When an effect says a creature can't move, it means it can't change location space/square voluntarily.
DMs can always rule its not physically possible to move any part of the body when paralysed for exemple, or to avert its eyes when stunned but when the rules says one can't move, it normally refers to movement as displacement.
This falls squarely into the realm of the DM at the table. If you are that DM, you'll need to make the call.
The condition, like Stunned, will specify what can/can't be done and the spell description, Confusion, will detail what effect is to be played out.
The ability to avert, or close, one's eyes might not be effected by a condition or spell. (same goes for breathing, eating, basic biological functions..DM's wheelhouse) The reasoning required to decide to do so might certainly be effected. I would suggest a careful approach, as any ruling or precedent that is set at the table might be able to be abused in the attempt to make a spell or condition much more powerful than intended. This can, and IMO should, be applied to all characters and monsters equally.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Some descriptions say creature can’t move …. Stunned, confusion, etc.
Does this mean creature can’t move from point a to point b, as an action.
or creature can’t physically move any parts of their body? so if they are stunned, or under confusion, they are unable to avert your eyes?
When an effect says a creature can't move, it means it can't change location space/square voluntarily.
DMs can always rule its not physically possible to move any part of the body when paralysed for exemple, or to avert its eyes when stunned but when the rules says one can't move, it normally refers to movement as displacement.
This falls squarely into the realm of the DM at the table. If you are that DM, you'll need to make the call.
The condition, like Stunned, will specify what can/can't be done and the spell description, Confusion, will detail what effect is to be played out.
The ability to avert, or close, one's eyes might not be effected by a condition or spell. (same goes for breathing, eating, basic biological functions..DM's wheelhouse) The reasoning required to decide to do so might certainly be effected. I would suggest a careful approach, as any ruling or precedent that is set at the table might be able to be abused in the attempt to make a spell or condition much more powerful than intended. This can, and IMO should, be applied to all characters and monsters equally.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Thanks both.
I think I’ll give them a survival check, to see if instinct overrides confusion.
Let the dice decide. 😀