One of my players has a question in regard to the Wall of Force...
Is there a way for it to be manipulated magically so that he can shoot arrows through it?
Not according to the rules no. But a DM can change whatever they want. Though in this case I would suggest not to because blocking attacks/spells/movement is exactly what the WoF is for.
Yes, I just hate that the text has to say that when Misty Step, Scrying, etc don’t. I see no reason why they included a range of 500ft and didn’t do the same thing for other teleports and weird at-distance things.
As I said, DD just should have a range of Self and then have the extra info. It’s a minor but somewhat important change. By the same logic, Telekinesis can easily go through Wall of Force despite having a range of 60ft.
I agree. DD should have a range of self with a range of 500' for targeting.
The Teleport spell has a stated range/area of 10'. Does this mean that you can only travel within that 10' because that is the stated range? The destination of the teleport spell can be anywhere on the same plane of existence which is clearly NOT within any sort of line of effect.
If someone decides that DD has a range of 500' and not a range of self then they run into the issue of the line of effect rules for casting it. The text for DD says you can travel to a location you can picture or one at a certain distance but it doesn't say anything about negating the line of effect rules. The line of effect rules state that a spell will stop at the obstacle. This is clearly not how DD is expected to work but because it is given a range of 500' and doesn't mention line of effect or that the locations mentioned in the destination of the spell can be blocked by line of effect or that line of effect doesn't matter for this spell - this would essentially limit the spell to 500' to places you might not be able to see but which are not behind total cover.
This is clearly not what is intended.
Personally, I run it as range self with 500' for destination and no requirement that there is a line of effect between the caster and the destination. Same for Misty Step and Teleport .... and just chalk it up to an inconsistency in the 5e writing.
One of my players has a question in regard to the Wall of Force...
Is there a way for it to be manipulated magically so that he can shoot arrows through it?
Not according to the rules no. But a DM can change whatever they want. Though in this case I would suggest not to because blocking attacks/spells/movement is exactly what the WoF is for.
I agree. DD should have a range of self with a range of 500' for targeting.
The Teleport spell has a stated range/area of 10'. Does this mean that you can only travel within that 10' because that is the stated range? The destination of the teleport spell can be anywhere on the same plane of existence which is clearly NOT within any sort of line of effect.
If someone decides that DD has a range of 500' and not a range of self then they run into the issue of the line of effect rules for casting it. The text for DD says you can travel to a location you can picture or one at a certain distance but it doesn't say anything about negating the line of effect rules. The line of effect rules state that a spell will stop at the obstacle. This is clearly not how DD is expected to work but because it is given a range of 500' and doesn't mention line of effect or that the locations mentioned in the destination of the spell can be blocked by line of effect or that line of effect doesn't matter for this spell - this would essentially limit the spell to 500' to places you might not be able to see but which are not behind total cover.
This is clearly not what is intended.
Personally, I run it as range self with 500' for destination and no requirement that there is a line of effect between the caster and the destination. Same for Misty Step and Teleport .... and just chalk it up to an inconsistency in the 5e writing.
With a locked gate they wouldn't have total cover they would only have partial cover.