So probably questions that I should be able to figure the answers out to myself but I keep talking myself in circles...
Can a monk use their bonus action to use a ki point and use more than one ki point?
Can a monk use a bonus action that isn't their ki points and still also use a bonus action ki point?
If yes to second question, can they use multiple ki points after using a different bonus action as well?
My newest PC (yay recruitment!) is my first monk and has asked so many questions my head is spinning. A+ player for making sure they understand what their PC can or can't do so I want to be sure I actually know the answers by our next session, Sunday. I'm up to 5 players in my first campaign now and most of them know pretty well their PC rules but this guy is getting them down backwards and forwards and I really appreciate his effort but my efforts have just confused me. Thankfully I have this amazing community at my disposal!
You can use any number of Ki Points per Turn, provided that you are obeying all other rules. How much Ki you do or can spend on a Ki Feature is mentioned on the individual Features, refer to them for details. Some let have a flexible amount you use, others have a specific amount. You only can take 1 Action and 1 Bonus Action per Turn unless another Feature or something else gives it to you. Officially, Actions can not be done as Bonus Actions, and Bonus Actions can not be done as Actions, they are separate things.
Say that after taking the Attack Action, you make an Unarmed Strike using a Bonus Action because of Martial Artist, you then can not spend Ki on another Bonus Action Feature because you already used your Bonus Action. You can still spend Ki, but in this case it can not be an Action nor a Bonus Action.
Now let's say you've Multiclassed with Fighter and have Action Surge as a result. You could Attack (Action), spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike twice (Useable when you hit with a Melee Weapon which includes your Unarmed Strikes, one for each attack due to Extra Attack), spend 1 Ki to use Flurry of Blows (Bonus Action), spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike for both of those attacks use Action Surge (Any time during your Turn, you can take an additional Action), Attack (Action) again because of it, and spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike with both attacks again.
So probably questions that I should be able to figure the answers out to myself but I keep talking myself in circles...
Can a monk use their bonus action to use a ki point and use more than one ki point?
Can a monk use a bonus action that isn't their ki points and still also use a bonus action ki point?
If yes to second question, can they use multiple ki points after using a different bonus action as well?
My newest PC (yay recruitment!) is my first monk and has asked so many questions my head is spinning. A+ player for making sure they understand what their PC can or can't do so I want to be sure I actually know the answers by our next session, Sunday. I'm up to 5 players in my first campaign now and most of them know pretty well their PC rules but this guy is getting them down backwards and forwards and I really appreciate his effort but my efforts have just confused me. Thankfully I have this amazing community at my disposal!
You can use any number of Ki Points per Turn, provided that you are obeying all other rules. How much Ki you do or can spend on a Ki Feature is mentioned on the individual Features, refer to them for details. Some let have a flexible amount you use, others have a specific amount. You only can take 1 Action and 1 Bonus Action per Turn unless another Feature or something else gives it to you. Officially, Actions can not be done as Bonus Actions, and Bonus Actions can not be done as Actions, they are separate things.
Say that after taking the Attack Action, you make an Unarmed Strike using a Bonus Action because of Martial Artist, you then can not spend Ki on another Bonus Action Feature because you already used your Bonus Action. You can still spend Ki, but in this case it can not be an Action nor a Bonus Action.
Now let's say you've Multiclassed with Fighter and have Action Surge as a result. You could Attack (Action), spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike twice (Useable when you hit with a Melee Weapon which includes your Unarmed Strikes, one for each attack due to Extra Attack), spend 1 Ki to use Flurry of Blows (Bonus Action), spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike for both of those attacks use Action Surge (Any time during your Turn, you can take an additional Action), Attack (Action) again because of it, and spend 2 Ki to use Stunning Strike with both attacks again.
Only if the skill requires more than 1 Ki point.
No, you only have one Bonus Action (with exception to things like Action Surge) so you'd either use Ki or not.
This is a common misconception, but action surge does not provide an extra bonus action.