My players are wanting to use reactions anytime that foe is going to hit them. I don't know what reactions are because I am a fairly new DM, what are reactions and when are they used?
With two weapon fighting, can a player take a strike with a sword then shoot with a bow?
The questions will be coming continually so stay updated!
1. Players can use reactions A). whenever an opponent moves out of their melee range, they can make a melee attack against them, and B). if they have a spell or ability with a time of 1 reaction. A player can only take one reaction per round (not per turn). 2. You can only use two weapon fighting with light melee weapons.
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Homebrew (Mostly Outdated):Magic Items,Monsters,Spells,Subclasses ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
1. Players can use reactions A). whenever an opponent moves out of their melee range, they can make a melee attack against them, and B). if they have a spell or ability with a time of 1 reaction. A player can only take one reaction per round (not per turn). 2. You can only use two weapon fighting with light melee weapons.
So if one of them has shield they can cast it as a reaction. And I believe there are some class features or feats that let you attack your opponent if they attack you.
The feat Dual Wielder lets you use two weapon fighting with one-handed weapons even if they are not light.
Shield has a casting time of "1 Reaction". This means it may be cast as a Reaction. Only spells that have such a casting time are able to be cast as a Reaction.
Characters may also "ready" an action to occur on a trigger, instead of on their normal turn in a round. For example, a character with a bow could nock and arrow, and say "I aim my arrow at the door and fire at the first orc to come through." That spends the character's action, making it a "reaction" -- to the orc coming through the door. If an orc now comes through the door later in the round, before the character's next turn, the character can spend that Reaction to fire the arrow. If no orc comes through the door, the reaction "fizzles" at the start of the character's next turn.
Note that if a spell is used this way as a "ready" action, the spell slot is expended even if the trigger never occurs.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
My players are wanting to use reactions anytime that foe is going to hit them. I don't know what reactions are because I am a fairly new DM, what are reactions and when are they used?
With two weapon fighting, can a player take a strike with a sword then shoot with a bow?
The questions will be coming continually so stay updated!
For the two-weapon fighting: read this: TWF, this Sage and this Feat
TWF:
It needs two Light weapons in both hands before taking the Attack action. If the weapon is a Light-weapon, then it isn't a two-hand weapon. However, if the weapon is a one-hand weapon, it may not be a Light weapon
It uses the bonus action to attack. So if the players already use the bonus action such as casting hunter's mark or Rogue's Cunning Action, then they can't use the bonus action to attack.
Players can't add their ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack unless that modifier is negative. They can add the ability modifier if they two Two-Weapon Fighting Fighting Style.
Players can only draw one weapon as part of the same attacking action. If they want to draw the 2nd weapon, they need to use an Action to do it. Unless they have the Dual Wielder Feat
Other Feat and Fighting Style work/upgrade with TWF:
Two-Weapon Fighting Fighting Style: adding the ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack.
Dual Wielder:
adding +1 AC when wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand
can use non-two-handed weapons. but two-handed such as short-bow, longbow, maul still disqualifies. Battleaxe and Longsword are fine but they must wield in one hand.
Players can draw two weapons by using the free action
By default, players only have two different Reactions. Any other reaction is either come from spells or class features. So I suggest you read their class feature.
Keep in mind the player only have one Reaction until the start of the player's next turn.
Ready Action lets players set up their own Reaction by using their Action.
But note that just because you use the Ready Action, you can still use your reaction for something else INSTEAD of the readied action if such a situation occurs.
The rule of thumb for reactions is that you only get to use one if an ability *tells* you you get to use one. You will see the phrase "as a reaction, you can..." in the description. If it doesn't say that, then you cannot.
An Attack of Opportunity tells you that "You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity Attack, you use your Reaction to make one melee Attack against the provoking creature. The Attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."
Next time a player asks to use ac reaction, ask them to show you the ability they're using that grants them the use of a reaction.
As far as two weapon fighting, it's meant to be used for dual wielding one-handed light weapons. A bow is a 2 handed weapon, and a longsword is not a light weapon, so no, that would not be possible.
(Note that if you have the Dual Wielder feat, then you can ignore the Light property prerequisite, but you still would not be able to dual wield a sword and a bow because that would take 3 hands).
I am just going to ask a bunch!
The questions will be coming continually so stay updated!
A New DM up against the World
1. Players can use reactions A). whenever an opponent moves out of their melee range, they can make a melee attack against them, and B). if they have a spell or ability with a time of 1 reaction. A player can only take one reaction per round (not per turn).
2. You can only use two weapon fighting with light melee weapons.
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homebrew (Mostly Outdated): Magic Items, Monsters, Spells, Subclasses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
So if one of them has shield they can cast it as a reaction. And I believe there are some class features or feats that let you attack your opponent if they attack you.
The feat Dual Wielder lets you use two weapon fighting with one-handed weapons even if they are not light.
Not all those who wander are lost.
Check out my Monsters, Magic Items, and Spells. (These are all links.)
Shield has a casting time of "1 Reaction". This means it may be cast as a Reaction. Only spells that have such a casting time are able to be cast as a Reaction.
Characters may also "ready" an action to occur on a trigger, instead of on their normal turn in a round. For example, a character with a bow could nock and arrow, and say "I aim my arrow at the door and fire at the first orc to come through." That spends the character's action, making it a "reaction" -- to the orc coming through the door. If an orc now comes through the door later in the round, before the character's next turn, the character can spend that Reaction to fire the arrow. If no orc comes through the door, the reaction "fizzles" at the start of the character's next turn.
Note that if a spell is used this way as a "ready" action, the spell slot is expended even if the trigger never occurs.
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
For the two-weapon fighting: read this: TWF, this Sage and this Feat
TWF:
Other Feat and Fighting Style work/upgrade with TWF:
Two-Weapon Fighting Fighting Style: adding the ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack.
Dual Wielder:
By default, players only have two different Reactions. Any other reaction is either come from spells or class features. So I suggest you read their class feature.
The default Reactions are
Keep in mind the player only have one Reaction until the start of the player's next turn.
Ready Action lets players set up their own Reaction by using their Action.
Some Class features give additional Reaction options (This isn't a full list):
But note that just because you use the Ready Action, you can still use your reaction for something else INSTEAD of the readied action if such a situation occurs.
Is there a place where I can make a character that is half drow half human? Does dndbeyond have the option of mixing races?
A New DM up against the World
Variant human, or use your discretion on mixing them.
Enjoy my magic items, spells, monsters, my race, and a few feats. And GIVE ME FEEDBACK... or else.
Like what I say?
⬐ Just press this little guy right here.
The rule of thumb for reactions is that you only get to use one if an ability *tells* you you get to use one. You will see the phrase "as a reaction, you can..." in the description. If it doesn't say that, then you cannot.
An Attack of Opportunity tells you that "You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity Attack, you use your Reaction to make one melee Attack against the provoking creature. The Attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."
Next time a player asks to use ac reaction, ask them to show you the ability they're using that grants them the use of a reaction.
As far as two weapon fighting, it's meant to be used for dual wielding one-handed light weapons. A bow is a 2 handed weapon, and a longsword is not a light weapon, so no, that would not be possible.
(Note that if you have the Dual Wielder feat, then you can ignore the Light property prerequisite, but you still would not be able to dual wield a sword and a bow because that would take 3 hands).
That's a half-elf.
Two weapon fighting only works for one handed weapons, bows are 2-handed
oh ur right lmao thanks
A New DM up against the World