyone can use and those that only the artificer can use.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
You are correct: I should ignore the original (Unearthed Arcana).
But, as I've now pointed out many times, the current description of the artificer, as it is written, still excludes others.
I've also pointed out how to fix it, but the truth is, only the devs can tell us what the actual intent is.
I disagree with this interpretation. It does not explicitly say this and thus we refer back to the general rules about magic items, which do not exclude anyone from using them.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
The current description doesn't. What it does state is the following:
These two points are explicitly stated to only apply to artificers. There is nothing to state that other creatures have any modifications to the attunement rules. This is corroborated by the fact the description for each infusion item refers to "a creature" rather than "you" or "the artificer".
There is no explicit rule that states the attunement rules are different other than the two points above which only apply to the artificer speed-attuning.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thanks everyone for your input!