Been going over attunement and the ring of spell storing and noticed it just states any creature and no pre-req's so can you have a zombie or a skeleton attune to the ring?
Say if as a wizard I wanted to poly-morph into a giant ape and have the skeleton cast haste?
There are some rulings that state that a familiar or similar creature can attune to an item, they have 3 slots, just like players, but that doing so takes the slot of the Leader as well as the follower. That is, if you have 3 attuned items, you can't have a familiar attune to one unless you de-attune to one.
It will always be up to your DM.
Obviously, the reason you want to do this is to get 2 concentration spells going off. Not sure I would let a Skeleton concentrate. They are no longer 'mindless', but they do lack the intelligence they had in life. They also have low hitpoints and only a +2 to their Con saves, so are unlikely to make their saves.
Neither a skeleton or a zombie can speak so, that would be a problem with spell-casting in my mind.
Same thing if a Zombie, for example, is missing an arm it couldn't meet the Somatic requirements of a spell. I definitely agree with you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
REMEMBER: Wizards Of The Coast does not own DDB, they are two different companies. When you buy a physical book, WotC receives the money you bought it for, not DDB and vice versa. If you want a digital key to get an online book for free because you have the hardcopy book then DDB makes no money because you don't buy off DDB you buy off WotC, so please stop making threads about this issue. DDB needs money to continue helping people and servers aren't cheap.
Neither a skeleton or a zombie can speak so, that would be a problem with spell-casting in my mind.
Same thing if a Zombie, for example, is missing an arm it couldn't meet the Somatic requirements of a spell. I definitely agree with you.
That didn't occur to me at all but, I've seen enough people on here go on for pages about a character with 2 good arms and their inability to cast depending on what they were holding and when. LOL.
Neither a skeleton or a zombie can speak so, that would be a problem with spell-casting in my mind.
Same thing if a Zombie, for example, is missing an arm it couldn't meet the Somatic requirements of a spell. I definitely agree with you.
That didn't occur to me at all but, I've seen enough people on here go on for pages about a character with 2 good arms and their inability to cast depending on what they were holding and when. LOL.
Haha
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
REMEMBER: Wizards Of The Coast does not own DDB, they are two different companies. When you buy a physical book, WotC receives the money you bought it for, not DDB and vice versa. If you want a digital key to get an online book for free because you have the hardcopy book then DDB makes no money because you don't buy off DDB you buy off WotC, so please stop making threads about this issue. DDB needs money to continue helping people and servers aren't cheap.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Been going over attunement and the ring of spell storing and noticed it just states any creature and no pre-req's so can you have a zombie or a skeleton attune to the ring?
Say if as a wizard I wanted to poly-morph into a giant ape and have the skeleton cast haste?
There are some rulings that state that a familiar or similar creature can attune to an item, they have 3 slots, just like players, but that doing so takes the slot of the Leader as well as the follower. That is, if you have 3 attuned items, you can't have a familiar attune to one unless you de-attune to one.
It will always be up to your DM.
Obviously, the reason you want to do this is to get 2 concentration spells going off. Not sure I would let a Skeleton concentrate. They are no longer 'mindless', but they do lack the intelligence they had in life. They also have low hitpoints and only a +2 to their Con saves, so are unlikely to make their saves.
Neither a skeleton or a zombie can speak so, that would be a problem with spell-casting in my mind.
Same thing if a Zombie, for example, is missing an arm it couldn't meet the Somatic requirements of a spell. I definitely agree with you.
REMEMBER: Wizards Of The Coast does not own DDB, they are two different companies. When you buy a physical book, WotC receives the money you bought it for, not DDB and vice versa. If you want a digital key to get an online book for free because you have the hardcopy book then DDB makes no money because you don't buy off DDB you buy off WotC, so please stop making threads about this issue. DDB needs money to continue helping people and servers aren't cheap.
That didn't occur to me at all but, I've seen enough people on here go on for pages about a character with 2 good arms and their inability to cast depending on what they were holding and when. LOL.
Haha
REMEMBER: Wizards Of The Coast does not own DDB, they are two different companies. When you buy a physical book, WotC receives the money you bought it for, not DDB and vice versa. If you want a digital key to get an online book for free because you have the hardcopy book then DDB makes no money because you don't buy off DDB you buy off WotC, so please stop making threads about this issue. DDB needs money to continue helping people and servers aren't cheap.