Is a creature immune to charm immune to dissonant whispers or enemies abound? It seems to me they are charms (listed as enchantments.) is there any official guidance? I have a new 6th level bard in my camps and planning ahead.
Most spells will state that if a creature is immune to X the spell has no effect. Dissonant Whispers offers no such advice, so apparently nobody is immune (unless immune to Psychic damage, as that's what it deals) Enemies Abound references immunity to Fear/frightened, which is a different thing than Charmed, so I would say both would work on a monster/creature immune to Charms. Wording is usually pretty specific when related to immunities and such and all the different effects (Charmed, Frightened etc) are separate things, so usually the spell text is enough.
If I were DM on this, I would allow both to land on a creature immune to charm exactly as they would a creature with no immunities or resistances. Something immune to frightened would ignore Enemies Abound.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
"Charmed" isn't a catch-all term for manipulating a creature's mind... it's a specific condition with its own specific rules for how it works...
CHARMED
A charmed creature can't attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects.
The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature.
There are some spells that don't actually induce the Charmed condition but include language that says, "If a creature is immune to the Charmed condition, this spell has no effect", or something along those lines. But that's limited to very specific spells and if a spell doesn't include that language, and it doesn't specifically induce the Charmed condition, then even if it is functionally very similar to being Charmed it still works on creatures immune to the Charmed Condition.
A bit late, I know, but figured I'd add to this point: Immunity to a damage type likely also doesn't mean immunity to its carrier condition. (In this case, the creature would still have to use its movement for Dissonant Whispers, unless the spell specifies that creatures immune to its damage are also immune to its status).
This can also apply to other underlying conditions. I.E: A creature may be 'immune' to the effects of the Poisoned condition, but when this poison also comes loaded with Paralyzed, then they should also be immune to being Paralyzed to avoid that condition. Otherwise, the Poisoned condition becomes a bit of an overpowered immunity.
Of course, as a DM, apply it how you like, but I think it may be reasonably fair to assume that sometimes, the damage is not the intended use of the ability.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Is a creature immune to charm immune to dissonant whispers or enemies abound? It seems to me they are charms (listed as enchantments.) is there any official guidance? I have a new 6th level bard in my camps and planning ahead.
Molon Labe, Lord Low
Most spells will state that if a creature is immune to X the spell has no effect. Dissonant Whispers offers no such advice, so apparently nobody is immune (unless immune to Psychic damage, as that's what it deals) Enemies Abound references immunity to Fear/frightened, which is a different thing than Charmed, so I would say both would work on a monster/creature immune to Charms. Wording is usually pretty specific when related to immunities and such and all the different effects (Charmed, Frightened etc) are separate things, so usually the spell text is enough.
If I were DM on this, I would allow both to land on a creature immune to charm exactly as they would a creature with no immunities or resistances. Something immune to frightened would ignore Enemies Abound.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
"Charmed" isn't a catch-all term for manipulating a creature's mind... it's a specific condition with its own specific rules for how it works...
CHARMED
There are some spells that don't actually induce the Charmed condition but include language that says, "If a creature is immune to the Charmed condition, this spell has no effect", or something along those lines. But that's limited to very specific spells and if a spell doesn't include that language, and it doesn't specifically induce the Charmed condition, then even if it is functionally very similar to being Charmed it still works on creatures immune to the Charmed Condition.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Thank you. Helpful
Molon Labe, Lord Low
Thank you. You all are super helpful
Molon Labe, Lord Low
A bit late, I know, but figured I'd add to this point: Immunity to a damage type likely also doesn't mean immunity to its carrier condition. (In this case, the creature would still have to use its movement for Dissonant Whispers, unless the spell specifies that creatures immune to its damage are also immune to its status).
This can also apply to other underlying conditions. I.E: A creature may be 'immune' to the effects of the Poisoned condition, but when this poison also comes loaded with Paralyzed, then they should also be immune to being Paralyzed to avoid that condition. Otherwise, the Poisoned condition becomes a bit of an overpowered immunity.
Of course, as a DM, apply it how you like, but I think it may be reasonably fair to assume that sometimes, the damage is not the intended use of the ability.